BrowZine journal lookup
LibKey Options
• LibKey Discovery – In Primo (as in Summon), direct links to PDFs display in the search results citations, so users can go directly to the article in one click.
• LibKey Link – In PubMed or Wikipedia, inline (embedded in the citations) links to the full text and also the table of contents
• LibKey Nomad – A browser extension originally available only in Chrome but now available for Edge, Vivaldi, and Brave! (in the Chrome Store for all 4 browsers) and under development for Firefox. Once installed and configured by the user (a one-time set up during which the user identifies the institution with which s/he’s affiliated), this extension will provide off-campus access to the full text of journal articles available to Baylor – without having to go through the library website or a library resource. In other words, researchers can search Google Scholar, click through to the publisher’s site, and the extension (using the access rights information Baylor provides to BrowZine) will indicate that the researcher can access the full text. Once they click on the LibKey icon, they will be authenticated through EZproxy and gain access to the article. See the attached Nomad User Guide.
Articles
This page presents a number of electronic resources that can be used to locate articles on business topics. For a more comprehensive list or to locate a specialized resource, please go to the Baylor Libraries homepage and click on the "Database" tab in the search widget. You can search by keyword if you know a database name. Otherwise, selecting the "Search by Subject" option will allow you to select a discipline and view the resources for that subject.
Periodicals at the Baylor Libraries
How do you know if the Baylor Libraries hold a particular periodical? Here are some ways that you can use to check on various periodicals to see what formats and volumes/years are available through the libraries.
- Do a title search in OneSearch - This will let you know what titles the libraries has and in what format they are available. Doing a title search for the Economist will provide records for the paper edition and for the electronic version which will provide access points through various databases in the Baylor Libraries.
- Databases such as ABI/Inform Complete and Business Source Complete oftentimes provide access to periodicals online. By doing a "Publication" search in one of these databases, you will gain a "table of contents" type access to periodicals. Look for the "Publications" tab at the top of the search page in these two databases, then type in your periodical title to browse for it in the database.
- You may also limit to your periodical title when searching a database. This is commonly done by typing your periodical title into the search box and changing the next box to "SO - publication title" (for Business Source Complete) or "Publication title -- PUB" (for ABI/Inform Complete). If you search with a subject or topic in the other search boxes, your results will be limited to the periodical that you have used.
Databases for articles
These are the databases that can be helpful in locating articles on topics in business.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Provides business information from scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
- Business market research collection This link opens in a new window
Provides company, industry, and geopolitical macroeconomic market research.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowThis is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete contains far more active, peer-reviewed, business related journals than any other database currently available. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. Also available through this database are industry profiles, market research reports, case studies and SWOT analysis.
- Emerald InsightUse Emerald Insight to access more than 50,000 full text articles, 185,000 reviews from the world's leading management journals, case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and 'How to...' guides.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to resources for researching news, business, industry, and legal topics.
- Wall Street Journal onlineFull text access to the Wall Street Journal from 1986 - date. It also includes indexing to articles from 1889 to 1986 (Deep Back File), but the full text of most of those articles will not be available.
Scholarly works
- Science DirectWeb database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles and full text for Handbook in Economics series. Areas covered include accounting, management, marketing, organizational behavior, economics, econometrics and finance.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
- Web of ScienceProvides access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index. The ISI citation databases contain multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed, high quality research information from the world's leading science, social sciences and arts and humanities journals.
Additional databases
These are additional places to loook for articles.
- Accounting tax & banking collection This link opens in a new windowThis is an accounting research database, proving centralized access to top journals, reference reports, proceedings, dissertations and more, with hundreds in full-text.
- Business knowledge research This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text research reports from the Conference Board on the latest issues in business management and on United States and global economics, covering topics such as business outlook, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, human resource management, productivity, economic indicators and analysis/forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions.
- Entrepreneurship database This link opens in a new window
Searches worldwide publications and multi-media related to the topic of entrepreneurship.
- JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of more than 230 scholarly journals from the first issue to a moving-wall date of 2 to 5 years prior to the most recently published issue. The subject areas covered are: African-American Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; Botany; Business; Ecology; Economics; Education; Finance; General Science; History; Literature; Mathematics; Philosophy; Political Science; Population Studies; Sociology; and Statistics. This is a database for historical information and does not provide access to current, recently published articles. - ProQuest Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new windowProQuest Asian business and reference offers detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere. A great deal of information on international trade is available as well. It contains: news and current awareness sources, country information and statistics, information on people and institutions, and on policy and analysis.
