Subject Guide
Resources for country information
- FAOSTAT This link opens in a new windowAn online, multilingual database provides access to over 3 million time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture. It also contains data for 200 countries and more than 200 primary products and inputs, just in its core.
- Global Road WarriorProvides international travelers with information on: international telephone instructions, cellular (mobile) phones, electricity, and satelline connectivity while traveling abroad. Includes country profiles, cultural information, demographics, money, points of interest, transportation, maps, and photos of most of the world's countries.
- International Strategic AnalysisInternational Strategic Analysis reports provide country intelligence, economic forecasting and international market analysis for over 180 countries and 8 regions. Resources include ISA Country Reports, ISA Risk Analysis and ISA Global Update newsletter along with economic forecasts and regional reports.
- Mergent onlineCountry profiles are available through Mergent online. The pulled-down menu in the lower right allowsfor easy selection of country of interest.
- Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Containing millions of demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for countries worldwide.
Internet resources for country information
- CIA - The World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
- GapminderGapminder is a web-service displaying time series of development statistics for all countries in the form of enjoyable and interactive graphs.
- GeoHiveGeoHIve provides population data for regions, countries and cities along with economic factors and statistics on natural phenomena.
- Historical DevelopmentThese data sets provide long time series on indicators of economic growth, for a wide set of countries. Some of these series go as far back as the AD 1.
- International Monetary Fund This link opens in a new windowAccess to the IMF's country information, data and statistics.
- Logistics WorldLook at the top of the page for the "Tools" link. This will take users to the Reference Library page. Once on this page, select NAICS and SIC codes. Here you can browse by category, search by code or keyword or use the conversion tool to move between NAICS and SIC codes.
- Maddison Project DatabaseThe Maddison Project Database provides information on comparative economic growth and income levels over the very long run. The 2020 version of this database covers 169 countries and the period up to 2018.
- World Inout Output databaseWorld Input-Output Tables and underlying data, covering 43 countries, and a model for the rest of the world for the period 2000-2014. Data for 56 sectors are classified according to the International Standard Industrial Classification revision 4 (ISIC Rev. 4).
