Collection Development Policy

The decision to add new items to the library's collections is made by Baylor's subject liaison librarians alongside the Collection Development Committee (CDC). Larger collection decisions are evaluated and voted on by the CDC at monthly committee meetings. The CDC is made up of representatives from the humanities, social sciences, STEM, and Special Collections.  It is led by the Director of Collection Development and Delivery Services.  When evaluating new resources for the Baylor Collection, the libraries will consult this committee, along with Interlibrary Loan (ILL), to determine the best acquisition options.

Interlibrary Loan Service provides patrons with temporary access to materials that are not in Baylor's collection by borrowing them from other institutions.  To access interlibrary loan services, patrons login and submit a request through the library's online OsoFast form.  More information regarding these services can be found on the library's Interlibrary Loan Services page.

Suggestions for subscription and purchase are often brought to the collection development committee by Baylor's librarians. The following links will connect you with subject and collection specialists in the main library and in Baylor's special collections.

The library partners with several consortia in order to leverage purchasing power which provides resources at cost savings to the library. Visit the links below to learn about some of our consortial partners.

• Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA)
• Amigos
• Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
• Statewide California Electronic Library Consortium (SCELC)
• TexShare