Book Catalogs
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Contains an online catalog to the book, media, archival, journal, map, music, and special collections holdings of libraries across the United States and internationally.
- OneSearchUse this resource for searching the library catalog, the Baylor Digital Collections, BEARdocs (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.), research guides, and much of the full-text subscription content.
- Oxford scholarship online This link opens in a new window
Offers access to over 10 000 academic works, in 20 subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
- Islamic studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new window
A large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via Google Books and the Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries.
Biographical Information
- Biography.com This link opens in a new window
Presents biographies of living and deceased persons from all walks of life.
- Current biography illustrated This link opens in a new window
Provides short biographies of persons currently in the news and about whom no full-length biography exists as of the date of publication in Current Biography.
- Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides full-text access to a variety of news and reference sources containing the biographies of individuals from all time periods.
- Oxford dictionary of national biography This link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative biographies of deceased individuals who influenced British history, including colonial British-Americans. Biographies include a listing of major works written by the individual (if any) and a reference list of full-length biographies and critical articles. Each biography also includes a "Reputation" section which describes the individual's standing in his or her time period and how that has changed since then. Very helpfully will indicate where the individual's archives are, if they exist. Also provides links to major themed articles (on the American Founding Fathers, for instance), entries to related individuals, and to other online resources produced by Oxford University Press (which we may or may not have access to). Oxford University Press.
- TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
Allows researchers to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.
- World biographical information system This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to biographical entries in major reference works published from the 16th to the 21st centuries.
Country Information: A-C
- A-Z List (formerly Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets)U.S. Dept. of State
- CRS reports This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to all reports from 1916 to the present prepared by the Congressional Research Service of the Library of Congress for the U.S. Congress.
- Country Profiles (ELDIS)Gateway to information on development issues, providing free and easy access to wide range of high quality online resources.
- Country StudiesOnline version of a series of print volumes (1986-1998) from the Library of Congress which offer historical information.
- Countrywatch.com Country Review reportsDo a title search in OneSearch for "Country Review [Name of Country]" for online access to the reports. The full-text of these titles (from 2000 until the present) can be found in the Business Souce Complete database.
Country Information: D-N
- Economist Intelligence Unit: Country BriefingsNews, country profiles, forecasts, statistics, and more for specific countries.
- Economist Intelligence Unit Country ProfilesProvides background and historical context of current economic and political events for each country. Each profile analyzes the infrastructure and major industrial sectors of each economy and includes maps and tables of key economic data for the past 5 years.
- EuropaProvides access to information published by the European Union and its institutions: European Parliament, Council of the EU, European Commission, Court of Justice, Court of Auditors, Economic and Social Committee, Committee of the Regions, European Central Bank, European Investment Bank, Agencies and other Bodies.
- Europa World PlusOnline version of The Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series.
- Global Road WarriorProvides international travelers with information on: international telephone instructions, cellular (mobile) phones, electricity, and satelline connectivity while traveling abroad. Includes country profiles, cultural information, demographics, money, points of interest, transportation, maps, and photos of most of the world's countries.
- International StatisticsThe U.S. Bureau of the Census works with foreign governments regarding data gathering and hence provide statistics from this work to census data users.
Country Information: O-Z
- Oxford Constitutions of the WorldFully-translated English-language versions of all the world's constitutions. Includes historical versions of constitutions, and amendment Acts/Laws.
- Political Handbook of the World 1927-present (print)originally from the Center for Comparative Political Research and currently CQ Press
- RulersList of Rulers/Heads of State of Countries, current and historical
- World Bank e-Library This link opens in a new window
Searches the World Bank's full-text collection of books, reports/working papers, journals, and other documents.
- World Bank DataBankAccess World Development Indicators (WDI), world development statistics and Global Development Finance (GDF) financial statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).
- World Life ExpectancyLife expectancy average by country
