Reference Works - Sciences
Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology by Call Number: Jones Ref QR81 .A5ISBN: 0683006037Publication Date: 1993-10-01
Encyclopedia of Biology by Call Number: Jones Ref QH309.2 .R58ISBN: 0816048592Publication Date: 2004-08-01
Encyclopedia of Chemistry by Call Number: Jones Ref QD4 .R57ISBN: 0816048940Publication Date: 2005-06-01
Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies by Call Number: Jones Ref TD9 .A84ISBN: 0816042551Publication Date: 2001-06-01
Encyclopedia of Physics by Call Number: Jones Ref QC5 .E545ISBN: 3527405542Publication Date: 2005-11-07
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia by Call Number: Jones Ref Q121 .V3ISBN: 0471743380Publication Date: 2008-03-03
Good starting places
These article databases are multidisciplinary, which means they cover a multitude of possible subjects, topics, and paper ideas. A multidisciplinary database is always a good place to start, because they can give you a sense for whether there is enough written on your topic to support a research paper.
- Academic OneFileA collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles in HTML and PDF format from more than 8000 journals with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.
- Academic Search CompleteDesigned specifically for academic institutions, this resource is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
- Credo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.
- Periodicals index onlineThis database is unique in combining a broad subject base with deep chronological coverage going back over 300 years. It covers 37 key subject areas in the humanities and social sciences and indexes over 15 million articles going as far back as 1665
Subject-specific resources
- ACM digital library This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of all articles from 1947 to date published in Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) journals and transactions, as well as tables of contents of conference proceedings.
- ACS publications This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals and other publications from the American Chemical Society covering analytical, applied, biological, material and engineering, organic-inorganic, and physical chemistry.
- BIOSIS This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic references for scholarly material covering life sciences and biomedical research including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, molecular and cellular biology, pharmacology, and zoology.
- GeoRef (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Indexes academic journal articles, books, maps, conference papers reports, and theses in the geosciences and related fields.
- IEEE Xplore digital library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to IEEE and partner publications, including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, standards, books, and courses.
- Inspec This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, conferences, monographs, preprints, reports, magazines, dissertations, and patents in physics; electrical and electronic engineering; computing; control engineering; information technology; mechanical engineering; and production and manufacturing.
- MathSciNet (AMS) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information for scholarly articles, books, and conference proceedings in mathematics.
- RSC journals homepageSite offers full-text of current chemistry periodicals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry. The database of journal articles is searchable by journal title, article title, author, issue number and date, etc. The RSC journals section is a part of the larger site for the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Scholarly works
- Science DirectWeb database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles and full text for Handbook in Economics series. Areas covered include accounting, management, marketing, organizational behavior, economics, econometrics and finance.
- Web of ScienceProvides access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index. The ISI citation databases contain multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed, high quality research information from the world's leading science, social sciences and arts and humanities journals.
- SpringerLink (Online)Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal titles as well as journals from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.
- Wiley online libraryProvides search access to all journals available from Wiley as well as full-text access to those journals to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe.
Your Librarian
Reference works - Engineering & Computer Science
Building the World by Call Number: Jones General Collection T56 .I44 2006ISBN: 0313333548Publication Date: 2006-06-01
Webster's New World Computer Dictionary by Call Number: Jones Ref QA76.15 .P395ISBN: 076452478XPublication Date: 2003-05-02
Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering, 24 Volume Set by Call Number: Jones Ref TK9 .E53ISBN: 0471139467Publication Date: 1999-03-25
