Collection Development Policy

The Collection Development Committee (CDC) is a nine-person library standing committee with members representing wide-ranging stakeholders and operational interests.  The CDC provides guidance on matters impacting library collections and meets monthly throughout the year.

Ex Officio

• Director, Collection Development & Delivery Services (Chair)
• Electronic Resources & Serials Librarian
• Collections Coordinator
• Associate Dean of Research & Engagement
• Director, Data & Digital Scholarship

Rotating Members (typically 2-3 year staggered terms)

• Humanities Liaison Representative
• Social Sciences Liaison Representative
• STEM Liaison Representative
• Special Collections Representative

Collections Decision Roles

• Content purchased with unallocated Materials Budget funds
• Cancellation of database and package subscriptions
• Transformative, Read & Publish, etc. agreements
• Major Journal package decisions

Advisory Roles

• Materials Budget allocation
• Administrative purchasing directives
• Administrative library space initiatives (physical stacks)
• Collection Development & Delivery Services' procedures as they pertain to handling of liaison requests

Communications

• Monthly Meeting Minutes (BOX – Ex Officio Members)
• Budget Allocation and Projections Spreadsheets (BOX – Ex Officio Members)
• Providing context for purchase request in applicable subject areas (Rotating Members)
• Informational conduit for Liaison in subject area (Rotating Members)