Guides: Medical Humanities: Medical Humanities Research

Databases

Medical Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Contains material not yet indexed in Medline.
Uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities.
To make an account/login, select More Login Options and then choose Baylor University
MEDLINE (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
Uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities.
Included in many other databases, most notably PubMed.
CINAHL with full text This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic data and some full text for scholarly literature in nursing and allied health professions.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographical information for scholarly material in biomedical and pharmacological sciences.
Cochrane library This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Cochrane Database of Systemtic Reviews (CDSR) contains both systematic reviews articles and protocols for the health sciences.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) contains bibliographic reports for randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials.
Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provides questions, short answers, and outcome data based from Cochrane Reviews for clinical decision making.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature on sports and sports medicine.

Philosophy, Religion, and Ethics Databases

ATLA religion database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Indexes comprehensively scholarly and non-scholarly journals in religion and theology.
Philosopher's index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews published worldwide since 1940. For access to the scholarly journal literature of Philosophy, this index is the most important available.

Psychology, Sociology, or Social Work Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology, behavioral science, and mental health.
Sociological abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Social work abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues, and problems.

Literature and Humanities Databases

MLA international bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides a subject, author, and title index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Humanities source This link opens in a new window
Indexes the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities covering literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
Humanities full text This link opens in a new window
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
***Baylor is trialing Scopus AI add-on for the month of October *** Provides citations and abstracts of scholarly works in 240 disciplines from over 7000 publishers. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
Web of science. Core collection This link opens in a new window
***Baylor is trialing the WoS Research Assistant add-on for the month of October*** Provides citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed works in 254 disciplines. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is a discovery tool that provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including:
- traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.);
- the Baylor Digital Collections;
- BEARdocs, (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.);
- research guides;
- and -- most importantly, much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.