Interactive Language & Media Center
Dictionaries
NTC's New Japanese and English Character Dictionary by Call Number: Jones Ref PL679 .N83x 1993ISBN: 0844284343Publication Date: 1994
The Oxford-Duden Pictorial English and Japanese Dictionary by Call Number: Jones Ref PL679.P29 1983ISBN: 0198641494Publication Date: 1983- Random House Japanese-English English-Japanese dictionary by Call Number: Jones Ref PL679 .N294 1995Publication Date: 1995
Grammars
The Oxford Japanese Grammar and Verbs by Call Number: Moody General Collection PL534 .B86x 2003ISBN: 0198603827Publication Date: 2003
Classical Japanese Reader and Essential Dictionary by Call Number: Moody General Coll OVZ PL537 .S555 2007ISBN: 9780231139908Publication Date: 2007
Newspapers
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowA sample of some of the Japanese Newspapers you can find in Library PressDisplay:
Mainichi Shimbun
Audio/Video
- ECISインターネット放送局This website has a collection of videos that you can watch in order to practice your listening skills. Levels are from intermediate to expert, so you can try to challenge yourself with higher levels after finishing the intermediate ones.
- NHK Radio NewsUpdated daily, on this page you can listen to the day's news in Japanese to practice your listening skills! In addition, you can first choose the speed that you'd like to hear the news spoken at (normal, slow, fast) to adapt to hearing spoken Japanese at various speeds.
Online Language Learning Resources
- Tae Kim's Guide to Learning JapaneseThis guide was created as a resource for those who want to learn Japanese grammar in a rational, intuitive way that makes sense in Japanese. The explanations are focused on how to make sense of the grammar not from English but from a Japanese point of view.
- SmartKanji.netThis site provides the translation of all words written in kanjis, found in a Japanese text, according to various dictionaries
- Nihongo o Narau: Learn JapaneseThis site is dedicated to teaching Japanese to speakers of English.
- Forvo.com - Japanese pronunciationOver 4500 speakers pronouncing over 30,000 Japanese words.
- NHK World: Japanese Lessonslessons from the Japan Broadcasting Corporation
- The Japanese Page - 100 Grammar PointsThis website has many basic Japanese grammar lessons, which you can use to study on your own. Lessons are arranged in a textbook-like format for easy reference.
- Visualizing Japanese GrammarVisualizing Japanese Grammar is a website that uses animated flash videos to explain basic to intermediate Japanese grammar. This website is helpful to those who are studying without an instructor, but it may even be useful to those studying with an instructor, especially students who need more visual aids in their studies.
- Renshuu.orgResource website for grammar, kanji, vocabulary, and more! Based mainly off JLPT and Kanji Kentei levels, but also includes various textbooks' materials. Quizzes are available and you can make an account to track your progress.
