Reference Works
Encyclopedia and Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health by Call Number: Jones Ref R121 .M65ISBN: 0721697917Publication Date: 2003-03-31
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by Call Number: Jones Ref RT21 .G353ISBN: 0787649341Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Good starting places
These article databases are multidisciplinary, which means they cover a multitude of possible subjects, topics, and paper ideas. A multidisciplinary database is always a good place to start, because they can give you a sense for whether there is enough written on your topic to support a research paper.
- Academic OneFileA collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles in HTML and PDF format from more than 8000 journals with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.
- Academic Search CompleteDesigned specifically for academic institutions, this resource is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
- Credo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.
- Periodicals index onlineThis database is unique in combining a broad subject base with deep chronological coverage going back over 300 years. It covers 37 key subject areas in the humanities and social sciences and indexes over 15 million articles going as far back as 1665
Subject-specific resources
- CINAHL with full text This link opens in a new windowNursing, allied health, biomedicine, alternative medicine, consumer health.
You'll want to uncheck the box that says "Search Subject Headings" to get to a list of articles instead of the best subject headings to use (and you'll need to do that for each search). - Health source : nursing/academic edition This link opens in a new window
Provides citation and some full text of scholarly journal articles in medicine.
- MedlineMedline indexes the world's most extensive medical literature. This database also includes links to a small number of full text articles.
Scholarly works
- Web of ScienceProvides access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index. The ISI citation databases contain multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed, high quality research information from the world's leading science, social sciences and arts and humanities journals.
- Science DirectWeb database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles and full text for Handbook in Economics series. Areas covered include accounting, management, marketing, organizational behavior, economics, econometrics and finance.
