It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides a single search site for the following individual Early American Imprint databases: Evans: 1639 - 1800, Shaw: 1801 - 1819, and Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia: 1801 - 1819. Keyword and Advanced search features plus browsing by genre, publisher, author, place of publication, subject, and language. Full-text access to all content listed. Newsbank.
Indexes and provides full-text access to the majority of items printed about the Western hemisphere (North, Central, and South America and the Caribbean) for the dates covered. Books, newspapers, journals, and pamphlets. Searchable by author, title, keyword, full-text, and subject with limiters for date, language of publication, illustration, holding library of original document, or Sabin collection number. Contents are based on the original print publication which was published over a number of years and increasing narrowed the focus of included items as the work progressed. Sabin is an essential research tool for identifying literary and historically significant publications in and about the “new world” on topics of politics, economics, history, literature, religion, biography, culture, exploration, westward expansion, Native Americans, early American military history, slavery and abolition, and more. Search Sabin Americana alone or in conjunction with a dozen primary source tools using the Artemis Primary Sources search interface. Gale. Primary Source.
Makes available American History documents from the times of the earliest settlers until the end of World War II. Sources are drawn from the Gilder Lehrman Collection ofAmerican History. It is divided into two modules: Module 1 Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859, Module 2 Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945. Contents include primary source documents, including correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps. Many of the handwritten documents have been transcribed and/or translated for use by undergraduates. Adam Matthew.
Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning." Primary Source. Library of Congress.
Now part of the database called America's Historical Imprints from Readex. Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans (14 vols. 1903-34, 1955-59), and subsequent bibliographic works by Roger Bristol, James Mooney and Clifford Shipton. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of over 36 000 works and 2 400 000 images. This database includes more than 1 000 works located, catalogued, and digitized since the completion of the earlier microfilmed set, Early American Imprints, 1639-1800, which was also based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography.
Accesses the digital editions of the papers of the American Founders (Adams, Hamilton, Jackson, Jay, Jefferson, Dolley Madison, James Madison, Marshall, Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry, and, Washington) and the documents relevant to the ratification of the Constitution. Text only, contains none of the notes, scholarly materials, or supporting materials in the print edition - for these use the "Digital Editions" of each of the individuals named (which we own as well). University of Virginia, Rotunda Collection.
Provides access to the National Archives (UK) files of original correspondence on British colonies in North America and the Caribbean, from1609 - 1822. These files (from the CO 5 section of the National Archives) include the correspondence, charters, military documents, pamphlets, instructions to officials and other documents, between the Board of Trade in the UK and the Secretaries of State in the various colonies. This information discusses the growth and development of colonial institutions, trade, piracy, religious issues, slavery and the slave trade, and settler’s relations with the Native Peoples.
Provides indexing and digital access to books and journals published in America in the 19th century (Cornell dates: 1840 - 1900). Making of America (MOA) is a cooperative effort between Cornell and University of Michigan to digitize important materials in American social history. Each University selected different but significant book and journal titles to digitize. Collectively, the subject strengths of the MOA are education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Each University's collection must be searched separately. Search by keyword, basic, Boolean, proximity, and bibliographic/citation information or browse by book title or journal title/issue. Cornell University.
Provides users with access to primary source documents centering on North American affairs from the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries. It integrates the collection Privy Council and Related Bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers (CO 1) from The National Archives and the Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739. The sources can be searched by keyword, title, place of origin, collection, or index terms. The "Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739" is a bibliographic resource making available more than 40 000 descriptive records covering CO 1 plus many documents from many other collections relating to the colonial past. Many of these bibliographic records include scans of the original document, full transcriptions, extracts, or summary abstracts. Includes the helpful "Reading Older Documents" for those reading documents in the original handwriting or paleography. Colonial State Papers Online allows the researcher to search both CO 1 and the Calendar together or separately. Proquest.
Provides access to primary source documents focusing on .the nature and significance of European settlements, interactions, and transformations Africa, Australasia, and North America in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Document types include correspondence, diaries, government papers, business records, land transactions, legal documents, speeches, books and pamphlets. The earliest documents are from the seventeenth century and the latest the mid-point of the twentieth century. Adam Matthew Digital.
Provides access to the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624, documenting the founding and economic development of Virginia and providing a rich source for the study of trade between Britain and America, as well as the influence of the Ferrar family in the settlement of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas. Keyword and advanced search options with limits for date, title, author, document type, etc. Allows for proximity searching. Adam Matthew Digital.
Continues Evans' American Bibliography as edited by Shaw and Shoemaker and also part of the America's Historical Imprints database from Readex. Provides a record of publishing history in the United States for the dates covered and full-text access to these books, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, and European books reprinted for an American audience. Searching by keyword and browsing by genre, place of publication, author, subject, and others. Shaw-Shoemaker may be searched alone or in conjunction with either/both Evans and the Library Company of Philadelphia. Primary sources.
Indexes publications of the Anglo-American World, 1790-1919, and provides links to the full text of many of the resources. Collections expand with each release of the database. The entire index and all resources contained within it are searchable, or the search can be limited to one of the individual resources included in the database. These resources include: Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Nineteenth Century microfiche project, Periodicals: American Periodicals Series, British Periodicals, Niles' Register Index, Periodicals Index Online, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900, Official Publications: House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, Proceedings of the Old Bailey, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Archives: Archive Finder, Newspapers: Palmer's Index to The Times, Reference: Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism.
Covers five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration. Features rare manuscript and early printed material, highly illustrated maps and documents, diaries and ships' logs from some of the most well-known voyages in history, this collection provides access to key events in the history of European maritime exploration from c.1420-1920. Key themes covered include expedition planning, financing & sponsorship, ships & provisions, new commodities & trade, new territories, ports, forts & entrepôts, competition, life at sea, indigenous peoples, navigation, scientific observations & instruments, and personal & family life. Adam Matthew Digital.
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Split across two modules, The Century of Immigration and The Modern Era, and includes collections from 26 archives, libraries and museums. Unique primary source diaries, correspondence, photographs, oral histories and journals narrate the realities of ocean travel and life in adopted homelands. Organizational correspondence, government proceedings, shipping company papers and records of advocacy groups provide key context to migrants’ everyday struggles. Keyword and advanced search options with filters for date, document type, themes, and owning library/archives. Limits for galleries. Allows for proximity searching. Adam Matthew Digital.
Digitized special collection on the American west in fact and imagination drawn from the Graff Collection of the Newberry Library. Contains full-text and image resources including papers of pioneers and explorers, emigrant guides, travel journals, maps, printed books, newspapers, posters, city directories, railroad company records, and store catalogs. Covers all areas west of the Mississippi, including Canada and the Pacific Northwest, Mexico, and Texas. Divided into 11 major thematic areas, including: Native Americans, the Gold Rush, the Mormon Exodus, and Outlaws, (among others). Documents/books are dated between 1817 – 1962. Supported with scholarly essays on various aspects of the West and the Graff Collection, a chronology, an image gallery (from which slideshows may be created). Fully searchable, documents section may be browsed by list, theme, region, or document type (diary, broadside, photograph, etc.). May be searched alone or together with the American Indian Histories and Cultures collection. Adam Matthew.
A thematically organized, four-part historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. It consists of "Debates over Slavery and Abolition", "Slave Trade in the Atlantic World", "Institution of Slavery", and "Age of Emancipation". All parts are cross-searchable through a single interface. Gale.
Provides insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst, market research pioneer and widely-recognized ‘father’ of Motivational Research. Adam Matthew Digital.
Research the Nixon Presidency from a European perspective using primary source materials from the British National Archives. Nixon’s handling of numerous Cold War crises, his administration’s notable achievements, and his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers, which culminated in Watergate and resignation. Keyword and advanced search features with limits for date; filters for themes (pre-selected) and visual images. Adam Matthew Digital.
Covering Native American cultures from prior to the colonization of the North American continent (Canada, Mexico, and the United States) to the Rights Movement of the 20th century, the materials in this collection cover 11 broad themes in culture, history, education, religion, government relations, treaties and wars, trade, and 20th century political activism, among others. Includes coverage of indigenous peoples from Canada, Mexico, and the United States. Primary source documents, maps and atlases, visual images, art, photographs, linguistic and ethnographic accounts, 20th century American Indian newspapers, etc. Drawn from the Ayers Collection at the Newberry Library, a premier collection of Native and Indigenous documents, art, and history. May exclude some culturally sensitive materials regarding ceremonies and religious practices. Images may be selected to create slideshows. Searchable by keyword, browse by Tribes & Nations, documents, maps, visual resources, and chronology. Most materials are in English, but there are documents and maps in Spanish and French. Cross-searchable with The American West. Adam Matthews.
Focuses predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina presenting multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Key themes covered are desegregation, urban renewal and housing problems, civil rights activities and protests, race relations and community integration, and African American culture from the mid-19th to the late 20th century. Adam Matthew Digital.
Provides access to a variety of original manuscript collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York and documents the everyday lives of the American Jewish population over three centuries. The collection includes letters, scrapbooks, autobiographies, notebooks and other materials dating from the late 17th through to the mid-20th century. These materials cover issues of immigration, assimilation, persecution, culture, religion, and trade. Keyword, advanced, and popular search options with limits on dates and slideshow images. Adam Matthew Digital
Provides access to images of rare books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The material is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as showing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures. Adam Matthew
Provides a broad range of documents on witchcraft, including dissertations, limited printed works, and many rare and fragile manuscripts containing eyewitness accounts and court records of the trials of witches covering harrowing original manuscript depositions taken from the victims in the torture chamber. The pronouncements of advocates of witch persecution can be compared and contrasted to the warnings of men who doubted the validity of witch believers and witch trials. The majority of texts are in Latin, English, and German, with some selected documents in French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish, and Dutch. ProQuest
Access a diverse collection of primary sources, scholarly articles, biographical information (from Notable American Women), data and graphs, state, local, and national reports, and the online journal Women and Social Movements. Covers gender, racial, moral, employment, and social issues related to women. Includes teaching tools on specific issues which are supported by the documents in the collection. Browse contents by movement, document project or archive, chronology, etc. keyword and advance search options. Alexander Street Press.
Access primary source materials from the 19th and 20th centuries on various aspects of the women's movement in America and Europe. Information on individuals, organizations, movements, and issues. Documents include Planned Parenthood of America records, European women's magazines, the HerStory Collection, peace movement archives, grassroots feminist materials. Topics covered include history, labor unions and employment, health, gender, religion, politics, and society. Keyword and advanced search features with limits by type of document, date, and other aspects.
Trace the history of women’s movements and feminism over four centuries of documents and journals and across multiple countries in Europe and North America in this one collection. Full-text of primary source documents, journals, and pamphlets, in 14 langages (primarily English, German, and French), it is possible to trace developments in a single country or across several countries. The Gerritsen Collection includes advice manuals, education and professional training, history, social conditions, social reform, legal status, women’s health, and women’s employment. Among the books are many biographies of women – full-length biographies and biographical sketch collections. Gerritsen also has an extensive section of early women’s periodicals from 1860 through the 1940’s. Quick or Advanced search features are available for the entire collection, with limits for books or periodicals only. Primary Source. ProQuest.
Provides primary sources that enable researchers to examine key issues and events of the period, including: changing lifestyles; youth culture; student protests across Europe and the US; Mai ‘68; popular culture, TV, music, and movies; book, magazine and film Censorship; civil rights; women’s liberation; minority groups; the Space Race; consumerism; credit cards; computers; the Vietnam conflict; nuclear disarmament. Adam Matthew
Access documents highlighting different responses to the challenges of overcoming prejudice, segregation and racial tensions sourced from Fisk University's Race Relations Department and the Department's annual Institute. These documents, dating from 1943-1970, range from survey material - including interviews and statistics - to educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, and photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes. Keyword and advanced search options with filters for date, document type, theme and series. Limits for image gallery. Allows for proximity searching. Adam Matthew Digital.
Provides an in-depth look at the evolution of British and American working-class tourism from c.1850 to 1980. With every continent represented, the resource gives a broad overview of the destinations unlocked for the average traveler throughout this period, along with specific case studies on pivotal geographical areas, organizations, subjects and travel agencies important for the history of tourism. Keyword and advanced search options with limits on date and image galleries. Filter by document type, theme, regions, and owning library/archive. Adam Matthew Digital.
Provides access to documents from various denominations and non-denominational organizations that began to create Sunday schools in an effort to educate the illiterate, particularly children in the 19th century. Sunday school pupils often graduated to become Sunday school teachers, thereby gaining an experience of leadership not to be found elsewhere in their lives. Gale
Showcases the development of 'popular' medicine in America during the 19th century, through a range of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Covers popular trends such as phrenology, herbal medicine and hydrotherapy, and documents the rise of widespread advertising by commercial manufacturers of medical aids. Keyword, popular, and advanced search options with filters for date, document type, theme and owning library. Limits for date and image gallery. Allows for proximity searching. Adam Matthew Digital
Documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The documents published here range from the late nineteenth century up until the late 1990s with the bulk representing the post-1945 world. The collections included are the Publications, Account Files for nine key clients, Staff Newsletters, Staff Writings & Speeches, Chicago Office Research, New York Office Research, New Business Records, Information Center Records, Corporation Vertical Files, Review Board Records, Staff Meeting Minutes and a selection of Print Advertisements. A huge number of brands, companies, and industries are covered from automobiles to cosmetics and cruises. It includes complete files on some of J. Walter Thompson’s key accounts. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche. Adam Matthew Digital.
Provides access to a collection of highly visual trade catalogues, cards and marketing ephemera, tracing the rise of the ‘American dream’ and evolution of commerce throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Content is sourced from three of the pre-eminent collections of trade literature in America: the Lawrence B Romaine collection at UC Santa Barbara, the Hagley Museum and Library and the Winterthur Library. Adam Matthew Digital.
Indexes individuals, regiments, and battles of the Civil War. Various information on dates, enlistments, death tolls, etc. is provided. Searching by name (individual, company, regiment, battle, location), date, Union/Confederate, state, and rank. Some photographs available, some data has been graphed/charted. All information is compiled from printed sources and updated semi-annually. Alexander Street Press.
Features stories of American military personnel and civilians during the Second World War through their oral histories, correspondence, diaries, photographs, artifacts, and military records. This digital resource offers an insight into the personal experiences of those involved in the conflict, both on the United States home front and on deployment overseas in Europe, the Mediterranean, the Pacific, China, Burma and India. American military and civilian involvement in all major theaters of operations is represented. Service branches range from the army, navy and air force, to the marines, merchant marines, coast guards, and medical personnel. Key areas include front line experiences, including campaigns around the world, key events such as Pearl Harbor, VE and VJ Day, women in the forces, medical services and army health, civilian live and the home front, and enlistment and the draft. Adam Matthew Digital.
Provides digital access to 35 collections of declassified government documents from World War II to 2010. This resource's more than 80 000 documents form a collection of government sources unsurpassed in providing primary source information concerning world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions. In addition to the documents the database includes overviews, bibliographies, chronologies, glossaries, and photographs. The database is searchable by keyword, names and organizations, subjects, titles, parties involved, document type, date, and classification (secret, declassified, restricted, confidential, etc).
Developed from content available at Michigan State University’s American Radicalism Collection, Brown University’s Hall-Hoag Collection of Dissenting and Extremist Printed Propaganda, the University of Northampton’s Searchlight Archive, and the UK National Archives, this resource combines content on far-right and fascist movements, alongside significant coverage of radical left groups, allowing researchers to access material from both sides, providing points for comparison. It offers a diverse range of content, including campaign materials, propaganda, government records, and various ephemera, including oral histories. Gale.
Makes available a collection of digital sources related to the September 11 attacks on the World Trade Center, the Pentagon, and the crash in Pennsylvania. The archived materials include first-hand accounts, electronic communications such as emails, digital photographs including works of art, and more. The archive contains not only sources directly related to the events themselves but also the public's response to those events. It is searchable by keyword and may be limited to media type (e.g. document, email, story, interview, article, webpage, and more).
Provides access to resources in American legal history: constitutional conventions, cases, statutes, and regulations, as well as online access to archived state and municipal codes. Complements The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises.
Provides digital access to the U.S. Serial Set, a compilation of U.S. government publications collected at the direction of Congress. The publications include congressional materials such as committee reports, publications from the executive branch (messages from the President, periodicals, etc.), Senate executive reports, Senate treaty documents, and various other publications including hearings, investigations, economic statistics, and witness testimonies. These publications are accessible by keyword, title, subject, geographical index terms, bill numbers, congressional numbers, and CIS accession numbers. Coverage is from 1789 to the present. Proquest.
Provides access to high resolution color maps indexed in the U.S. Serial Set Index and the Carto-Bibliography of Maps. The collection entails more than 62 000 maps related to U.S. History. The maps can be searched by keyword, title, map area (subject), map relief method, and names on the maps. A link is available to the full bibliographic record of the original publication in which the map first appeared. Coverage is from 1789 to present. Proquest.
Provides a complete collection of numbered and unnumbered Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations, including those that are published in other sources as well as the Federal Register and cumulated annually in Title 3 of the Code of Federal Regulations.
The Texas Collection and University Archives are located in Carroll Library on the historic Quadrangle on the Baylor campus and collect, preserve, and provide access to materials documenting the history, heritage, and culture of Texas and Baylor University.
Provides access to digitized documents and images regarding the American South from the first colonies in Virginia through the 20th century. Documents are organized into 14 themed collections (Oral Histories of the American South, North American Slave Narratives, Charlotte, etc.) and are compiled by the University Library at the University of North Carolina from its research collections and institutions. Primary sources are key elements of this collection with includes, maps, books, letters, memoirs, and rare books. Several of the collections focus on North Carolina, however, a geographic search shows 44 of the 50 states are represented in the documentation. Collections may be searched by keywords (across all collections) or by use of the author, subject, title, and geographic links provided. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
Provides more than 660 000 large-scale maps of more than 12 000 American towns and cities from 1867-1970. Choose state, city, and date to be able to view thumbnails and maps. Baylor only has access to Texas maps. Use key to interpret maps. Can include building construction details, building use, etc. Maps are downloadable as PDFs. ProQuest.