Bibliographies and Guides
The following is a list of useful commentary guidebooks and bibliographies. These resources are written by biblical scholars and are intended to help seminary students and ministers amass their own private biblical studies libraries for preaching and ministry. Most evaluations are given from an Evangelical theological standpoint.
These resources will often offer an informed opinion regarding which commentaries are 'best in class' and can be helpful in identifying top volumes on a particular book.
-
A guide to selecting and using Bible commentaries
by
Call Number: Moody General Collection BS491.2 .S78 1990ISBN: 0849932289One of the few commentary guidebooks to consciously articulate criteria and principles for evaluating biblical commentaries, this book would have value for that reason alone.
Stuart, however, goes beyond this foundation work to offer helpful reviews of series and indivual volumes, based upon his aforementioned criteria.
The volume is somewhat dated. But his selection criteria remain valid and are reproduced in brief in this libguide under the tab "Criteria for Commentary Evaluation." -
Bibliographies for biblical research. Supplemental series.
Call Number: Jones General Collection Z7772.L1 B43 2002ISBN: 077342511X -
Commentary & reference survey : a comprehensive guide to biblical and theological resources
by
Call Number: Jones General Collection Z7770 .G59 2007ISBN: 0825427371Conservative evangelical bibliography of resources in biblical studies, its cognate disciplines, theology and church history.
Majors on classification of sources by theological slant. Highly recommended titles listed in bold. -
Handbook of biblical criticism
by
Call Number: Moody General Collection BS511.3 .S68 2001ISBN: 0664223141 -
Multipurpose tools for Bible study
by
Call Number: Moody General Collection BS511.2 .D355 2003ISBN: 0800635957Intended primarily to assist preachers assemble personal libraries for exegetical study in preparation for exposition, this volume inventories a variety of textual/exegetical tools. Chapter 15 covers commentaries and Dr. Danker, himself a Lutheran New Testament scholar, offers evaluations of the merits and (candid comments on) the deficiencies of commentary sets, individual volumes and single volume commentaries. -
New Testament commentary survey
by
Call Number: Moody General Collection BS2341.2 .C33 2001ISBN: 0801022878Comprehensive assessment of the critical and theological value of New Testament commentaries currently on the market, from an Evangelical theological perspective. -
New testament introduction
by
Call Number: Jones General Collection Z7772.L1 P67 1995ISBN: 0801020603"...a detailed annotated bibliography that matches New Testament students with the books they need." -- back panel
This work is a bibliography covering all aspects of New Testament study.
Chapter 20 (p. 198) provides an annotated bibliography of scholarly New Testament Commentaries. -
Old Testament commentary survey
by
Call Number: Jones General Collection Z7772.A1 L64 2003ISBN: 0801026296The Old Testment equivalent of Carson's NTCS (immediately above). Provides the same analysis of OT commentaries as its NT counterpart, also from an Evangelical theological perspective.
