History

Makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980. These previously restricted letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies and first-hand accounts of events give access to the history of South Africa’s apartheid regime. The files explore the relationship of the international community with South Africa and chart increasing civil unrest against a backdrop of waning colonialism in Africa and mounting world condemnation. Keyword and advanced search features with filters for date, region, and department/office; limits for map gallery. This resource is in three sections: 1948-1966, 1967-1975 and 1976-1980. Adam Matthew Digital.

Provides full-text access to British archival documents on the colonization of Africa by the European powers through the independence movement of the mid-twentieth century. Includes a section on tropical diseases and health issues unique to the continent. Keyword search with limits by date and region. Documents consist of reports, dispatches, correspondence, descriptions of leading personalities, political summaries, and economic analyses. Supplemented by essays, maps, and a chronology to provide context for the collection. Primary source. Adam Matthew.

Contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Includes publications from many nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East. Both Allied and Axis publications are presented, offering a broad view of the war and the experiences of those on its front lines. Adam Matthew

Provides access to primary source documents focusing on .the nature and significance of European settlements, interactions, and transformations Africa, Australasia, and North America in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Document types include correspondence, diaries, government papers, business records, land transactions, legal documents, speeches, books and pamphlets. The earliest documents are from the seventeenth century and the latest the mid-point of the twentieth century. Adam Matthew Digital.

Chronicles the plight of refugees, displaced persons, and immigrants across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950 through immigrant and refugee correspondence, studies, reports, organizational and administrative files, and more, using materials archived in sources such as the U.K. National Archives, the British Library, the United States National Archives Records Administration, and the World Jewish Relief. This resource considers the global scope of the forced migration and refugee crisis leading up to, during, and after World War II. Gale.

This is a United States government agency which translates the text of daily radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, government statements, books, and other sources of unrestricted information such as databases and gray literature from non-English sources around the world. Reports with translations are issued for eight world regions daily and cover such topics as military affairs, politics, the environment, societal issues, economics, and science and technology. Reports are available from 1974-1996, part 1 (Middle East, Africa, Near East and South Asia (MEA, NES).This guide details the various collections available at Baylor.

Documents the American Presbyterian Church's educational, evangelical, and medical work, consisting mainly of incoming correspondence from the mission field and outgoing correspondence from the Board of Foreign Missions' headquarters. Other primary sources include diary accounts, sermon manuscripts, receipts of sale, and field accounts. Among the missions’ responsibilities was the establishment of indigenous churches, educational facilities, hospitals, orphanages, and seminaries. These records provide information on social conditions in developing nations and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century. Gale