Subject Guide
Company Information
Company websites can be excellent sources of information on your company in certain areas. Location, products and services, mission statements and SEC filings can be located on the company website. However, this should not be the sole source of information on your company. Coming straight from the company, this is biased information and does not present a complete picture of the company. Information from reputable resources can help build a complete picture.
Company Background
These resources are sources of basic information on companies such as company history, key competitors, and financial information.
- Mergent OnlineMergent Online is a corporate financial database that provides information on U.S. and international companies. In addition to complete company profiles, information includes comprehensive company research, including financial statement data (current and historical), annual reports, company histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, executive bios,and more.
- PrivCoDatabase of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
- Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowDirectory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising.
- Standard & Poor's netadvantage This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to major publications and company information from Standard and Poor's.
SEC Filings
SEC filings, in particular 10-K reports, can contain information on products, markets, R&D along with other important information on a company.
- Mergent onlineMergent online provides easy access to select current SEC filings. On the company profile page, the blue "Filings" tab, located below the company name, allows users to access SEC filings which are avialable through Mergent.
- SEC - Filings & FormsHere you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.
