Collection Development Policy

Welcome to the University Libraries' online Collection Development Policy guide.  This policy informs the building and maintenance of our online and physical collections in support of the institution's teaching, learning, and research goals.

• The Baylor University Libraries strive to build collections that empower the scholarship and teaching of the university community.   

• We serve students, faculty, staff, and the broader community by acquiring and providing access to academic resources in support of Baylor University's mission to "educate men and women for worldwide leadership and service by integrating academic excellence and Christian commitment with a caring community."  

• The University Libraries develop collections that support the strategic plans of both Baylor University and the University Libraries.  

• The Collection Development Policy establishes the underlying principles that guide the selection, acquisition, and deselection of library materials. The purpose of this policy is to curate a relevant, usable collection that serves Baylor University through the effective administration of resources including money, time, and physical space.  

• In general, the University Libraries prefer the acquisition of electronic content over traditional print resources.  Online content provides remote access, has advanced search capabilities, saves space, and can integrate with current technologies (Large Language Models, data mining scripting, etc.).  Print resources may be appropriate in some instances due to manner of use, lack of online availability, electronic quality concerns, and pricing disparities.

• This policy reflects the collection practices for the general collections. Details for Special Collections can be found under the Special Collections tab within this Library Guide.