It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Includes some full-text articles. Coverage generally from 1946 to present with some older material. Covers life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering including aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities. Search keyword, author, title, etc. Limitable by sex, age, clinical queries, subject subset, publication type, etc. EBSCOhost.
Provides access to citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some links to full-text content. Some coverage back to 1809. Covers chemicals and bioassays, DNA and RNA, data and software, domains and structures, genes and expression, genetics and medicine, genomes and maps, homology, literature, proteins, sequence analysis, taxonomy, training and tutorials, and variation. Searchable by author, date, grant number journal, MeSH variables, EC/RN number, etc. Limitable by type of article species, subsets, language, sex, age, etc. PubMed is part of the larger NCBI website. Customizable personal accounts available.
Provides bibliographic data and some full text from literature in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) from 1981 to the present. Provides indexing for 1 835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable using author, keyword, title, MedLine PMID, etc. Limitable by clinical queries, journal subset, special interest, age groups, language, etc. Automatically defaults to suggest subject terms. EBSCOhost.
Provides information on journal articles and reports covering nursing and allied healthcare intended primarily for academic researchers, beginning from 1980. Useful for vocational/licensed practical nurses (LPN), registered nurses (RN), occupational health nurses, nurse practitioners, nurse midwives, nurse anesthetists, and clinical nurse specialists. Search by keyword, author, publisher, etc. Limit by document type, year, etc. Browse by subject or publication. This collection is part of the larger Academic OneFile database. Gale Cengage.
Covers proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, unique applications for specific sports (everything from baseball and bowling to tennis and yachting) and more. This collection is part of the larger Academic OneFile database. Searchable by keyword, entire document, subjects, abstracts, author, brand name, company name, person name, place name, document title, etc. Contains articles in magazines, journals, news sources, and books. Coverage: 1980 to present day. Gale Cengage.
Provides citation and some full text of journal articles focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1 300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4 700 brand names. Searchable by keyword, author, title, etc. EBSCOhost.
Provides an index with abstracts for many of the entries, for the full range of sport information. Includes physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law and legislation, disabled athletes, sports facility design and management, intramural and school sports, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, and occupational health and therapy. Includes journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, and conference proceedings. Many of the most important journals are included with full text (which began in 1985) and without an embargo on the full text. Index entries begin with a few titles in the 1600's. International in coverage with articles and their abstracts appearing in English, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish. EBSCOhost.
A public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene and more. Contains records dating back to 1973.
Provides full-text access to Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE or Other Reviews), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL or Clinical Trials), Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA or Technology Assessments), and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED or Economic Evaluations). Information helpful for health care decision making. Searchable by title, author, abstract, keyword, DOI, etc. Browsable by Topic, New Reviews, Updated Reviews, A-Z, and Review Group. Databases updated monthly or quarterly. Uses Wiley online interface.
Embase covers the biomedical and pharmacological literature. It is particularly strong in European and international literature. It has 30 million+ records from 8 500+ currently published journals. Embase includes six million+ records and 2 700+ journals that are not covered by MEDLINE.
Provides access to full text for peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. The majority of full-text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. Searchable by keyword, author, title, etc. EBSCOhost.
Comprises an index of " journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audiovisuals, and news relating to bioethics and professional ethics." (Publisher's website). Maintained by the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Georgetown University, this resource has very limited full text accessibility (for non-Georgetown University users). Good source for citations to research literature of bioethics and professional ethics. But in most cases, accessing the text will require consulting other resources. Results processing options are limited, either save all results from search or print all results...no email option is available. The save results option is difficult to use. Despite its quirks, however, researchers requiring comprehensive bibliographies of research literature for work in the areas of professional and bioethics will want to consult this resource. Began in the 1970's under the title BIOETHICSLINE. Some retrospective journal coverage goes back to 1947.
Indexes comprehensively scholarly and non-scholarly journals in religion and theology. This resource is a definite "must consult" for those undertaking bibliographic research in Christian religious studies. One of the oldest continuing indexes of religious journal literature, its retrospective journal coverage goes back as far as 1949 and in some cases to the 19th century. The breadth and depth of its coverage renders this index extremely versatile. Its content and search features make it relevant for research in a number of religion specific areas including Biblical Studies, Church history, Systematic Theology, Philosophical Theology, and Ministry studies, as well as denomination specific research. Full-text access is frequently available. Abstracting is spare, but does appear in the occasional record. EBSCOhost.
Provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews published worldwide since 1940. For access to the scholarly journal literature of Philosophy, this index is the most important available. Topics covered include aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. Most useful for researchers of philosophical topics, this resource is also worth consulting for researchers in systematic theology (e.g. Augustinian studies, Scholastic theology, Barthian studies), apologetics and philosophical theology, religious ethics/moral theology, and western intellectual history. Contains some full text. Comparatively limited (but effective) search features: does not have a scholarly journals limiter but does provide document type and linked full-text limiters, as well as a publication search feature (enabling searches within the contents of specified journal titles). EBSCOhost.
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 99 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2 000 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Can limit by publisher, publication year, publication status, publication type, document type, book type, peer reviewed, language, population group, age group, intended audience, methodology and classification codes. EBSCOhost.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes citations to book reviews and abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. It includes the companion file Social Services Abstracts. Records. Searchable by author, title, keyword, descriptors, source, and 26 other fields. Covers the years 1952 to the present time. ProQuest/CSA.
Provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues, and problems. Searchable by author, title, abstract, subject, publication date, source, publisher, document type, etc. Includes articles in periodicals, books, book chapters, and dissertations. EBSCOhost.
Provides a subject, author, and title index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. MLA indexers review books, journals, and Web sites for material that relates to all forms of human communication. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. EBSCOhost.
Humanities Full Text includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals--of which 470 are peer-reviewed--dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
The extensive collection features full text for journals, high-quality indexing and in-depth abstracts for thousands of journals, and indexing for hundreds of thousands of articles, including book reviews. It also provides full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry, books review, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
Provides citations and abstracts of, peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, patents, and quality web sources as far back as 1823. Includes 4 collections: life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences and humanities. Search documents, authors, or affiliation. Advanced search uses Boolean operators and codes. Limitable by facets. Provides related articles and citation information. Customizable personal accounts. Part of the SciVerse system.
Provides access to bibliographic information of journal articles through the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1900 to present. Search by topic, author, publication, editor, language, etc. Provides citation information. Limitable by facets. Customizable personal accounts.
Contains abstracts, articles, and full text of more than 2500 journals and 11 000 books as far back as 1823. Subject areas include physical science and engineering (chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, energy, engineering, materials science, mathematics, physics and astronomy), life sciences (agricultural and biological sciences, biochemistry, genetics and molecular biology, environmental science, immunology and microbiology, and neuroscience), health sciences (medicine and dentistry, nursing and health professions, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutical science, veterinary science and veterinary medicine), and social science and humanities (arts and humanities, business, management and accounting, decision sciences, economics, econometrics and finance, psychology, social sciences). Full-text availability indicated by a green box. Both articles and images are searchable by keyword, author, ISBN, etc. Cross references to related journal and reference work articles. Some tables are downloadable into excel. Customizable personal accounts.