Based on American rather than British English, this is among the first Russian dictionaries revised for the post-Soviet era. Includes new political terminology, new Russian institutions, new countries and republics and new city names. Contains 26,000 entries in the English-Russian section and 40,000 words in the Russian-English section. Irregularities in Russian declensions and conjugations appear at the beginning of each entry.
This, the fourth edition of the Oxford Russian Dictionary, is an invaluable text for any serious student of Russian, or any Russian native speaker learning English.This edition also contains many enhancements, including new supplementary material with a correspondence section, grammar help, and extra sections on the pronunciation of Russian and English.The text has also been updated with hundreds of new words - in both the English and Russian sides of the dictionary - especially important given changes in language and culture over the last few years. These new words mean that the Oxford Russian Dictionary continues to be the leader in its field asthe most comprehensive Russian dictionary available.The dictionary is also more accessible for Russian speakers, with the addition of contextualizations on the Russian-English side to help users select the most appropriate translation. There is an extensive guide to English grammar, written in Russian, and the Russian native speaker who wishes to useor understand American English is well catered for.
Call Number: Moody General Collection PG2112 .D86 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-16
Modern Russian Grammar: A Practical Guide is an innovative reference guide to Russian, combining traditional and function-based grammar in a single volume. The Grammar is divided into two parts. Part A covers traditional grammatical categories such as agreement, nouns, verbs and adjectives. Part B is carefully organized around language functions covering all major communication situations.nbsp; With a strong emphasis on contemporary usage, all grammar points and functions are richly illustrated with examples. Main features of the Grammar include: clear explanations emphasis on areas of particular difficulty for learners of Russian, such as numerals and verbs of motion extensive cross-referencing between the different sections. This is the ideal reference grammar for learners of Russian at all levels, from beginner to advanced. No prior knowledge of grammatical terminology is assumed and a glossary of grammatical terms is provided.
This brand-new grammar provides clear and simple explanations of today's written and spoken Russian. Comprehensive and easy to use, with coverage of all the key points of Russian grammar, it is the ideal reference tool for beginner and intermediate students, whether at school, college, orlearning on their own. Thousands of examples in an instantly accessible layout show how the language works. The verb tables are clear and easy-to-use and all grammatical terms are explained in a glossary.
Call Number: Moody General Collection PG2361 .O37 1996
Publication Date: 1996-11-21
This is a guide to Russian usage for those who have already acquired the basics of the language and wish to extend their knowledge. Unlike conventional grammars, it gives special attention to those areas of vocabulary and grammar which cause most difficulty to English speakers, and focuses on questions of style and register which are all too often ignored. Clear, readable, and easy to consult, it will prove invaluable to those seeking to improve their fluency and confidence in Russian.
Russnet, the Russian Language Network, is a Russian-Language field resource center. Russnet provides Russian-language learning services and products - information, language modules, courses, materials, in-service teacher training, databases, discussion forums, and gateways to other Russian language resources.