Guides: Middle East: Finding Think Tanks/Data Sources/Studies &amp; Reports

Think Tanks

CESSDA Portal
The CESSDA (Council of European Social Science Data Archives) Portal is a gateway to many kinds of research data and metadata, including sociological surveys, election studies, longitudinal studies, opinion polls, and census data.
more...less...
Among the materials are international and European data such as the European Social Survey, the Eurobarometers, and the International Social Survey Programme. Users are able to locate datasets, as well as questions or variables within datasets, stored at CESSDA member archives throughout Europe.
Eurobarometer
The Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission.
Eurostat
Eurostat is the Statistical Office of the European Communities, established in 1953.
more...less...
The mission of Eurostat is to gather and analyse figures from the different European statistics offices in order to provide comparable and harmonised data to the European Institutions so they can define, implement and analyse Community policies.

UNdata : a world of information This link opens in a new window
Provides a single entry point to locate data from United Nations databases giving users the ability to search over 30 UN databases containing over 60 million data points covering areas such as agriculture, education, employment, environment, health, and the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
An easy to use data access system was developed that meets UNSD’s vision of providing an integrated information resource with current, relevant and reliable statistics free of charge to the global community.

World Values Survey
The World Values Survey (WVS) is a global network of social scientists who have surveyed the basic values and beliefs of the publics of more than 80 societies, on all six inhabited continents. (Requires free registration to access some of the data)

Ciao (Columbia International Affairs Online)
CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from non- governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
more...less...
CIAO is designed to be a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.
CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports
Reports on all subjects prepared by the Congressional Research Service of the Library of Congress for members, committees, and staff of the U.S. Congress. Full text coverage from 1916 to present. [Search for country name]
Countrywatch.com Country Review reports
Do a title search in OneSearch for "Country Review [Name of Country]" for online access to the reports. The full-text of these titles (from 2000 until the present) can be found in the Business Souce Complete database.

Europa : gateway to the European Union This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information published by the European Union and its institutions.

Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports
Do a title search in OneSearch for "Country Report [Name of Country]" for online access to the reports. The full-text of these titles can be found in the Business Source Complete database.
Freedom House
Freedom House, a non-profit, nonpartisan organization, is a clear voice for democracy and freedom around the world.
more...less...
Through a vast array of international programs and publications, Freedom House is working to advance the remarkable worldwide expansion of political and economic freedom.
Rand Corporation Research Reports
Most ebook versions of the reports are freely accessible.
Transparency International
Reports (including background data) on corruption levels in countries around the world.
World Bank eLibrary
This database is fully cross-searchable portal of over 4,000 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 1,600 World Bank publications and over 2,400 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published.
World Bank eLibrary Policy Research working papers