History

Search and browse American newspapers published across three centuries.

Provides access to information about historic American newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages.

Presents a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. 

Provides indexing and full-text access to 8 major newspapers published by and for African Americans between 1827 to 1902.

Provides the full-text of nine major African American newspapers - Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, and Cleveland Call and Post. 

Contains historical newspapers covering religious and denominational news and the role of religion in American life and society.

 

Newspaper titles from most countries of the world and every state in the U.S. including U.S. ethnic titles and some of the earliest African American newspapers. 

Collection of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. 

Contains PDF images of newspapers from Britain, Scotland, Ireland and Wales from 1721 - 1950. Coverage of urban, provincial, and small town newspapers in these areas.

Provides access to the full-color online archive containing every issue of the world’s first illustrated weekly newspaper providing perspective on British life. 

Search the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library and including pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers.

Providing access to rare periodicals, newspapers, magazines and journals printed between1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life.

The complete archive of The Listener (1929-1991), a weekly newspaper published by the BBC. 

Searches multiple historical newspaper and periodical collections, including the Independent, the Sunday Times, The Times, The Daily Mail and more.

Provides online access to 4,000+ historical newspapers from the United States and other countries, dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s.

Provides critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, and events leading to the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. 

Archives original, accurate and objective articles providing a digestible but detailed summary of world events, drawn from a wide range of press and other sources in a variety of languages. Indexes every volume, but only those articles from the current and previous year are available in full text.

Provides searching and digital access to the New York Times newspaper from its beginnings in 1851 to three years short of the current year. 

Contains full-text of the Austin-American Statesman

One of the most important newspapers in England during the late Victorian era and into the 20th century, The Telegraph reached educated, mostly conservative readers in Great Britain. Know for a number of "firsts" in journalism (the first female war correspondent, Clare Hollingworth, the first crossword puzzle, the first television column, and the first British paper to launch a website). Keyword and advanced search options, limits to article type, newspaper section, and illustration. Simple term frequency searches also available.

Consists of rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers published during the war and its immediate aftermath (1939-1948).

Contains full text coverage of eight communist newspapers from the United States and Britain.

Indexes the table of contents of journals going as far back as 1665 and as recent as 1995. It covers 37 key subject areas in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences and indexes over 15 million articles.

Providing access to rare periodicals, newspapers, magazines and journals printed between1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life.

Provides indexing to the most popular magazines for the general public from 1890 - 1982. 

Provides full text access to several prominent consumer magazines aimed at a female readership: Better Homes & Gardens, Chatelaine (Canada), Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, Town & Country, Woman's Day, and Women's International Network News.

Full text access to Harper's Weekly, one of the most important and widely-circulated weekly news periodicals in the United States. 

A complete searchable archive of Vogue (U.S. edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. 

Indexes art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century. 

Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of British periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, with high-resolution facsimile page images. 

Provides access to full-text of British and Commonwealth magazines from the 19th century. 

Essays and reviews from the Times literary supplement. Containing every page of every copy of the TLS published from 1902 to 2005. Also includes identification of the anonymous contributors, reviewers, essayists, and writers of letters and poems, allowing students, researchers, critics and authors to explore in greater depth the literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th and early 21st centuries.