It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indexes articles from scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada only. Provides abstracts for most articles. Also includes book reviews in scholarly history journals but does not index book publications. Features: simple, advanced, and visual search features, and search alerts. The first place to look for scholarly literature on America and Canada. (N.B.: For the rest of the world, use Historical Abstracts). EBOSCOhost.
Indexes and provides abstracts to scholarly journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, books and book reviews in history for all countries except the United States and Canada (for the U.S. and Canada use America: History & Life). Since every subject has a history all subjects are covered, from accounting and biology to warfare and zoology, not just traditional "history.", Includes research on eras from prehistory to the present. Basic, advanced, and visual search features, limits by time period, country, year of publication of article, language of publication, in addition to subject, author, keyword, etc. EBSCO.
Indexes scholarly writing by historians on the British Isles, the British Empire, and the British Commonwealth. Covers the historical period from 55 B.C.E. to the present, including books, journal articles, and essays. Search by subject, geographical region, personal name, and limit to historical period or year of publication.
Contains over 700 000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia and published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Includes citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and festschriften, etc. Selected journals have retrospective indexing back to 1779. Users can search, browse by journal title or country-subject.
Indexes popular and scholarly journal articles, essays, indigenous/First People's newspapers, books, and book reviews on all aspects of indigenous people of North America. Contains citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Covers history, biography, anthropology, politics, literature, governance, gaming, culture, archaeology, and many other fields. Searchable fields include author, title, abstract, keyword, people, company, geographic terms, and publication. EBSCOhost.
Covers scholarship on the middle ages (500 - 1400). One of two premier databases. International in scope and in languages, simple and advanced searches may be limited by academic discipline, geographical area, and centuries. Advanced search permits limits to author, title, language, and year of publication. As search boxes are filled in, the number of matching items is listed in red in the lower right-hand corner next to the "Search" button. Results are listed from most current to oldest. The database is updated 4 times per year. Citations include brief annotations on content. Journal articles and articles in collected essays only, no books or book reviews included. Works with Zotero, exports to RefWorks. Brepols.
Indexes research on the middle ages and renaissance (400 - 1700) in journals, books, conference papers, catalogs, discographies, and dissertations. An essential resource, international in scope. Coverage for journals dates back to 1784, for books to 1931. Includes access to books in the series: Other voice in early modern Europe: Toronto series. The "Basic Search" is by keyword, but "Advanced Search" allows for limits by author, title, subject and Dewey and LC call numbers. Advanced Search also permits limits by language and type of work (bibliography, review article, thesis, etc.). Supports Zotero and RefWorks. University of Toronto.
Provides an index to materials in the field of Classical Studies covering especially topics in Greco-Roman history and civilization, archaeology, language and literature. Since June 2009 this database, the electronic version of the print index L'Annee Philologique, has extended its coverage of scholarly publications back to 1924, when the print index was first offered. All years are searchable by the following: modern authors, full text (not full text of the articles but full text of the index!), and ancient authors and texts. For subjects and disciplines there are two options: one for those articles appearing prior to volume 67 and one for those articles appearing after volume 67. Coverage typically lags two years behind publication. Entries for journal articles usually have an abstract and the abstract is usually in the language of the article. By moving the cursor on a journal title abbreviation, the full title of the journal will be displayed. Tip: do not click on the abbreviation, the display of the full title may take a second or two. For books, book reviews are indicated using standard abbreviations for the journal that contains the review. Société internationale de bibliographie classique.
Lists noteworthy publications (including articles, books, and reviews) that have a bearing on the Victorian period. Prepared by the staff of Victorian Studies and a committee of the Victorian Division of the Modern Language Association of America, the bibliography annually indexes over 400 journals, representing scholarship in a range of disciplines. Searchable by author, title, or entire record. Covers works published from 1991 to about 2 years prior to the current year.
Offers access to the full text of selected scholarly and popular journals covering the issues of war, terrorism, and defense policy. Journals include: Airport Security Report, Arab Studies Quarterly (ASQ), International Peace Update, Israel Studies, Military Intelligence Professional Bulletin, Naval Aviation News, Social Justice, Terrorism in the United States, and more. Includes book reviews. Gale Cengage.
Broader databases that include other disciplines than history
Provides online access to important scholarly journals and books in many different disciplines. For journals, JSTOR mainly serves an archival function, it contains recent issues for some titles, but for most titles the available issues are two years old or more. Can be searched by author, title, or keyword, with limits available for discipline, dates, language, type of publication, and publication title. No subject access is provided, so use other databases for subject searching.
Provides a great starting place for research, as it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12 500 journals in all academic subjects, including more than 8 500 full-text and 7 300 peer-reviewed journals. Other types of publications included in this resource are books and book chapters, newspapers, magazines, conference proceedings, reports, etc. Searchable by keyword, title, author, subject, journal name, and a lot more. Results can be limited by date, language, publication type, full-text status or whether a journal is scholarly/peer-reviewed. EBSCOhost.