Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legacy RefWorks: Write-N-Cite

Write-N-Cite 4

Write-N-Cite 4 integrates with Microsoft Word and provides the ability to embed citations in your work as you are writing and to format your paper based on the writing style (APA, Chicago, MLA, etc.) you need.  Write-N-Cite is available for both Windows and Macintosh computers.

Write-N-Cite 4 for Windows MS Word

  • MS XP, Vista and Windows 7 compatibility
  • Support Word 2007 and 2010
  • Instant citation formatting
  • Seamless online/offline access
  • Fully integrated into the Office Ribbon
Write-N-Cite for Macintosh MS Word
  • Mac OS X 10.5-10.7 compatible
  • Support for Word 2008 and 2011
  • Instant citation formatting
  • Seamless online/offline access

To install Write-N-Cite, login to your RefWorks account, select "Write-N-Cite" from the "Tools" menu.  Select the installation that is appropriate for your computer (Windows or Macintosh) and -- in the case of Windows computers -- select the version (32-bit or 64-bit) that is appropriate for your version of MS Word.  If you need Write-N-Cite III, click on the "Previous Versions" link.

Once Write-N-Cite 4 is installed, view this video for an overview on its functions.

Resolving Issues With Fonts That Change When Using WNC 4

When using Write-N-Cite 4, you may notice that whenever you add references, add a bibliography using an output style, or change the output style the font for the references and bibliography change.  This issue is associated with the way MS Word functions; WNC 4 uses the default "Normal" style setting in MS Word.  To change the format of the font in MS Word follow the instructions below:

  1. Create a block of text using the style that you wish to appear as "Normal" -- the default font and paragraph style that MS Word will use whenever you create a new document.
  2. Make sure to set not just the text's font and size but also the paragraph styling.  Select something within the block of text that you just created, right click, and then choose "Paragraph".
  3. Set the line spacing, indentation, and alignment.
  4. Next, select some of the finished text, right click, and select "Styles".
  5. Click, "Update Normal to Match Selection".
  6. Finally, to make this style permanent for new documents, in the Word ribbon, click "Change Styles" and "Set as Default".

Formatting a Paper using Write-N-Cite III

Write-N-Cite III is a plug-in that works with both the Windows and Macintosh versions of Microsoft Word.  The following instructions are based on MS Word 2007 and 2008 for Windows:

  1. Install Write-N-Cite III. Once installed, it will appear in the "Add Ins" tab.
  2. Open Microsoft Word (make sure you have installed Write-n-Cite).
  3. Click on the "Add Ins" tab located on the far right of the various tabs.
  4. Click on the “Write-N-Cite” icon and login to RefWorks.  This action provides access to a miniature version of your RefWorks account.
  5. In Write-N-Cite, go to the “View” menu and select the appropriate folder (if applicable) from the “Folder” sub-menu.
  6. Start writing your paper.  At the point that you want to add a citation, move to the “Write-N-Cite” window, find the appropriate citation, and click on the “Cite” link to the left of the citation.  This action imbeds coded information in square brackets [ ] at the point the citation will display.
  7. If you need to add additional information -- specific page numbers, for example -- to the citation, click on the "Edit Citation" link that displays at the top right of the Write-N-Cite window.  Note: This link will only display when you have selected an imbedded citation in the MS Word document.
  8. Repeat this process as you continue to work on your paper.
  9. This saved document is the master document from which you will make a final version, using a specified style.  Do all edits and corrections in this master document.
  10. When you are ready to create a formatted version of the document, open the Word document and Write-N-Cite.
  11. Cick on the “Bibliography” button in the “Write-N-Cite” window.
  12. Choose the style you want (MLA, Chicago, Turabian, etc.)
  13. Click “Create Bibliography”.  The formatted document should display with the citations properly formatted and a list of references cited at the end of the paper.
  14. A final version of the document is produced.  Be sure this final document is saved with a different name than the master document.

Creating a Bibliography Only

There may be times when you simply need to produce a bibliography -- outside of a formal paper.  This is easily accomplished in RefWorks:

  1. In your RefWorks account, click on the “Create Bibliography” button located at the top of the display.
  2. Select an Output Style, for example, MLA 7th Edition.
  3. Check “Format a Bibliography from a List of References”.
  4. From the “File Type” pull-down menu, choose the appropriate word processing program, “Word for Windows (2000 or later)”, for example.
  5. From the "References to Include" option, select the “All References”, "My List" , or a specific folder.
  6. Click on the “Create Bibliography” button.
  7. Save the bibliography to your local computer.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Billie Peterson-Lugo
Contact:
Moody Library -- G29

254.710.2344

University Libraries

One Bear Place #97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148

(254) 710-6702