Guides: MKT 3330: Marketing Research: Resources for Company & Industry information

Companies and Industries

The databases that you will find below are helpful for researching specific companies and industries.

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Provides market research reports and forecasts in 25 distinct verticals and provides more information through partnerships with other market research providers.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Provides company profiles, news, business and trade articles, research reports, executive profiles, and industry intelligence.
Note: Limited to 25 simultaneous users; please logout when done.

IBISWorld
Business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and business environment. Reports also available for China.
Mergent online
Mergent Online is a corporate financial database that provides information on U.S. and international companies. In addition to complete company profiles, information includes comprehensive company research, including financial statement data (current and historical), annual reports, company histories, industry reports, subsidiaries, joint ventures, executive bios,and more.
PrivCo
Database of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.

Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above.
Standard & Poor's netadvantage This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to major publications and company information from Standard and Poor's.

Articles

The following databases can be used to locate articles on many marketing-related topics.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business; marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data,case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the Financial Times newspaper.

NOTE: Sign in with Baylor email, no account required.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to resources for researching news, business, industry, and legal topics.
ProQuest. Wall Street journal This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to articles in the Wall Street Journal from 1986 to date. Also included is citation-level indexing to articles from 1889 to 1986 (Deep Back File).
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Provides business information from scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the digital Wall Street Journal (wsj.com), covering a variety of topics including breaking news articles; videos; podcasts; etc.
Note: See More Info for login information.
Note: On initial setup, the Wall Street Journal site will ask you to create an account using your Baylor email address and then ask a number of additional configuration questions, which is a one-time set-up process. Once you initialize your account using this process, you can login to the digital Wall Street Journal with your Baylor e-mail address and the password you established or download the Wall Street Journal app and use your Baylor email address and the password you established to log into the app. Use this link for your initial set up.
If you have any problems accessing your Wall Street Journal account:
- Periodically, you may need to refresh your account with the Wall Street Journal, which means you will have to go through the initial activation process again. If you have problems with this activation, send an e-mail message to academicsupport@dowjones.com.
- For students, when you initially set up your account, you provide a graduation date. If it turns out you continue at the university after that graduation date, you will need to send an e-mail message to the Wall Street Journal and provide a new graduation date. Send the e-mail message to academicsupport@dowjones.com.

MKT 3330: Marketing Research

Companies and Industries

Articles

University Libraries