Reference Works
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World by Call Number: Crouch Ref ML102.P66 C66ISBN: 0826463215Publication Date: 2003-01-30
Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music by Call Number: Crouch Ref ML102.G6 E63ISBN: 0415941792Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Encyclopedia of Artists by Call Number: Crouch Ref N31 .E51 2000 v.1-6ISBN: 0195215729Publication Date: 2001-01-04
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Call Number: Crouch Ref ML102.P66 G84ISBN: 0195313739Publication Date: 2006-11-20
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by Call Number: Crouch Ref N5610 .G76 2007 v.1 & 2ISBN: 9780195300826Publication Date: 2007-06-18
Good starting places
These article databases are multidisciplinary, which means they cover a multitude of possible subjects, topics, and paper ideas. A multidisciplinary database is always a good place to start, because they can give you a sense for whether there is enough written on your topic to support a research paper.
- Academic OneFileA collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles in HTML and PDF format from more than 8000 journals with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.
- Academic Search CompleteDesigned specifically for academic institutions, this resource is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
- Credo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.
- JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to more than 230 scholarly journals. Multidisciplinary. Access includes from first issue of the journal to a moving-wall date of 2-5 years prior to the most recently published issue. The subject areas covered are: African-American Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; Botany; Business; Ecology; Economics; Education; Finance; General Science; History; Literature; Mathematics; Philosophy; Political Science; Population Studies; Sociology; and Statistics. A complete list of titles is available.
- Periodicals index onlineThis database is unique in combining a broad subject base with deep chronological coverage going back over 300 years. It covers 37 key subject areas in the humanities and social sciences and indexes over 15 million articles going as far back as 1665
Subject-specific resources
- Art Abstractsaccess to more than 280,000 citations in architecture, art and art history, city planning, industrial design, interior design, and landscape architecture
- Art & architecture source This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage to over 600 full-text journals, over 200 full-text books, and over 60 000 images in art and architecture from 1929-present. Combines content from Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete.
- Index to 19th-century American art periodicalsindex of 42 art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century
- Music index This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for more than 475 periodicals in all areas of music, including articles, book reviews, recording reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
- Music periodicals database This link opens in a new window
Provides article citations and abstracts for all types of music, drawn from more than 600 publications that include scholarly and popular periodicals, books, and reference works.
- RILM abstracts of music literature This link opens in a new window
Indexes hundreds of thousands of publications on all aspects of music.
- Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) This link opens in a new windowIndexes periodical literature published between 1800 and 1950. Citations for articles and some full text articles.
- Performing arts periodicals database This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from around 400 scholarly and popular periodicals, as well as some books. Includes reviews, biographical profiles, obituaries, interviews, and more.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian
One Bear Place 97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148
Moody Library
309
