Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legacy RefWorks: EBSCOHost

Steps for Importing Records into RefWorks from EBSCOhost Databases -- Direct Export (Multiple Citations)

The Baylor University Libraries subscribe to over 60 databases that use the EBSCOhost interface.  These steps for getting references from an EBSCOhost database can be used with any of these databases.

  1. To get to the libraries electronic resources, go to the Baylor Libraries’ home page (http://www.baylor.edu/lib).
  2. Select the “E-Resources” tab and look for and click on the link to an EBSCOhost database, “Academic Search Complete”, for example.
  3. Search a topic of interest.
  4. From the search results page, mark a few records by clicking on the “Add to folder” link associated with each citation.
  5. As you perform this action, the a "Folder has Items" view will display to the right of the citations.  Click on the "Folder View" link to see the list of saved citations.
  6. Select the references to be exported (click on the "Select" link to select all the citations in the folder) and click on the “Export” link.  
  7. Select the “Direct Export to RefWorks” option.
  8. Click on the “Save” button and switch to the display with your RefWorks account.  If you are not already logged in to your RefWorks account, you will be prompted to login.
  9. The references should be imported.
  10. Click the “View Last Imported Folder” button to view the records.
  11. When references are first imported, that is the best time to edit them and associate them with the appropriate subject folders.

Steps for Importing Records into RefWorks from EBSCOhost Databases -- Direct Export (Single Citation)

The Baylor University Libraries subscribe to over 60 databases that use the EBSCOhost interface.  There may be times when you only have a single citation to transfer from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks.  If this is the case, use these steps:

  1. To get to the libraries electronic resources, go to the Baylor Libraries’ home page (http://www.baylor.edu/lib).
  2. Select the “E-Resources” tab and look for and click on the link to an EBSCOhost database, “Academic Search Complete”, for example.
  3. Search a topic of interest.
  4. Click on the article title of a single citation that you want to transfer to RefWorks, which displays all the information about that citation.
  5. Click on the "Export" link located in the right side bar.
  6. Select the “Direct Export to RefWorks” option.
  7. Click on the “Save” button and switch to the display with your RefWorks account.  If you are not already logged in to your RefWorks account, you will be prompted to login.
  8. The reference should be imported.
  9. Click the “View Last Imported Folder” button to view the record.
  10. When references are first imported, that is the best time to edit them and associate them with the appropriate subject folders.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Billie Peterson-Lugo
Contact:
Moody Library -- G29

254.710.2344

University Libraries

One Bear Place #97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148

(254) 710-6702