It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides research tools for the cultural, historical, and linguistic study of the Greco-Roman world.
Brill s New Pauly is the first lexicographic project that both differentiates between Greco-Roman antiquity itself and its subsequent images, and demonstrates the close connection between antiquity and its aftermath. Volumes 1 to 15 (Antiquity) are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity. Volumes I to V (Classical Tradition) are uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of the classical heritage. Index Antiquity relates to the 15 volumes of Brill s New Pauly that deal with Antiquity. Index The Classical Tradition, relates to the 5 volumes of Brill s New Pauly that deal with the Classical Tradition.
The Cambridge Guide to Classical Civilization provides an authoritative survey of the classical world, combining the traditional strengths of classical subjects with new approaches examining the social and cultural features of the ancient Greek and Roman world. Ranging in time from post-Bronze Age Greece to the later Roman Empire, it looks not only at ancient Greece and Rome, but discusses those cultures with which Greeks and Romans exchanged information and culture (e.g. Phoenicians, Celts and Jews) and those remote peoples with whom they were in contact (e.g. Persia, China and India). It paints a vivid new picture of ancient life, exploring material realities such as dress and technology. It emphasises the transmission of classical learning and explores our debts to Greece and Rome. Highly-illustrated, with hundreds of entries by leading scholars, this Guide is a superb reference work and definitive companion for anyone with an interest in the ancient world.
For almost half a century, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been regarded as the unrivalled one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. As an authoritative reference to all there is to know about the ancients, the third edition of the Dictionary, published in 1996, has firmly maintained that position, taking into account the huge expansion in the scholarship and scope of classical studies. The value of the Dictionary in terms of factual detail is immense. It provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. In over 6,200 entries written by the very best of classical scholars from allover the world the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies, and late antiquity. The approach is interdisciplinary: all areas, regions, and cultures are represented beyond the core areas of Greece and Rome. As well as providing factual information, the Dictionary contains many thematic entries, on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, and ecology. The text is written in an accessible style, and all Latin and Greek words have been translated.
Originally published by Hamlyn in London in 1978 under the title A Dictionary of Greek and Roman Mythology, this A-to-Z dictionary of mythology attempts to serve two purposes for a popular audience. First, it identifies the gods, goddesses, and heroes of classical mythology. Second, it summarizes the principal works that have transmitted those myths from ancient Hellas to the present Homer's epics, the Argonautica, the Aeneid, and the major plays of the Athenian tragedians. In addition to the entries on these works, articles summarize what is known about their authors.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome is the clearest and most accessible guide to the world of classical antiquity ever produced. This multivolume reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. The Encyclopedia brings the work of the best classical scholars, archaeologists, and historians together in an easy-to-use format. The articles, written by leading scholars in the field, seek to convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture. Broad overviews of literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion are complimented by articles on authors and their works, literary genres and periods, historical figures and events, archaeologists and archaeological sites, artists and artistic themes and materials, philosophers and philosophical schools, scientists and scientific areas, gods, heroes, and myths. Areas covered include:* Greek and Latin Literature* Authors and Their Works* Historical Figures and Events* Religion and Mythology* Art, Artists, Artistic Themes, and Materials* Archaeology, Philosophers, and Philosophical Schools* Science and Technology* Politics, Economics, and Society* Material Culture and Everyday Life
The Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts gives a clear overview of authors and Major Works of Greek and Latin literature, and their history in written tradition, from Late Antiquity until present: papyri, manuscripts, Scholia, early and contemporary authoritative editions, translations and comments.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and other Reference Works Online
Provides online, searchable access to the well-known Cambridge History series, specifically the Ancient & Classical periods.
This History series provides excellent essays on all aspects of history from classical to medieval to modern, including histories of science, religion, language, economics, the book, publishing, theater, literature, warfare, music, philosophy, politics, and regional studies. Scholarly, authoritative, includes bibliographies for further study. Cambridge University Press.
Provides online access to the multivolume encyclopedia of antiquity, providing comprehensive coverage of the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE). A special section of the encyclopedia is devoted to the history of ancient world awareness and scholarship through later ages up to the present day. German versions. The revision of the original German edition Paulys Real-Encyclopadie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft, which is intended as an aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history. Searchable by full text, title/heading, author, and bibliography.
Offers the Greek and Roman Collection from the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University. Includes Greek texts (8 million words), Latin texts (5.5 million words), English language dictionaries, other reference works, translations, and commentaries. Supported by PhiloLogic, provides a more intricate way of browsing and searching these materials.
Helpful resources to look for within Perseus include: The Perseus Encyclopedia, Harper's Dictionary of Classical Antiquities, Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites, Smith's Dictionary of Greek and Roman Antiquities, and Smith's Dictionary of Greek and Roman Geography.