Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legacy RefWorks: Folders

Creating Folders

Use folders to organize your citations.  By default, RefWorks provides 3 folders:

  • Last Imported  -- The area where all newly imported citations are first placed.
  • Not in a Folder -- The area where any citation that is not associated with one or more folders is placed.
  • Deleted References (located in the "View" menu) -- The area where any deleted citations reside for a period of 30 days, before being permanently deleted.

RefWorks also provides a "My List" folder.  This is a location where you can place references temporarily if you need to do something with a group of references that may be scattered in folders across your RefWorks account.  Once you log out of RefWorks or close the browser, the items in "My List" will be removed.

In addition to the default folders, you can create an unlimited number of user-defined folders and subfolders.  Click the "New Folder" button at the top of the display.

  1. Give the folder a name appropriate for your research and click on the “OK” button.
  2. Repeat this process for each folder you want to create.
  3. To create a subfolder, click on the "Create Subfolder", find and select the "parent" folder, and assign the name for the subfolder.

Managing Folders

The actions listed below help manage folders in RefWorks.  These actions can be found in the "Organize and Share Folders".  They can also be found by right clicking on the folder name in the "Folders" list located on the right side of the display, just above the "Quick Links" display.  Click on the "Folder" icon located to the far right of the folder name to use the following functions:

  • Create Subfolder -- Creates a subfolder associated with the selected folder.
  • Rename -- Associates a different name with the folder.  Any citations associated with that folder will be associated with the new folder name.
  • Clear -- Clears all references that are associated with this folder.  These references can be found in other folders with which they are associated or in the "References Not in a Folder" area of RefWorks.
  • Delete -- Deletes the folder.  Any citations in the folder are not deleted.  They can be found in other folders with which they are associated or in the "References Not in a Folder" area of RefWorks.
  • Duplicates -- Identifies duplicates that are in the selected folder.

 

Adding Citations to and Removing Citations from Folders

You can easily associate citations with one or more folders.

  1. When viewing a list of citations in RefWorks, click the checkbox to the left of each citation to be placed in a folder.
  2. Use the “Folder” icon pull-down menu and choose the folder with which you want to associate the selected citation(s).
  3. Confirmation of the change will display in the lower right part of the screen.
  4. Once citations are associated with one or more folders, a trial of folder names will display to the right of each citation -- when viewing the sitations in the "Standard View" mode.

To remove a citaiton from a folder, select the citation to be removed, and click the "Remove from Folder" tool that appears to the immediate right of the printer icon.  If there is only one citation in the folder, use the "Clear Folder" function to remove the citation from the folder.

My List

The "My List" function allows you to temporarily gather together a set of disparate references so you can perform one or more actions with those references.  For example, you may need to create a bibliography of several citations that are associated with a variety of folders within your RefWorks account.  Citations associated with "My List" will remain in that list only during the time you are logged into RefWorks.  Once you log out, "My List" is cleared out.  To place items in "My List", do the following:

  1. Find the citations that you need (search for them, go to an appropriate folder, etc.).
  2. Click on the "Add to My List" icon to the right of each citation that you want to place in "My List".
  3. To see the references in "My List", click on the "My List" link in the "Quick Links" list on the right side of the display.

Sharing Folders

You can share specific folders -- or your entire RefWorks database -- with others.  The people with whom you share the folders may or may not be affiliated with Baylor University; they do not have to have a RefWorks account or be at an insitution that supports RefWorks in order for you to share with them.  To share a folder, do the following:

  1. Click on the "Organize & Share Folders" tab.  To the far right of each folder, you will see a "Share Folder" icon. 
  2. If you want to share your entire RefWorks database, click on the "Share Folder" icon associated with "Share Entire Database".  RefWorks will ask that you confirm you want to share the database.
  3. If you only want to share a specific folder, click on the "Share Folder" icon associated with that specific folder.  RefWorks will ask that you confirm you want to share the folder.
  4. Set the various sharing options ("Allow Export", "Allow Print", "Allow Bibliographies", etc.) according to your preferences.  Note:  The one function the other user will not be able to do through a shared folder is the ability to edit citations.
  5. If you want to modify any of these sharing options after the share has been established, go to the “Organize & Share Folders” tab, click on the  "Share Folder” icon, and select "Shared Folder Options" from the menu. 
  6. Note the URL that has been created through the sharing function.  Use the RefWorks e-mail function to email the URL for the shared folder, or use your preferred e-mail system and copy and paste the URL in the e-mail message.
  7. If you want to end the sharing of the folder, go to the “Organize & Share Folders” tab, click on the  "Share Folder” icon, and select "Remove Share" from the menu.  

Note that these functions are also available if you click on the folder link in the "Folders" list located on the right side of the display, just above the "Quick Links" list.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Billie Peterson-Lugo
Contact:
Moody Library -- G29

254.710.2344

University Libraries

One Bear Place #97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148

(254) 710-6702