Guides: MBA/MHA: Companies/Industries

Companies

Amadeus This link opens in a new window
Contains company profiles for approximately 23 million companies across Europe.
Note: Before using Amadeus, you need to set up an account. Please see the login instructions for this database.

Mergent online
Mergent Online is a corporate financial database that provides information on U.S. and international companies. In addition to complete company profiles, information includes comprehensive company research, including financial statement data (current and historical), annual reports, company histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, executive bios,and more.

D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Provides company profiles, news, business and trade articles, research reports, executive profiles, and industry intelligence.
Note: Limited to 25 simultaneous users; please logout when done.
PrivCo : private company financial data authority This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many well known privately-held companies in addition to M&A activity, PE & VC information and funding deals.
The first time you use PrivCo, you will need to set up an account associated with your Baylor e-mail address.
1. Access the PrivCo database through the Baylor Libraries homepage.
2. Click on the “New to PrivCo? Create an Account” link located below the Login box and enter your information. Use your Baylor email address.
3. You will receive an email from PrivCo when your account is active.
Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
Standard & Poor's netadvantage This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to major publications and company information from Standard and Poor's.

Industries

BizMiner
Offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for business and industry market trends.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Along with scholarly, trade and general reader publications, Business Source Complete offers market research reports, SWOT analysis and industry profiles.

eStatement Studies (RMA)
Contains composite financial data from anonymous financial statements of manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting businesses operating in industries. Designed to be particularly useful to lending and credit risk professionals who want to compare one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business.
IBISWorld
IBISWorld provides access to industry research reports, international industry reports, industry risk ratings, Industry reports for China and business environment reports.

Key business ratios This link opens in a new window
Provides access to competitive benchmarking data featuring key business ratios for companies and industries.

Mergent Online
Access Mergent's industry reports now through libraries' Mergent Online subscription. Click on "Report Search" tab at top of the page, then click on "Industry Reports" link at the top of the next page. Reports can be searched by company name or from preset menu.

SMA : sports market analytics This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources.
Standard & Poor's netadvantage This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to major publications and company information from Standard and Poor's.

Industry codes

Census homepage
On the Census homepage, go to "Business & Industry". Click on the "NAICS" link. Here you can use the Census' search tool to locate the NAICS code for industries.
Logistics World
Look at the top of the page for the "Tools" link. This will take users to the Reference Library page. Once on this page, select NAICS and SIC codes. Here you can browse by category, search by code or keyword or use the conversion tool to move between NAICS and SIC codes.

Market Research Handbooks

The Following handbooks are available through the Business Source Complete database. They can be found by search the handbook title as "Source Title".

Casinos, Gaming & Wagering
Consumer Behavior
Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook
Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook
Leisure Market Research Handbook
Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research Handbook
Retail Business Market Research Handbook
Sports Marketing
Travel & Tourism Market Research Handbook

MBA/MHA

Investor Information

Companies

Industries

Industry codes

Market Research Handbooks

University Libraries