It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FAS 1311 Modern Languages, Cultures, and Global Communities
Provides access to over 400 peer-reviewed scholarly journals published in Africa about African issues. This resource has a combination of freely-accessible and fee-based articles (Note: don't pay for the articles, use ILL first). Covers journals in all fields but is especially strong in agricultural sciences, science and technology, health, and social sciences. Simple Google search box for searching the available contents, or browse by journal title, by country of origin, or list journals by 25 broad subject headings. Advanced search allows some refinements by date limits, author, and discipline. Selecting an individual journal title to browse opens tabs for searching within the journal and for accessing the available archives of that journal.
Provides indexing and abstracts to articles in over 200 journals and to the individual essays in books of collected essays related to African Studies. Also covers a limited number of films & documentaries related to Africa. Searching is most effective from the link to "All issues" in the left-hand menu, otherwise you will open a PDF of the print version of the index. Produced by the African Studies Center in Lieden, Holland, the search results screen lists articles in their original language of publication (the majority of which appear to be in English) but the search engine and commands default to Dutch, click on the British flag in the upper right to change these to English. No full text provided, but detailed abstracts are very useful. Some other reports and research studies are listed on the sidebar and may be available in full-text format. As of 5/11, searching is not compatible with Firefox 4.x versions, use IE instead. African Studies Center, University of Leiden, Netherlands.
Conducts and publishes the results of attitudinal surveys from over a dozen African countries on its website. Surveys cover the following broad areas: Governance, Democracy, Livelihoods, Social Capital, Macro-economics & Markets, Conflict & Crime, Participation, and National Identity. Results may be selected for specific countries and questions within the larger survey. PDF files of Working Papers and Briefing Papers analyzing the results of the data are also freely available for download.
"From St. Augustine and early Ethiopian philosophers to the anticolonialist movements of Pan Africanism and Negritude, The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. All major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion will be covered, as well as significant historical figures and social movements"
ECA is one of five regional commissions under the administrative direction of United Nations (UN) headquarters. As the regional arm of the UN in Africa, it is mandated to support the economic and social development of its 53 member States, foster regional integration, and promote international cooperation for Africa's development. It reports to the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on African culture, history, and society. Introductory essay provides a review of current research trends and issues. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.