It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing in fact and in fantasy. The core of the material is a collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world and dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. The original documents are in a range of languages including French, Latin, German, Spanish, Dutch and English. Supporting the manuscripts are relevant secondary texts of translations and editions, as well as full catalogue details. In addition, there is a gallery of maps and images, a bibliography and chronology, and a slideshow. Keyword and advanced search with ability to search by title, dates, publisher, place of publication and description. Limit searches by traveler, language, source and document type. Adam Matthew Digital.
Brings together the manuscripts and printed editions of the papers and letters of five families from 15th century England in a searchable, digital format. Full color images of the manuscripts may be viewed side-by-side with the text of the printed editions. Collectively these materials provide insight into late medieval family life, business, social and community connections, and politics. Good supporting materials include a glossary, interactive map, family trees, chronologies, visual resources gallery, a scholarly introductory essay on family letter collections, and links out to other relevant scholarly web resources. The printed editions may be searched by keyword, both the manuscript and the transcript can be viewed in a split pane, the glossary is accessible from the viewing pane, and the words in the glossary are hyperlinked to all occurrences of the word in all other manuscripts (great for linguistic analysis). Both manuscript images and printed text images may be downloaded and saved as PDF documents, citations to the manuscripts and printed texts may be easily exported to EndNote or to RefWorks. Primary Source. Adam Matthew Digital.
Provides digital access to sources of medieval German, Austrian, and Swiss history (end of the Roman Empire - 1500) and is based on the comprehensive print critical editions of the same name. Documents are divided into the following areas: Antiquitates (records from monuments, seals, and other objects), Diplomata (diplomatic documents), Epistolae (letters), Leges (laws and legal documents), Scriptores (books and writings), and Necrologia (death records). Texts are in Latin and the MGH may be cross-searched with the companion databases Library of Latin Texts and Database of Latin Dictionaries. Primary Source. Brepolis.
Provides full-text access to the manuscripts of Archbishop Mathew Parker's Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge. Its holdings of Old English texts accounts for nearly a quarter of all extant manuscripts in Anglo-Saxon, including the earliest copy of the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle (c. 890), the Old English Bede and King Alfred's translation of Gregory the Great's Pastoral Care. Also contains key Anglo-Norman and Middle English texts ranging from the Ancrene Wisse and the Brut Chronicle to a well preserved copy of Chaucer's Troilus and Criseyde. Other subjects represented in the collection are music, medieval travelogues and maps, bestiaries, royal ceremonies, historical chronicles, English illuminated manuscripts and Bibles. Worth consulting for scholars in a variety of disciplines, including researchers in art history, music, science, literature, politics and religion. Content can be accessed by browsing or through a search engine. Coverage extends from the 6th century AD to the 16th century. Corpus Christi College, Cambridge and Stanford University Libraries.
Consists of mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds. Coverage begins under the Roman empire and extends to the medieval world. Although the initial post-Roman focus has been on medieval Europe, Byzantium and the Crusades have not been neglected, and the Islamic world coverage is increasing. One or more of four major map contents may be chosen, they are Roman Empire, Medieval Kingdoms, Civilization Features, and Background. Under each of the four broad map contents, many narrower choices appear in a hierarchical arrangement. Maps are searchable by place names with locations indexes and mapped. Harvard.
Makes accessible the core primary and secondary sources of medieval and modern Britain. Includes Parliamentary papers, State papers (records of payments, decrees, etc. by the Royal household), Church records (both Roman Catholic and Church of England), the full text of the "Victoria County Histories" (a valuable source of information on the history of each county of England up through the Victorian era, noting landmarks, cultural institutions, economic and business development, important people, etc.). Can be browsed by several categories (place, time period, sources, maps, region, subject) and full-text search is also available. All records have been transcribed. Baylor has access to the complete content, not just the publicly-available materials. Primary Sources. Institute of Historical Research (UK) and the Parliamentary Trust (UK).
Indexes and provides digital access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the United Kingdom during the 18th century and listed in the Short Title Catalogue, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Searchable by keyword or advanced search (with limiters), or browse by authors or works. Includes "Contextual Essays" on concepts ("Deism " "Sensibility"), movements, and styles ("Rococo " "French Revolution"), and other key aspects of the 18th century (the publication of encyclopedias, for instance). Also groups materials by discipline in the "Key Documents" section.
Covers three subject areas: History (8 sections), Literature (2 sections), and Mathematics & Science (2 sections). Provides full-text, fully searchable content from a broad range of primary sources. Includes works in Western and non-Western languages, and are sourced from rare collections at libraries and other institutions from around the globe. Gale Cengage.
Indexes publications of the Anglo-American World, 1790-1919, and provides links to the full text of many of the resources. Collections expand with each release of the database. The entire index and all resources contained within it are searchable, or the search can be limited to one of the individual resources included in the database. These resources include: Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Nineteenth Century microfiche project, Periodicals: American Periodicals Series, British Periodicals, Niles' Register Index, Periodicals Index Online, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900, Official Publications: House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, Proceedings of the Old Bailey, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Archives: Archive Finder, Newspapers: Palmer's Index to The Times, Reference: Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism.
Provides access to a unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947. Keyword and advanced search options, with limits and filters for date, document type, era, class, and region. Handwritten documents which can be searched using the built-in Handwritten Text Recognition software. Adam Matthew Digital.
Discover original posters, books, pamphlets, audio clips, and early film covering various aspects of popular entertainment from Britain and America during the Victorian era. Introductory essays for each of the four collections covering spiritualism to music halls to moving pictures covering 1779 to the early 1930's. Includes a chronology, biographies, glossary, and information on the various special collections which contributed to the resource.
Contains online digital images of every page in the entire sequence of Queen Victoria's diaries, and provides full transcriptions and keyword searching of all journal entries. This website reproduces as high-resolution color images every page of the surviving volumes of Queen Victoria's journals, along with separate photographs of the many illustrations and inserts within the pages.
Explore the life and experiences of the lower classes of 19th century London - working class, street life, efforts at poor reform, and other records of the less-than-genteel Victorian London. Provides access to a full-text searchable collection containing color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. Emphasizes rare or unique material, particularly in the range of ephemera and street literature, as well as an emphasis on visual material. Keyword, advanced, and popular search options, with limits on dates, collection title, and document type. Adam Matthew Digital.
Provides access to a collection of primary source documents from the archive of The Worshipful Company of Stationers & Newspaper Makers, located at Stationers’ Hall in the City of London from 1554 to the 21st Century. Topics covered include the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding. Keyword and advanced search options with filters for date, document type, record name, and theme. Limits for image gallery. Adam Matthew Digital.
Provides an in-depth look at the evolution of British and American working-class tourism from c.1850 to 1980. With every continent represented, the resource gives a broad overview of the destinations unlocked for the average traveler throughout this period, along with specific case studies on pivotal geographical areas, organizations, subjects and travel agencies important for the history of tourism. Keyword and advanced search options with limits on date and image galleries. Filter by document type, theme, regions, and owning library/archive. Adam Matthew Digital.
Includes essays on British social history collected between 1937 and 1972 during a project called the Mass Observation. Includes photographs, file reports, diaries, and day surveys. Topic collections include: Film, reading habits, religion, victory celebrations, smoking habits, drinking habits, posters, reconstruction, family planning, sexual behavior, Beveridge social surveys, music, dancing and jazz, propaganda and morale, conscientious objection and pacifism, anti-Semitism, leisure and sport. Parts included under Mass Observation Studies: File Reports 1937-1972, Topic Collections 1938-1965, Worktown Collection 1937-1940, Worktown Photos, and under Publications: Diaries and Personal Writings, Diaries 1939-1951, Day Surveys 1937-1938, Directive Replies 1939-1947.
Access complete digital facsimiles of over 230 original manuscripts written or complied by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries- known as the Perdita Project. The manuscripts are from archives and libraries across the United Kingdom and the USA. The manuscripts include works of poetry, religious writing, autobiographical material, cookery and medical recipes, and accounts. Keyword and advanced search options. Search by title, date range, author, and role. Limits for source, document type, language and genre within document. Allows for proximity searching. Includes searching aid with list of authors. Adam Matthew Digital.
Provides complete coverage of the Cabinet conclusions (minutes) (CAB 128) and memoranda (CAB 129) of Harold Macmillan’s government, plus selected minutes and memoranda of policy committees (CAB 134). The Cabinet conclusions are taken by the secretary of the Cabinet or one of their assistants and consist of summaries of all discussions in Cabinet, together with a note of decisions reached. Cabinet memoranda consist of all papers circulated to members of the Cabinet and to other ministers for information or as a basis for discussion. These classes provide a distillation of the work of all the other departments of government, ranging in subject matter from agricultural policy and trade to nuclear policy and issues of international diplomacy. This collection also includes 165 files from the Prime Minister's Private Office. These provide an important supplement to the Cabinet records and cover all aspects of policymaking. Keyword and advanced search features with filters for date, region, and department/office; limits for map gallery. Adam Matthew Digital.
Full-text of British state and government papers from the reign of Henry VIII through the reign of Queen Elizabeth I and held by the British National Archives and in various private and university libraries. Includes excellent essays providing background to the documents, eras, reigns, and domestic and foreign/international relations of Great Britain from 1509 - 1603. Basic and advanced search options with limits to reign, date, collection, language, author/recipient, and geography. Research tools section includes abbreviations, glossary, genealogy trees, money/weights/measures, chronologies, and an image gallery. Primary source. Gale.
Makes available Parliamentary papers for the 19th century (1801-1900) covering issues in Great Britain and her many colonies. This resource brings together the Nineteenth Century Parliamentary Papers Collection from BOPCRIS (British Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information Service), the nineteenth century House of Commons Sessional Papers from Chadwyck-Healey microfiche edition, and Peter Cockton's Subject Catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 1801-1900, a five volume thematic index for the complete set of parliamentary papers of this period. Provides digital access to the Papers. Useful "Guide to Parliamentary Papers" (http://parlipapers.chadwyck.com/infoCentre/hcppguide.jsp) for those working with them for the first time. Proquest.
Provides primary sources that enable researchers to examine key issues and events of the period, including: changing lifestyles; youth culture; student protests across Europe and the US; Mai ‘68; popular culture, TV, music, and movies; book, magazine and film Censorship; civil rights; women’s liberation; minority groups; the Space Race; consumerism; credit cards; computers; the Vietnam conflict; nuclear disarmament. Adam Matthew
Developed from content available at Michigan State University’s American Radicalism Collection, Brown University’s Hall-Hoag Collection of Dissenting and Extremist Printed Propaganda, the University of Northampton’s Searchlight Archive, and the UK National Archives, this resource combines content on far-right and fascist movements, alongside significant coverage of radical left groups, allowing researchers to access material from both sides, providing points for comparison. It offers a diverse range of content, including campaign materials, propaganda, government records, and various ephemera, including oral histories. Gale.
This resource traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources. It provides scholars with new ways of accessing and exploring all works printed in Europe before 1701, drawing together a diverse array of printed sources, regardless of language, as well as works published further afield. Developed and produced in close collaboration with scholars, rare book librarian, bibliographers, and other experts from the library world, this resource opens the door to some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books. The collection has been developed in partnership with The Royal Library – Det Kongelige Bibliotek (Copenhagen, Denmark), National Central Library in Florence – Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze (Florence, Italy), The National Library – Koninklijke Bibliotheek (The Hague, The Netherlands), Wellcome Library (London, UK) and National Library of France - Bibliothèque nationale de France (Paris, France).
Covers five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration. Features rare manuscript and early printed material, highly illustrated maps and documents, diaries and ships' logs from some of the most well-known voyages in history, this collection provides access to key events in the history of European maritime exploration from c.1420-1920. Key themes covered include expedition planning, financing & sponsorship, ships & provisions, new commodities & trade, new territories, ports, forts & entrepôts, competition, life at sea, indigenous peoples, navigation, scientific observations & instruments, and personal & family life. Adam Matthew Digital.
Provides access to a digital collection of primarily eighteenth-century French language electronic texts of mythology, alchemy, science, divine arcana, and secret societies. The collection is the product of a working thesis on the part of the project"s coordinators, that rather than constituting a break with Enlightenment ideals, these semi-occultic themed treatises demonstrate a profound continuity with the vision and values of Enlightenment rationalism, despite transgressing the bounds of the sensible (humanly knowable) world. From the perspective of orthodox, main stream philosophical research, this is a small collection of philosophically marginal texts. At best, this is a narrowly focused specialist resource specifically tailored for a select coterie of researchers in mid-eighteenth to late nineteenth-century French intellectual history. Generally not worth consulting by the generalist philosophical researcher.
Established in 1953 by the Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority to commemorate the Jewish Holocaust during World War II. Exists as a world center for documentation, research, education and commemoration of the Holocaust. Includes database of Shoah victims' names and digital collections.
Access primary source materials from the 19th and 20th centuries on various aspects of the women's movement in America and Europe. Information on individuals, organizations, movements, and issues. Documents include Planned Parenthood of America records, European women's magazines, the HerStory Collection, peace movement archives, grassroots feminist materials. Topics covered include history, labor unions and employment, health, gender, religion, politics, and society. Keyword and advanced search features with limits by type of document, date, and other aspects.
Provides access to a finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives (Great Britain) as well as original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories. The original documents cover the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928 and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962. Adam Matthew
Provides a broad range of documents on witchcraft, including dissertations, limited printed works, and many rare and fragile manuscripts containing eyewitness accounts and court records of the trials of witches covering harrowing original manuscript depositions taken from the victims in the torture chamber. The pronouncements of advocates of witch persecution can be compared and contrasted to the warnings of men who doubted the validity of witch believers and witch trials. The majority of texts are in Latin, English, and German, with some selected documents in French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish, and Dutch. ProQuest
Trace the history of women’s movements and feminism over four centuries of documents and journals and across multiple countries in Europe and North America in this one collection. Full-text of primary source documents, journals, and pamphlets, in 14 langages (primarily English, German, and French), it is possible to trace developments in a single country or across several countries. The Gerritsen Collection includes advice manuals, education and professional training, history, social conditions, social reform, legal status, women’s health, and women’s employment. Among the books are many biographies of women – full-length biographies and biographical sketch collections. Gerritsen also has an extensive section of early women’s periodicals from 1860 through the 1940’s. Quick or Advanced search features are available for the entire collection, with limits for books or periodicals only. Primary Source. ProQuest.