Subject Guide
Companies
The databases that you will find below are helpful for researching specific companies.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Provides company profiles, news, business and trade articles, research reports, executive profiles, industry intelligence and financial data on businesses. Allows users to build targeted company lists, identify business contacts and monitor business events. Note: Limited to 25 simultaneous users; please logout when done.
- Mergent onlineMergent Online is a corporate financial database that provides information on U.S. and international companies. In addition to complete company profiles, information includes comprehensive company research, including financial statement data (current and historical), annual reports, company histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, executive bios, industry reports and more.
- Pitchbook This link opens in a new window
Provides data covering the private equity deals as well as information on thousands of private equity and venture capital deals, investors, funds, LPs, startup trends, and more. Pitchbook is helpful for future entrepreneurs who are looking to identify investors active in certain areas, and those who are seeking employment to explore the financial health of private companies. To access, provide your Baylor e-mail address and then login with your Bear ID/password.
- PrivCoDatabase of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
- Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowSelect the "U.S. Businesses" database to get started. On the quick search page, you can search by company name, executive name, city and state. By clicking on the "custom search" tab located at the top of the search box, you can select criteria such as business type, geography or business size to search by. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
- Standard & Poor's netadvantage This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to the S&P Industry Surveys (U.S.), reports (stock & bond), directories (corporations, Security Dealers of North America), registers (public companies, private companies, executives), Compustat Excel Analytics, Mutual Fund Screener, investment advisory services (The Outlook), Stovall Sector Watch, Credit Week Focus, and more publications from Standard and Poor's. Financial Education section provides sound information on becoming financially fit.
Database tips
This section contains helpful database tips to assist you in your research and in making appropriate database selections.
MergentOnline Go here to look for:
- Information on large companies
- Company annual reports
- Information on executives for a company
- Create comparison reports
- Information on a company's competitors
PrivCo Go here to look for:
- Information on U.S. private companies
- Information on major VC or PE firms
ReferenceUSA Go here to look for:
- Information on local business
- Information on businesses nationwide
Advertising
This resource provides information about advertising in various media. Information includes advertising rates and contact information for business and consumer periodicals, newspapers, radio stations and TV & cable stations.
- SRDS media solutions This link opens in a new windowIncludes detailed ad rates, dates, and contact data for more than 100 000 U.S. and international media entities. Media areas include the following publications: Business Media Advertising Source, Consumer Media Advertising Source, Direct Marketing List Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, Radio Advertising Source, Print Media Production Source, TV and Cable Source, and Out-of-home Advertising Source.
