Reference Works
- Almanac of American PoliticsCall Number: Jones Info Desk JK 1012 A44
Encyclopedia of Anthropology by Call Number: Jones Ref GN11 .E63 2006ISBN: 0761930299Publication Date: 2005-12-08
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media by Call Number: Jones Ref HQ784.M3 E53 2007 v.1&2ISBN: 1412905303Publication Date: 2006-12-14
Encyclopedia of Journalism by Call Number: Jones Ref PN4728 .E48 2009 v.1-6ISBN: 9780761929574Publication Date: 2009-09-25
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education by Call Number: Jones Ref LB17 .E53ISBN: 1412906784Publication Date: 2009- Forensic Science byCall Number: Jones Ref HV8073 .F5837 2009ISBN: 1587654245Publication Date: 2008-10-01
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by Call Number: Jones Ref HM425 .B53 2007ISBN: 1405124334Publication Date: 2007-01-30- The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by Call Number: Jones Ref HM425 .B53 2007 v.1-11ISBN: 1405124334Publication Date: 2007-01-23
Good starting places
These article databases are multidisciplinary, which means they cover a multitude of possible subjects, topics, and paper ideas. A multidisciplinary database is always a good place to start, because they can give you a sense for whether there is enough written on your topic to support a research paper.
- Academic OneFileA collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles in HTML and PDF format from more than 8000 journals with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.
- Academic Search CompleteDesigned specifically for academic institutions, this resource is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
- Credo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.
- Periodicals index onlineThis database is unique in combining a broad subject base with deep chronological coverage going back over 300 years. It covers 37 key subject areas in the humanities and social sciences and indexes over 15 million articles going as far back as 1665
Subject-specific resources
- AnthroSourceCurrent issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print.
- Communication & mass media complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication studies and mass media topics.
- ERICThe authoritative database on educational topics.
- MLA directory of periodicals This link opens in a new window
Presents detailed information on more than 6 000 journals and book series in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Most but not all are currently indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for over 400 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals. The database also features more than 165 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
- Sociological abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Major areas of coverage include culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic develganopment; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex orizations; mass phenomena and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business, education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; women's studies.
Scholarly works
- Humanities & social sciences index retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new windowThis is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Content from H.W. Wilsons International Index is also included.
- JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of more than 230 scholarly journals from the first issue to a moving-wall date of 2 to 5 years prior to the most recently published issue. The subject areas covered are: African-American Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; Botany; Business; Ecology; Economics; Education; Finance; General Science; History; Literature; Mathematics; Philosophy; Political Science; Population Studies; Sociology; and Statistics. - Project Muse This link opens in a new windowTo eventually provide full-text online access to all journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given. Consult the online "indexed table of contents" for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
- SAGE journals online This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online access to electronic journals published by SAGE Publications.
- Science DirectWeb database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles and full text for Handbook in Economics series. Areas covered include accounting, management, marketing, organizational behavior, economics, econometrics and finance.
- Web of ScienceProvides access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index. The ISI citation databases contain multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed, high quality research information from the world's leading science, social sciences and arts and humanities journals.
