It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MKT 3330: Marketing Research
This guide will direct users towards resources that will prove useful in conducting research in the MKT 3330 Marketing Research class.
This service offers separate directories giving advertising rates, specifications, and circulation for publications, broadcast stations, and other advertising forums. Rates for paper publications are found in the record for that publication. CPP data may be found by forst selecting TV/Cable TV or Radio, then clicking on the link for the SQAD spot Cost-per-Point reports located in the center of the page
Information comes from the following publications:Business Publications Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Direct Marketing Project List Source; Interactive Advertising Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Advertising Source; Print Media Production Source; SRDS Media Planning System; TV and Cable Advertising Source; and several International Media Guides.
Consists of two parts: The Agency Database and the Advertiser Database. The Agency Database contains detailed profiles of nearly 14 000 U.S. and international advertising agencies. Information contains accounts represented by each agency, fields of specialization, breakdown of gross billings by media, contact information and personnel. The Advertiser Database contains exclusive information on over 18 000 U.S. and international advertisers who spend more than $200 000 annually in advertising. Each listing contains advertising expenditures by media, current agency, brand name info, and contact information for key personnel. Lexis Nexis.
Companies and Industries
The databases that you will find below are helpful for researching specific companies and industries.
Provides market research reports and forecasts in 25 distinct verticals and provides more information through partnerships with other market research providers, covering the life sciences; sensors; materials; environment and sustainability; commerce; and publishers.
Provides company profiles, news, business and trade articles, research reports, executive profiles, industry intelligence and financial data on businesses. Allows users to build targeted company lists, identify business contacts and monitor business events. Note: Limited to 25 simultaneous users; please logout when done.
Mergent Online is a corporate financial database that provides information on U.S. and international companies. In addition to complete company profiles, information includes comprehensive company research, including financial statement data (current and historical), annual reports, company histories, industry reports, subsidiaries, joint ventures, executive bios,and more.
Database of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
Provides online access to the S&P Industry Surveys (U.S.), reports (stock & bond), directories (corporations, Security Dealers of North America), registers (public companies, private companies, executives), Compustat Excel Analytics, Mutual Fund Screener, investment advisory services (The Outlook), Stovall Sector Watch, Credit Week Focus, and more publications from Standard and Poor's. Financial Education section provides sound information on becoming financially fit.
The following databases can be used to locate articles on many marketing-related topics.
Provides access to full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business; marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data,case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses.
Factiva.com, from Dow Jones, provides access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events – especially regarding current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.
Provides access to resources for researching news, business, industry, and legal topics. Default search is for news, but you may choose to search news, legal cases, law reviews, company information, or a publication by clicking the named button. The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10- K's, 10-Q's, and their exhibits. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. Narrow search by several options including subject, timeline, and source among others. Option to use "Get a Doc Assistance" to walk thorugh searching for legal cases or legislation.
Offers full-text access to articles in the Wall Street Journal from 1986 to date. Also included is indexing to articles from 1889 to 1986 (Deep Back File), but the full text of most of these articles is not available through this resource. ProQuest.
Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning and acquire the research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers, ProQuest One Business is a complete business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. This resource combines multiple business information databases which are within the ProQuest ABI/Inform Collection such as Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection, Asian & European Business Collection, Entrepreneurship Database, and J.P. Morgan Research. Replaces ABI/INFORM..
Provides access to the digital Wall Street Journal (wsj.com), covering a variety of topics with quality and depth including breaking news articles; videos; podcasts; etc. Note: On initial setup, the Wall Street Journal site will ask you to create an account using your Baylor email address and then ask a number of additional configuration questions, which is a one-time set-up process. Once you initialize your account using this process, you can login to the digital Wall Street Journal with your Baylor e-mail address and the password you established or download the Wall Street Journal app and use your Baylor email address and the password you established to log into the app. Use this link for your initial set up.
If you have any problems accessing your Wall Street Journal account:
Periodically, you may need to refresh your account with the Wall Street Journal, which means you will have to go through the initial activation process again. If you have problems with this activation, send an e-mail message to firstname.lastname@example.org.
For students, when you initially set up your account, you provide a graduation date. If it turns out you continue at the university after that graduation date, you will need to send an e-mail message to the Wall Street Journal and provide a new graduation date. Send the e-mail message to email@example.com.