Consumers

Datasets

The following resources are sources for datasets. Information covers demographics, consumer preferences and economic conditions.

Data-planet
Data-planet provides statistical data from U.S. government publications, state and private sources, and international organizations. Conduct search by keyword(s) and limit results by publishing organization, geographic region, local area, or broad subject. Data may be further restricted by demographic features (age, marital status, industry, etc.).

How to Use Data-Planet
This guide will take you through finding a datafile on Data-Planet.

PolicyMap
Provides demographic, education, health, geographic data and more. Offers the user the capability of presenting the data visually through maps, tables, and reports. This resource is geared toward non-GIS experts who want to analyze large amounts of data

SimplyAnalytics
Enables users to create thematic maps, charts and reports using over 90,000 demographic, business, marketing and health data variables. In addition to the Census, Consumer Expenditures (CEX), ZIP Code & County Business Patterns survey, the database includes value-added content from Claritas PRIZM segmentation, health care utilization data and consumer behavior data from Mediamark Research (MRI), Simmons Market Research and Nielsen Scarborough. Data can be downloaded to Excel and GIS software and is available down to the Census Block Group level. 3 concurrent users at a time are allowed. Create an account to save work, or log in as a guest. Please remember to log out when done.

When looking for information on consumer attitudes and habits, one of the resources below can be very helpful. These contain information on consumer trends and habits as well as trends for countries other than the United States.

eMarketer PRO
eMarketer provides updated market data, statistics and analysis on the Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies. Global in scope, eMarketer is helpful for understanding the growth and impact of the Internet, and enables students and faculty to stay abreast of new trends, such as social networking and mobile marketing.
Mintel reports
Offers research reports covering European, UK-specific, and US consumer markets. Reports analyze market drivers, size and trends, market segmentation along with consumer sentiment and buying habits. Reports are supplemented with brief digests of relevant recent events, UK and US demographic and economic statistics, and useful lists. Use "Advanced Search" option at the top of the page to enter search terms and select regions for reports. For the first time user, registration is required. Returning users log in with user name and password.

You will need to set up a profile with this resource if it is the first time you use it.
Passport GMID
Contains millions of demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for countries worldwide. This resource also contains several years of historic market size data for many consumer products in multiple countries in addition to 5 year forecasts for many items. Company information includes marketshare and brandshare information. Reports and news items cover current consumer topics. Euromonitor.
SMA : sports market analytics
Provides searchable news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources on all aspects of sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, broadcasting, and marketing. Covers not only big sports such as baseball, football, basketball but also inline skating, lacrosse, martial arts, skateboarding, and more. Also, contains content from Sports Fan Market 2010.

MKT 3330 - Marketing Research: Consumers - Electronic Resources

Datasets

Consumers

University Libraries