It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides access to a year-by-year record of British and world events. Published every year since 1758, the Annual Register was originally conceived as a miscellany of state papers, reviews, historical sketches, poetry, and other essays. Since the 1920s its content has been a chronicle of events, brief retrospectives on the year's cultural and economic developments, and a short selection of documents and obituaries of eminent persons who died in the year. The online version includes every volume published and will be updated with the latest volume each year.
Provides contemporary and historical resources in the areas of border(land) studies and migration studies, as well as history, law, politics, diplomacy, area and global studies, anthropology, the arts, and more.
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Split across two modules, The Century of Immigration and The Modern Era, and includes collections from 26 archives, libraries and museums. Unique primary source diaries, correspondence, photographs, oral histories and journals narrate the realities of ocean travel and life in adopted homelands. Organizational correspondence, government proceedings, shipping company papers and records of advocacy groups provide key context to migrants’ everyday struggles. Keyword and advanced search options with filters for date, document type, themes, and owning library/archives. Limits for galleries. Allows for proximity searching. Adam Matthew Digital.
Chronicles the plight of refugees, displaced persons, and immigrants across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950 through immigrant and refugee correspondence, studies, reports, organizational and administrative files, and more, using materials archived in sources such as the U.K. National Archives, the British Library, the United States National Archives Records Administration, and the World Jewish Relief. This resource considers the global scope of the forced migration and refugee crisis leading up to, during, and after World War II. Gale.
Consists of 4 collections: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I; LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II; Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; and International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture, bringing together disparate collections of documents, grassroots newsletters, journals, periodicals, literature, diaries, personal papers, government documents, and ephemeral material related to the LGBTQ movement in North America and beyond. Part I covers the gay rights movement, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and gay activism. Part II extends coverage to regional communities in the US, underrepresented communities, lesbian feminist groups, and non-profit organizations working for gay rights. Issues include social, legal, medical, and historical topics. The last two collections cover LGBTQ topics from the 1500's to the 20th century and LGBTQ activism and culture in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history. Search by keyword with limits to content type, date, language, and source library (among others). Gale. Primary sources.
Provides access to original British sources including ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature. Includes contextual essays by scholars introducing the major themes of the project and provide direct hypertext links to the sources. Key topics covered are represented in five ‘sections’: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity & the Family, Consumption & Leisure, Education & Sensibility and The Body.
Provides access to primary source documents from libraries and archives around the world on the building of modern empires from the 15th to the 20th century. Provides simple keyword search which may be limited to a specific century, or browse by topic, name, or place. The collection of primary documents is divided into 5 sections: Cultural Contacts, The Visible Empire, The Literature of Empire, Religion & Empire, and Race, Class, Imperialism & Colonialism. Each section has a corresponding, scholarly essay(s) outlining and discussing the major trends, issues, and movements of the time and how the scholarly perspective on these has changed over time. A separate tab lists the biographies of individuals named in the source documents, another tab contains a chronology, and there is a tab for teaching faculty on how to incorporate documents into courseware such as Blackboard. Primary Sources. Adam Matthew Digital.
Makes available primary sources for the study of the Great War, brought together in four thematic modules: Personal Experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment, Visual Perspectives and Narratives, and A Global Conflict. From personal collections and rare printed material to military files, artwork and audio-visual files, content highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of a conflict that shook the world. Search by keyword and advanced search, or use the Search Directories to build a search from provided terms for keywords, countries, places, personal names, or theatre of war. Allows for proximity searching. Filter/Limits include date, language, document type, and owning library. Adam Matthew Digital
This is a United States government agency which translates the text of daily radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, government statements, books, and other sources of unrestricted information such as databases and gray literature from non-English sources around the world. Reports with translations are issued for eight world regions daily and cover such topics as military affairs, politics, the environment, societal issues, economics, and science and technology. Reports are available from 1974-1996, part 1 (Middle East, Africa, Near East and South Asia (MEA, NES).This guide details the various collections available at Baylor.
Discover full-text, primary source material from law, news, documents, photographs and illustrations, and historical books covering the 17th to 19th centuries in one search. Also may limit to selected resources only. Simple keyword search or advanced search by author, title, publisher and other features. Limits to type of work (article, book, advertisement, etc.), publication dates, language, and library/institution holding the source. Allows for discovering term frequency use across the individual databases covered. Primary Source. GALE.
Provides a digital edition of all 38 volumes of the print edition annual Historical Documents. Each volume consists of about 100 primary source documents related to the year's most significant events. Included in these documents are presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. These documents can be searched by keyword, browsed by title or subject, or searched by cumulative index. SAGE.
Offers permanent storage and access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, music, moving images, and nearly 3 million public domain books. This internet library's mission is to provide permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. One feature is the "Wayback Machine " which is an historical archive of preserved web pages.
Presents digitized primary source material including military, scientific, professional and personal perspectives on medicine during conflicts across the globe from 1850-1927. Students and scholars can research medical developments including x-rays, plastic surgery and artificial limbs, with a focus on rehabilitation, nursing and the psychological toll of war. Highlights include the personal correspondence of Florence Nightingale, diaries of diaries of individuals who served in the voluntary medical services unit, hospital records and literature from the Red Cross. This collection focuses on the Crimean War, the American Civil War, the First World War, and the Second World War among other conflicts. The impact on medicine during peacetime is also charted, notably through documents relating to the influenza epidemic of 1918 and post-war rehabilitation. Keyword and advanced search options with filters for date, conflict, document type, themes, owning library/archive, and module. Limits for image gallery. Adam Matthew Digital.
Developed from content available at Michigan State University’s American Radicalism Collection, Brown University’s Hall-Hoag Collection of Dissenting and Extremist Printed Propaganda, the University of Northampton’s Searchlight Archive, and the UK National Archives, this resource combines content on far-right and fascist movements, alongside significant coverage of radical left groups, allowing researchers to access material from both sides, providing points for comparison. It offers a diverse range of content, including campaign materials, propaganda, government records, and various ephemera, including oral histories. Gale.
A thematically organized, four-part historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. It consists of "Debates over Slavery and Abolition", "Slave Trade in the Atlantic World", "Institution of Slavery", and "Age of Emancipation". All parts are cross-searchable through a single interface. Gale.
Provides access to hundreds of accounts by women of their worldwide travels from the early 19th century to the late 20th century with writings covering topics that include: architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; mountains; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war. It includes a wide variety of travel writing forms ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs, as well as slideshows with visual materials such as: postcards, sketches, and photographs. Keyword, advanced and popular search options with limits for date and slideshow images. Allows for proximity searching. Adam Matthew Digital.
Provides digital access to primary resources from cultures and countries around the world across all time. Includes books, journals, manuscripts, maps, motion pictures, prints and art, and sound recordings. A joint project of the Library of Congress and U.N.E.S.C.O. the site is arranged visually using a map of the world to indicate the number of culturally significant items available for each 9 geographical groupings. Each item is given a summary description which describes the item and it's cultural importance. The site may also be searched by keyword or browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, or institution. Language options for English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, Arabic, Russian, and Chinese.
Provides access to digitized primary source material from over 200 world’s fairs and exhibitions, spanning 1829-2015, including official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts. From planning committees to public reception and the legacy that remains, the impact of these global events can be examined in a comprehensive context. Keyword, advanced and popular search options, with filters for date, document type, case study fair, country, and archive. Limits for image gallery. Allows for proximity searching. Adam Matthew Digital.