History

Encyclopedia of ancient history is the definitive reference work for the study of the ancinent world.

Comprises an encyclopedia of both the reception history of the Bible in its "different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity" and of the "current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible." This is a specialist work designed to orient researchers by retrospectively summarizing "major themes and issues" in the field and pointing forward to future trajectories for research. This resource is an ongoing project and additional volumes can be expected for some time to come (volumes 1 and 2 have not exhausted alphabetical entries for the A's). As of this writing (May 2011), progress towards completion is proceeding incrementally (and sadly, behind schedule). When it is completed, this should be a resource of tremendous breadth and depth. It is capable of both keyword and volume content searching. Should be useful to Biblical researchers across a wide range of interests, not just to those interested in the reception history of the Bible. Walter de Gruyter.

Covers literature, art, philosophy, law, mythology, science, intimate details of daily life, broad cultural and historical trends for all aspects of the Graeco-Roman ancient world.

Contains more than 5 000 searchable entries covering all aspects of Byzantine history and civilization from the 4th through the 15th centuries, with special depth in subjects such as bureaucratic titles and fiscal terms, urban life, and rural economy.

Covers key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D. as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era.

Covers all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe, including art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period. Significant biographical entries covering artists, thinkers, statesman, and reformers.

Provides information on the history of the early modern period, roughly 1450 – 1850. Takes a global approach to history, both in terms of countries and subjects covered. The scope is reflected in the ten broad subject areas: state/political authority, global interaction, law & constitution, lifestyles & social change, economy, natural sciences & medicine, culture & communication, churches & religious culture, literature/art/music, and environment & technological change. Written from a European perspective, the bibliographies include international scholarship in all European languages. The English version is a work in progress. Articles will be added as the translations become available

Focuses on the entire range of philosophic and social changes engendered by the Enlightenment. Extends the conventional geographical boundaries of the Enlightenment, covering not only France, England, Scotland, the Low Countries, Italy, English-speaking North America, the German states, and Hapsburg Austria but also Iberian, Ibero-American, Jewish, Russian, and Eastern European cultures. Designed and organized for ease of use, its special features include more than 700 signed articles, annotated bibliographies following each article to guide further study, an extensive system of cross-references, a synoptic outline of contents, a comprehensive topical index providing easy access to networks of related articles, and high quality illustrations, including photographs, line drawings, and maps.

over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies

Provides scholarly essays and articles on all aspects of the Iranian and Persian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucuses, Central Asia, and the Indian Subcontinent. Covers literature, religion, arts, science, politics, history, anthropology, archaeology, etc. Simple and advanced search features. A collaborative undertaking based at Columbia University's Center for Iranian Studies. Encyclopaedia Iranica.

Covers more than 18 000 individuals who fit all the following criteria: American (lived within what is now the United States), deceased (with enough time having passed since the individual's death to allow for critical evaluation), influenced American history or culture broadly (not just a locally influential individual), sufficient research materials exist on this individual to create a solid biographical essay. Essays are written by scholars and include a bibliography (including an indication of where a person's archives are located), links to reliable online resources, and links to cross-referenced individuals. Additionally, there are links to thematically related essays from the "Oxford Companion to United States History" to help place the individual in the larger trends and issues of his time. Drawing again on the "Oxford Companion to United States History " there are links to articles in 12 broad research topics to help focus a paper or research on an individual or an era. ANB may be searched by name, by keyword (any occurrence of it), or click on the "Search" tab to conduct an advanced search by gender, profession, birthplace, and other features. Oxford UP.

Provides authoritative biographies of deceased individuals who influenced British history, including colonial British-Americans. Biographies include a listing of major works written by the individual (if any) and a reference list of full-length biographies and critical articles. Each biography also includes a "Reputation" section which describes the individual's standing in his or her time period and how that has changed since then. Very helpfully will indicate where the individual's archives are, if they exist. Also provides links to major themed articles (on the American Founding Fathers, for instance), entries to related individuals, and to other online resources produced by Oxford University Press (which we may or may not have access to). Oxford University Press.

Covers Irish men and women from the earliest times until 2001, providing biographies and a sense of their influence on Irish history, culture, and life. Simple keyword search from the homepage may be used or use the advanced search feature to search by occupation (including "saint"), date of birth or death, place of birth or death (by Irish counties), or religion. Biographies range from a few paragraphs to longer essays which will assess the individual's influence. Includes fictional characters, like Molly Malone, who have become immortalized in song, and some of the figures from Irish mythology who have become familiar through literature (Deirdre). Brief bibliography of further reading provided. Cambridge UP.

Presents biographical articles on over 10 000 individuals important to the history of Australia, most of whom died before 1980. The online edition currently contains no more biographies than the print edition does, and the older entries have not been updated to show recent historical developments. However, the online edition allows for searching by keyword, gender, cultural heritage, birth/death dates, occupation, or religious influence. Biographies are between 500 and 2000 words in length, written by scholars and contain a bibliography of secondary resources on the individual. Australian National University.

Presents systematically, career biographies and criticisms of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods. Contains articles on literary authors from throughout the world.

Indexes and provides full-text access to a variety of news and reference sources containing the biographies of individuals from all time periods. Front page provides basic search box, a listing of selected biographies arranged by occupation, and links to current biographical news (obituaries, etc.). Searching by occupation, individual name, place of birth/death, nationality, and other advanced search features is available. Individual entries include a general overview of a person's life and links to reference and news sources (divided into "scholarly" and "magazines"), as well as audio or image resources (audio from NPR). Advanced search includes a "lexile index" search which allows teachers to choose materials at an appropriate reading level for their students. Also useful is the "Listen" button which will read the entry aloud (including word or sentence highlighting if desired). Gale Cengage.

Enables users to search the various papers and documents contained in the University of Virginia’s Founding Era full-text documents to identify individuals and their connections. Prosopography is the study of groups of people (grouped by gender, occupation, birth year, and other key data points) to study the group itself, not just the individuals. This database enables users to identify connections, patterns, etc. through a keyword search, with limits for gender, birth/death year, occupation, religion, and geographical region to better enable such a prosopographical study. The data is less robust for women, slaves, and Native Americans due to the nature of the historical record, but is still useful for identifying patterns among these groups. References to the primary sources in the Founding Era documents (which Baylor also owns digitally) makes finding the context for the individual very easy. Interactive, visual graphs of connections are provided. Brief biographies are provided for all individuals and the data on each person is presented in the same way so that searches can be more effective. The People of the Founding Era is still a work in progress with information being added regularly.

Offers discipline-focused, online guides to the essential literature in subjects across the humanities and social sciences. Each subject module includes a full set of entries (written by scholars in the field) covering a range of topics from general overviews to highly-specialized themes. Each entry provides a synoptic, bibliographic guide to the key literature and most useful online resources in given area of research. All subject areas or just selected ones may be browsed or searched by keyword or phrase. Oxford.

Provides introductory essays and critical, annotated bibliographies to the most important works on the topic covered. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on African culture, history, and society. Introductory essay provides a review of current research trends and issues. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the transnational interconnections between Europe, North America, South America, and Africa, particularly in the early modern and colonial period. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Chinese culture history, and society. Introductory essay provides a review of current research trends and issues. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Latin American studies. Introductory essay provides a review of current research trends and issues. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Latino studies and the Hispanic minority in the United States. Introductory essay provides a review of current research trends and issues. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on military history.Introductory essay provides a review of current research trends and issues. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the period of the Renaissance and Reformation, which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.