Evidence Synthesis Support Team
Ken Carriveau
STEM Librarian
Christina Chan-Park
STEM Librarian
Amy James
Online Librarian for Education & Information Literacy
Jamie Quinn
Librarian for Louise Herrington School of Nursing
Librarian Support
- Appropriate for students and faculty
- One-hour consultation session
- Introduce evidence synthesis and the different types of reviews
- Discuss possible sources to search
- Assist in identifying key terms and concepts
- Advise on query construction
- Introduce useful tools
- Click here for an appointment
LIBRARIAN ACKNOWLEDGED IN THE FINAL PUBLICATION
- Appropriate for students or faculty
- 2-6 consulting sessions (# varies)
- Advise in selection of review type
- Advise and assist in source selection and key term compilation
- Advise and assist in search query construction
- Assist with citation tool set-up
- Assist with document acquisition
- Assist with identifying protocol registration options
- Click here for an appointment
LIBRARIAN IS A CO-AUTHOR
- Appropriate for faculty or occasionally students on a case by case basis
- Multiple interactions
- Advise and assist in research question development
- Assist in selection of review type
- Collaborate in source identification and selection
- Assist in the development and registration of the review protocol
- Design, test, and conduct searches
- Coordinate citation management, search documentation, and document retrieval
- Manage search results and data storage archiving
- Write methodology for final manuscript
- Construct funnel plot for manuscript
- Click here for an appointment
Training and Workshops
Systematic Review Training in Canvas
This self-paced course will guide you through the steps of conducting a systematic review. There are eight modules (45-90 minutes each) which can be taken in any order. A badge will be given to those who receive at least 80% on the assessments in the required modules. Format: lecture, active learning, directed learning; asynchronous
Upcoming workshops
Evidence synthesis projects require a significant time commitment and input from a team of experts to produce high-quality results. Baylor University librarians are ready, willing, and able to help as needed. Please read the Librarian Support information to review the three levels of offered support.
Resources
General Systematic Review Books
Doing a Systematic Review by
Written in a friendly, accessible style by an expert team of authors with years of experience in both conducting and supervising systematic reviews, this is the perfect guide to using systematic review methodology in a research project. It provides clear answers to all review-related questions, including: How do I formulate an appropriate review question? What's the best way to manage my review? How do I develop my search strategy? How do I get started with data extraction? How do I assess the quality of a study? How can I analyse and synthesize my data? How should I write up the discussion and conclusion sections of my dissertation or thesis?
Call Number: LB2369.D635 2017ISBN: 9781473967007Publication Date: 2017-11-23
Finding and Evaluating Evidence: systematic reviews and evidence-based practice by Call Number: Moody General Collection HV11 .B834 2012ISBN: 9780195337365Publication Date: 2011-09-22Evidence-based practice (EBP) promises to have a profound impact on social work practice, education, and scholarship, but adopting EBP depends on the availability and accessibility of evidence and on strategies to synthesize this information. Systematic reviews provide a comprehensive, unbiased method for retrieving and synthesizing relevant research. This pocket guide is a concise introduction that describes the steps required to complete a systematic review and the criteria that can be used to assess the quality of existing reviews.
The Integrative Research Review by
Every book, paper, or dissertation in the social sciences involves some element of literature review. This is the first book to systematize the practice of reviewing existing literature, and will thus be invaluable to everyone who writes in the social sciences. Those students who have some background in basic research methods and statistics will find that this book shows them how to produce a review that can be replicated, will achieve concensus, and focus debate in a constructive fashion.
Call Number: H62 .C5859 1984ISBN: 0803920628Publication Date: 1984-09-01
An Introduction to Systematic Reviews by
Focused on actively using systematic review as method, this book provides clear, step-by-step advice on the logic and processes of systematic reviewing. Stressing the importance of precision and accuracy, this new edition carefully balances a need for insightful theory with real-world pragmatism; it introduces a wide range of cutting-edge approaches to research synthesis including text mining, living reviews and new ideas in mixed methods reviews such as qualitative comparative analysis. The book also includes: A new chapter on statistical synthesis Coverage of computer-assisted methods and relevant software Expanded sections on data extraction and management A guide to working with many different types of data including longitudinal and panel. Packed with examples from across the social sciences, this book helps students and researchers alike in turning systematic reviews into recommendations for policy and practice.
Call Number: Q180.A1 G72 2017ISBN: 9781473929425Publication Date: 2017-05-05
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by
Showing you how to take a structured and organized approach to a wide range of literature review types, this book helps you to choose which approach is right for your research. Packed with constructive tools, examples, case studies and hands-on exercises, the book covers the full range of literature review techniques.New to This Edition: Full re-organization takes you step-by-step through the process from beginning to end New chapter showing you how to choose the right method for your project Practical guidance on integrating qualitative and quantitative data New coverage of rapid reviews Comprehensive inclusion of literature review tools, including concept analysis, scoping and mapping With an emphasis on the practical skills, this guide is essential for any student or researcher needing to get from first steps to a successful literature review.
Call Number: LB 1047.3.B66 2016ISBN: 9781473912458Publication Date: 2016-08-15
Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis by
When used in tandem, systematic reviews and meta-analysis-- two distinct but highly compatible approaches to research synthesis-- form a powerful, scientific approach to analyzing previous studies. But to see their full potential, a social work researcher must be versed in the foundationalprocesses underlying them. This pocket guide to Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis illuminates precisely that practical groundwork.In clear, step-by-step terms, the authors explain how to format topics, locate and screen studies, extract and assess data, pool effect sizes, determine bias, and interpret the results, showing readers how to combine reviewing and meta-analysis correctly and effectively. Each chapter containsvivid social work examples and concludes with a concise summary and notes on further reading, while the book's glossary and handy checklists and sample search and data extraction forms maximize the boo'ks usefulness.Highlighting the concepts necessary to understand, critique, and conduct research synthesis, this brief and highly readable introduction is a terrific resource for students and researchers alike.
Call Number: H62 .L497 2008ISBN: 9780195326543Publication Date: 2008-02-13
Systematic Synthesis of Qualitative Research by
Qualitative synthesis within the family of systematic reviews meets an urgent need to use knowledge derived from qualitative studies to inform practice, research, and policy. Despite the contingent nature of evidence gleaned from synthesis of qualitative studies, systematic synthesis is an important technique and, used judiciously, can deepen understanding of the contextual dimensions that emerge from qualitative research. This pocket guide presents an overview for planning, developing, and implementing qualitative synthesis within existing protocols and guidelines for conducting systematic reviews. The authors also explore methodological challenges, including: the philosophical tensions of integrating qualitative synthesis within the family of systematic reviews; the balance of comprehensive and iterative information retrieval strategies to locate and screen qualitative research; the use of appraisal tools to assess quality of qualitative studies; the various approaches to synthesize qualitative studies, including interpretive, integrated, and aggregative; and the tensions between the generalizability and transferability of findings that emerge from qualitative synthesis. Social work researchers, educators, and doctoral students who are interested in systematic reviews will find the step-by-step format of this book invaluable for conducting their reviews, both in the form of rapid evidence assessments and in high-quality critical reviews.
ISBN: 1283423650Publication Date: 2012-03-13- Updating systematic reviews byPublication Date: September 2007
Subject-Specific Systematic Review Books
- Application of systematic review methodology to the field of nutrition byPublication Date: 2009
Practitioner's Guide to Using Research for Evidence-Based Practice by
Written by a top scholar in the field, Practitioner's Guide to Using Research for Evidence-Based Practice gives essential and practical guidance on how to integrate research appraisal into evidence-based practice endeavors to ensure the best client care. This reader-friendly book presents you with the knowledge you need about various research designs and methods so that when engaging in the evidence-based practice (EBP) process, you can determine which interventions, programs, policies, and assessment tools are supported by the best evidence.
Call Number: RC337 .R73 2008ISBN: 9780470136652Publication Date: 2007-11-09
Systematic reviews for occupational safety and health questions : resources for evidence synthesis by ISBN: 0833096281Publication Date: 2016
Systematic Reviews in Educational Research by
In this open access edited volume, international researchers of the field describe and discuss the systematic review method in its application to research in education. Alongside fundamental methodical considerations, reflections and practice examples are included and provide an introduction and overview on systematic reviews in education research.
Call Number: 9783658276010ISBN: 9783658276010Publication Date: 2019-12-02
Systematic Reviews in Health Care by
The past two decades have seen increasing interest and developments in methods for doing high quality systematic reviews. This volume provides a clear introduction to the concepts of systematic reviews, and lucidly describes the difficulties and traps to avoid. A unique feature of the manual is its description of the different methods needed for different types of health care questions: frequency of disease, prognosis, diagnosis, risk, and management. This book also provides illustrative examples and exercises for each of the sections.
ISBN: 0511019211Publication Date: 2001
Systematic Reviews in the Social Sciences by
Such diverse thinkers as Lao-Tze, Confucius, and U.S. DefenseSecretary Donald Rumsfeld have all pointed out that we need to beable to tell the difference between real and assumed knowledge. Thesystematic review is a scientific tool that can help with thisdifficult task. It can help, for example, with appraising,summarising, and communicating the results and implications ofotherwise unmanageable quantities of data. This book, written by two highly-respected social scientists,provides an overview of systematic literature review methods: Outlining the rationale and methods of evidencesynthesis; Giving worked examples from social science and otherfields; Applying the practice to all social science disciplines; It requires no previous knowledge, but takes the reader throughthe process stage by stage; Drawing on examples from such diverse fields as psychology,criminology, education, transport, social welfare, public health,and housing and urban policy, among others. Including detailed sections on assessing the quality of bothquantitative, and qualitative research; searching for evidence inthe social sciences; meta-analytic and other methods of evidence synthesis; publicationbias; heterogeneity; and approaches to dissemination.
Call Number: H62 .P457 2006ISBN: 9781405121101Publication Date: 2005-12-16
- Baylor Graduate Writing Center Free resource for graduate student writers who desire to improve their writing skills. Consultants help with writing projects at all stages of the composition process - generating ideas, organizing, and revising - whether students are working on academic papers, reports, personal statements and applications, papers intended for publication, theses and dissertations, or grant proposals. The Graduate Writing Center is a partnership between the English Department and the Graduate School.
- Baylor LIbraries Data and Digital Scholarship Information Baylor Libraries' Data Scholar Program & Workshops, Data Research Fellows
- Baylor University's Statistics Consulting Services Baylor Statistical Collaboration Center seeks to enhance the quality of research involving statistical methods conducted at Baylor University and with external partners. Provides short-term statistical analysis, long-term collaborative research, and assistance in the preparation of research grant proposals
- The Campbell Collaboration The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network which publishes systematic reviews of social and economic interventions around the world.
- EQUATOR Network: Enhancing the QUAlity and Transparency Of health Research The Library contains a comprehensive searchable database of reporting guidelines and also links to other resources relevant to research reporting
- Systematic Approaches to a Succesful Literature Review Companion Website Exercises, Review Protocol Template, and Weblinks that accompany the book
- Covidence Data Extraction for Intervention Systematic Reviews This guide provides you with insights from the global systematic review community, including definitions, practical advice, links to the Cochrane Handbook, downloadable templates, and real-world examples.
- Cochrane Style Manual The Cochrane Style Manual helps review authors and people responsible for copy-editing to use a consistent style when copy-editing Cochrane Reviews and other documents produced by Cochrane.
- Methodological Expectations of Cochrane Intervention Reviews (MECIR) Manual Standards for the conduct and reporting of new Cochrane Intervention Reviews, reporting of protocols and the planning, conduct and reporting of updates
- GRADE Handbook The GRADE handbook describes the process of rating the quality of the best available evidence and developing health care recommendations following the approach proposed by the Grading of Recommendations, Assessment, Development and Evaluation (GRADE) Working Group (www.gradeworkinggroup.org).
- A-Z Databases List On this page, you can identify databases of interest by viewing a subject list, searching by name, or browsing by content type. The latter is especially useful for audio and video recordings. Click on a database name to connect to it. If you are not on the Baylor network, you will be prompted to log in with your Bear ID and password.
- Covidence This link opens in a new window Provides a platform for conducting evidence synthesis (systematic review) projects. Import citations, use machine learning to screen for randomized controlled trials, screen titles and abstracts, upload references, review full text, extract data, conduct risk of bias, and export data.To get full use of this product, you need a Baylor affiliated account. Go to here to sign up with your Baylor email.
- Google Forms can be used to collect data elements from each study
- MIAR Information Matrix for the Analysis of Journals MIAR collects data for the identification and the analysis of scientific journals. If you enter an ISSN in the search box, the system will check in which databases, those referred to in the matrix, the journal is indexed.
- Microsoft forms can be used to collect data elements from each study
- Baylor University HelpDesk+ | NVivo NVivo is a qualitative data analysis (QDA) computer software package produced by QSR International. It has been designed for qualitative researchers working with very rich text-based and/or multimedia information, where deep levels of analysis on small or large volumes of data are required. (Descriptions from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NVivo)
- OpenMeta[Analyst] Open Meta-Analyst is open-source software for performing meta-analyses of binary, continuous, or diagnostic data, using a variety fixed and random-effects methods, including Bayesian and maximum likelihood analysis. Open Meta-Analyst also enables you to do cumulative, leave-one-out, subgroup, and meta-regression analyses.
- PredicTER PredicTER is a decision-support tool for estimating the time requirements of a systematic review or systematic map. The tool was produced as part of a wider project aimed at examining methods used in recent systematic reviews and maps.
- Qualtrics can be used to collect data elements from each study
- Rayyan A free online tool from Qatar Computing Research Institute and Rayyan Systems that allows you to import lists of articles for tagging and selection.
- Systematic Review Toolbox The Systematic Review Toolbox is a community-driven, searchable, web-based catalogue of tools that support various tasks within the systematic review and wider evidence synthesis process. The toolbox aims to help researchers and reviewers find software tools, quality assessment / critical appraisal checklists, reporting standards, and guidelines
- Best Evidence Topics Critical Appraisal Worksheets Worksheets for Case-control, Cohort, Decision rule, Diagnosis, Economic, Educational intervention, Guideline, Prognosis, Qualitative, Randomized control trial, Review or meta-analysis, Screening, Survey
