Interactive Language & Media Center
Dictionaries
Collins Robert French Unabridged Dictionary by Call Number: Jones Ref PC2640 .C69 2006ISBN: 9780061338175Publication Date: 2007
Larousse College Dictionary by Call Number: Jones Ref PC2640 .D444 2005ISBN: 2035421403Publication Date: 2005
Larousse Advanced Dictionary by Call Number: Jones Ref PC2640 .G68 2003ISBN: 2035420504Publication Date: 2003
Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary by Call Number: Jones Ref PC2640 .O94x 2007ISBN: 9780198614227Publication Date: 2007
Royal dictionary, English and French and French and English by Call Number: Jones Ref PC2640 .F6 1841 v.1-2Publication Date: 1841
Grammars
Colloquial French Grammar by Call Number: Jones Ref PC2112 .B25 2000ISBN: 0631218823Publication Date: 2000
French Grammar by Call Number: Moody General Collection PC2129.E5 R68 1991ISBN: 0192828940Publication Date: 1994
Sans Detour by Call Number: Moody General Collection PC2112 .G27 2000ISBN: 0130220558Publication Date: 1999
A Reference Grammar of French by Call Number: Moody General Collection PC2111 .B35793 2011ISBN: 9780521196734Publication Date: 2011
Newspapers
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowA sample of some of the French Newspapers you can find in Library PressDisplay:
Le Figaro
Le Monde
Le Parisien (Paris and other regions)
For more options, click the Languages tab and select French.
Audio/Video
- Forvo.com - French PronunciationOver 13,000 native speakers pronouncing over 73,000 words in French. (Audio clips)
Online Language Learning Resources
- Tex's French GrammarInteractive grammar reference from UT.
- French Grammar CentralWith nearly 580 links, this resource is ample material for courses on an advanced college level, and would be particularly good for those studying for exit exams, where a thorough knowledge of structure is required. It contains grammar guidance, with thousands of verb conjugations, research and hundreds of activities.
- Acquiring French VocabularyThe following list of over 100 vocabulary links includes pages focusing on vocabulary acquisition and pointers to those whose focused topic is favorable to contextualized learning. We have linked in the most extensive online multi-dictionary resource in the world, Leximagne, as well as chapters on lexicography and semantics from a French linguistics book. Of course, at a certain point, the very best vocabulary builder, is real reading in the topic whose vocabulary you wish to acquire.
- LanguageGuide.org - FrenchVocabulary, Grammar and Readings.
- Le ConjugueurStudents can enter a verb form or an infinitive to see how it is conjugated in the various tenses. The software can be downloaded and used offline.
