Sources in Print
Patrologiae cursus completus: Series Graeca. Omnium SS. patrum, doctorum, scriptorumque, ecclesiasticorum by The Patrologia Latina is a collection of the writings of the Church Fathers and other writers, published by Jacques-Paul Migne. It contains works spanning from Clement of Rome (d. 99) to Andronicus Callistus (d. 1476), in roughly chronological order. Though the editions are not modern critical editions, it includes many works not available elsewhere and is still a useful and widely used resource.
Patrologiae cursus completus: Series Latina. Omnium SS. patrum, doctorum, scriptorumque ecclesiasticorum. by The Patrologia Latina is a collection of the writings of the Church Fathers and other ecclesiastical writers, published by Jacques-Paul Migne. It contains works spanning from Tertullian (d. 230) to Pope Innocent III (d. 1216), in roughly chronological order. Though the editions are not modern critical editions, it includes many works not available elsewhere and is still a useful and widely used resource.
Woman's Songs in Ancient Greece by ISBN: 9780773534490Publication Date: 2008-12-15By considering women's voices in performance, Anne Klinck provides a new perspective on women's "writing." She shows that our understanding of femininity in ancient Greece can be expanded by going beyond poetry composed by women poets like Sappho to explore girls' and women's choral songs from the archaic period, songs for female choruses and characters in tragedy, and lyrical representations of women's rituals and cults.Through a balanced discussion of poetry as performance, relevant kinds and genres of poetry, the definition and scope of "woman's song" as a mode, partheneia (maidens' songs) and the girls' chorus, lyric in the drama, echoes and imitations of archaic woman's song in Hellenistic poetry, and inferences about the differences between male and female authors, Klinck demonstrates that woman's song is ultimately best understood as the product of a male-dominated culture but that feminine stereotypes, while refined by skilful male poets, are interrogated and shifted by female poets.Arranged in more-or-less chronological order, the chapters contain three sections: an introduction to the author(s), poems or passages in the original Greek accompanied by line-for-line translations in free verse, and notes elucidating the text, its provenance, allusions, and textual difficulties. Beginning with Alcman, going on to Sappho, Corinna, Pindar, other lyric poets, lyric in the drama, and then the Hellenistic poets Nossis, Theocritus, and Bion, Woman's Songs in Ancient Greece traces the evolution of female-voice lyric from 600 to 100 BCE.
Texts of Greek and Latin authors on the Far East from the 4th c. B.C.E. to the 13th c. C.E. by ISBN: 9782503533667This volume comprises a unique collection of Greek and Latin texts containing references to the Far East. Compiled by George Coedes (1886-1969) and published by him in 1910, these well-selected writings have waited until now for an English translation. The texts range from 'Ctesias' in the Fourth Century BCE to Byzantine writers of the 14th Century CE like Nicephorus Gregoras. There are allusions in literary works, both prose and verse, as well as extracts from geographers and historians, some tangential, others giving in-depth descriptions. Even when these are based on second or third hand information they are the basis for any study of the Far East seen through Western eyes. Coedes collected his information very thoroughly and his presentation of the material betokens a sound grasp of all the highly diverse though related literature. The Greek and Latin texts in this volume have been translated direct from the original languages by John Sheldon with an introductory essay by Sam Lieu as well as a translation by Greg Fox of the original preface and introduction by George Coedes.
Texts with Commentary
Cicero : pro P. Svlla oratio by ISBN: 0521481740In 62 BC, the year after his suppression of Catiline, Cicero delivered Pro Sulla, a successful defence of P. Cornelius Sulla, the nephew of the dictator, on a charge of participation in the Catilinarian conspiracy. This edition, which contains a new text together with introduction, commentary and appendices, is the first full-scale scholarly treatment of the speech. The text takes account of Gulielmius' reports of the missing portion of the Erfurtensis manuscript, recovered by Dr Berry and published as a preliminary to this edition in 1989; a complete collation is provided of this and the other principal manuscripts. The introduction includes a reassessment of Sulla's guilt and Cicero's undertaking of the case, and also considers issues such as the prose rhythm of the speech and its publication. The commentary discusses history, text and syntax as well as rhetoric and style.
In the list below are some titles from the series: Cambridge classical texts and commentaries and BCP classic commentaries on Latin and Greek texts . To search the online catalog for other volumes in these series, perform a title search for the series title in BearCat Classic. http://bearcat.baylor.edu/ For texts and commentary on Plato and Aristotle, see also the series, Philosophy of Plato and Aristotle.
De oratore I-III / Cicero by ISBN: 1853996319Of all the philosophical and rhetorical treatises of Cicero, his three books "On the Orator" (de Oratore) represent perhaps the most polished and appealing. Here is Rome's consummate orator and composer of forensic and political speeches, at the height of his powers, giving the considered results of his personal experience - not the dry theorising and bickering of different schools of declamation - in a way which continually keeps in view the practical needs of one who wishes to play the part of a true Roman citizen in the contests of the popular assemblies and the law-courts. (
Sophocles : plays, Philoctetes by ISBN: 1853996416This is one of the seven plays of Sophocles in the full editions by R.C. Jebb, all of which will be reissued under the BCP imprint. They have occasionally been reprinted but never before in affordable paperback versions. In this set, each volume contains a foreword by P.E. Easterling, concerned with Jebb and his contribution to Sophoclean scholarship; there follows an introduction by a noted Sophoclean scholar dealing with Jebb's treatment of the individual play and its value for - and contrast with - subsequent interpretations, for which a select bibliography is included.
Plutarch : Alexander by ISBN: 1853995746Based on Ziegler's revised text, this book provides a commentary on Plutarch's "Life of Alexander". It devotes most of its space to historical matters, comparing Plutarch's narrative at every point with the sources. In addition, it adds a fresh introduction and select bibliographies on Plutarch and on Alexander himself.
Greek philosophy : a collection of texts / selected and supplied with some notes and explanations. by v. 1. Thales to Plato. 2d ed.--v. 2. Aristotle, the early Peripatetic school and the early Academy.--v. 3. The Hellenistic-Roman period.
Online Sources
- Classical Latin TextsA Resource Prepared by the Packard Humanities Institute. Searchable full text of all the major Latin authors.
- Library of Latin texts. Series A This link opens in a new windowThe Library of Latin Texts – Series A contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas (1501 to 1965). The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux, and Thomas a Kempis can thus be consulted. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions. Searchable by period, author, title, century, and Clavis (CPL). Using any of the preceding will produce a list of options from which to choose. The choices work together--for example if Plautus is chosen under Author, the options under Title will be works by Plautus. Offers “live links” which enable the user to select a word found in a text of LLT-A or LLT-B and automatically find entries of the word in the constituent dictionaries of the Database of Latin Dictionaries (DLD).;Primarily designed for finding Latin word forms within the works in this collection. Each search-query shows the results in the context of a sentence, but from here the user can consult the whole text of the work. Texts can also be accessed through an index of author and work references.;Each work that is incorporated has been the subject of a historical and literary-critical examination by the Centre Traditio Litterarum Occidentalium (or its predecessor, Cetedoc) and is accompanied by a didactical "memento" (Background on the text) which supplies chronological, bibliographical, critical and statistical information. All relevant Clavis Patrum Latinorum entries have been fully integrated.
- Library of Latin texts. Series B This link opens in a new windowThe Library of Latin Texts – Series B serves as a supplement to LLT-A. Offers the same research possibilities and functionalities as the LLT-A, gathering Latin texts of all, genres, and, all, periods. The, data, are, therefore, very, diverse, and include genres as varied as chronicles, medieval saints’ lives and travel narratives, legal texts, and theological, philosophical, and, scientific, treatises, from, the, early-modern, period. However, the, emphasis in Series B is, on, the, online availability of large corpora of texts. Offers “live links” which enable the user to select a word found in a text of LLT-A or LLT-B and automatically find entries of the word in the constituent dictionaries of the Database of Latin Dictionaries (DLD).
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new windowInterconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, and oratory, the great medical writers and mathematicians, those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture—in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
- Thesaurus linguae Graecae This link opens in a new windowIncludes most literary Greek texts from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. The goal is a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present. Not included are non-literary texts, such as personal letters, commercial texts, and inscriptions. NOTE: To search using Greek characters, an appropriate Greek font must be installed on your computer. Search may be performed in the entire TLG corpus or in a group of authors or works. The canon is searchable by author, work, publication, or keyword. Simple and advanced text searches are available as well as lemma and advanced lemma searches. A Lemmatized Search allows the user to enter a lemma, i.e. the dictionary form of a word, and retrieve all inflected forms linked to this lemma and present in the TLG corpus. “Note: TLG now requires that all users create a user profile, with a user name and password to be used to access the site.”
- Thesaurus linguae Latinae This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, ongoing scholarly dictionary of ancient Latin from the earliest times through AD 600. A digital online version of Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) which is considered the largest Latin dictionary in the world, covering words from all extant Latin texts from antiquity to approximately 600 A.D. Includes the etymology of each Latin word and its development in the romance languages. This is a work in progress with a completion date projected to be 2050. Scholarly societies from 23 countries support the work of the Bayerische Akademie.
- Searchable Greek inscriptions : a scholarly tool in progress This link opens in a new windowContains Greek inscriptions from Greece including Crete, Cyprus, Thrace, the north coast of the Black Sea, Syria, Egypt, North Africa, Germany, and unknown provenances organized by period and corpora. Browse by geographic area or use the search boxes at the bottom of the page to search for words and phrases including all regions or limiting to one region. Open the help screen to see the unusual symbols that are supported to complete Boolean searching. Searchable in Greek or Roman characters. Packard Humanities Institute.
- Novus linguae et eruditionis Romanae thesaurus This link opens in a new windowConsists of a classical lexicon of the Latin language by Johann Matthias Gesner (1691-1761). The enormous bulk of examples is taken from Latin authors, accurately interpreted by one of the greatest classical philologists of all times. In this work. Gesner, librarian and professor of rhetoric at the Gottingen university, increased, with his many additions and alphabetical arrangements, the value of the classical work, first published in 1531 as the "Thesaurus Linguae Latinae.
- Patrologia Latina database This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to the electronic version of the Latin portion of the Patrologiae Cursus Completus, published by 19th century ecclesiastical publisher Jacques-Paul Migne.
- Patrologiae Graecae This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the printed works of Greek Christian writers down to the Council of Florence (1438-39).
- Perseus under PhiloLogic This link opens in a new windowOffers the Greek and Roman Collection from the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University. Includes Greek texts (8 million words), Latin texts (5.5 million words), English language dictionaries, other reference works, translations, and commentaries. Supported by PhiloLogic, provides a more intricate way of browsing and searching these materials.
- Cambridge companions to literature and classics This link opens in a new window
Provides access to e-books in the Cambridge Companion series for literature and classical authors. The essays are written by scholars in that field and provide background information and an analysis of the topic selected, offering a good starting point for research.
