It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides access to video of events in American history. Videos are from educational, public affairs, archival, newsreel, and commercial sources. Provides both the video and a complete transcript of the video, the transcript is fully searchable, searching within a video and viewing only the relevant section is also possible. Browse by subjects, eras, people, places, events, or historical eras from 1492 - 2000. Simple and advanced search features available. Create a free account to save playlists or clips and to receive RSS updates on new material added to the resource. No separate viewer required, able to send link of video to your mobile device. Playlists may be created in support of courses and may be private, shared within the institution only, or public, numerous playlists already exist (including playlists of analysis tools). Permalinks are available for playlists to embed in websites, Blackboard, etc. Alexander Street Press.
Brings together on a single cross-searchable platform a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street Press video titles. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage. Alexander Street Press.
Provides contemporary and historical digital images pertaining to health and the human living condition. Includes medical and social history, contemporary healthcare, biomedical scinece. Clinical image collection not included. Search by keyword, date, image number or technique.
Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning." Primary Source. Library of Congress.
Offers permanent storage and access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, music, moving images, and nearly 3 million public domain books. This internet library's mission is to provide permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. One feature is the "Wayback Machine " which is an historical archive of preserved web pages.
This multi-faceted reference database chronicles the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through essays, biographies, discographies, interviews, images, lyrics and scores. Covers a wide range of African American musical expression, including blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms.
Provides access to over 6 000 albums (over 116 000 tracks) of songs by and about, American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, and anti-war protests. Contains all of the content of the former African American Music database.
NBC's Meet the Press is broadcast-television's longest-running program, with interviews, panels and debates from across the political spectrum. The collection includes every surviving program from the show's inception in 1947 through the present day. All programs can be watched in streaming format and are fully searchable. All programs are provided with running transcripts. Programs and clips can be saved to a playlist and shared with others. Alexander Street Press.
Provides access to documentaries, newsreels, and features from the archives of the British Film Institute (BFI), revealing the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers, covering the early 20th century to the 1980s, and examining themes of War & Revolution, News & Current Affairs, plus Culture & Society. It includes the ETV-Plato Films collection amassed by Stanley Forman in the years following World War II that consists of films produced almost exclusively in the communist world and later versioned into English for distribution in the West. Keyword and advanced search options with filters for production date, country of production, genre, sub-collection, and film subject area. Allows for proximity searching. Adam Matthew.
Provides a searchable archive of over 30 000 individual network evening news broadcasts, including 900 000 abstracts of evening news broadcasts from ABC, NBC, and CBS (August 1968 to present), daily news programs from CNN (1995 to present), FOX News (2004 to present) and ABC Nightline (12 September 1988 to present), and a selection of special programs, including coverage of elections, political conventions, events related to September 11, 2001, and more. Selected streaming video requires the RealOne media player. Video copies of programs with only abstracts are available for a fee.
Provides access to 220 years of demographic data and 18 000 maps covering census, economic, election, religion data and more. Users can create thematic and interactive maps using basic GIS and data manipulation. In addition, users can download data or tables and create snapshots of maps.
Provides data on American politics. Subjects covered include elections and political parties, campaign finance and political action committees, public opinion and voting, the media, Congress, the Presidency and executive branch, the judiciary, federalism, foreign and military policy, social policy, and economic policy. SAGE.