What are instruments, tests, & measures?
Tests and measurements are standardized instruments such as questionnaires, inventories, and scales, which are used to measure constructs in education and other social science disciplines. There are two types of tests: published/commercial tests and unpublished/non-commercial tests. Below are some of the differences between published/commercial tests and unpublished/non-commercial tests.
| Published/Commercial Tests | Unpublished/Non-Commercial Tests |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Where can I find tests, measures, & instruments?
- APA PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
APA PsycTESTS contains more than 150,000 psychology tests and measures that are often used in the field of education. The database includes tests originally developed for research but not commercially available and some commercially available tests with links to the publisher. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPsycINFO has a Test and measure (TM) field that captures tests credited in the methodology section of records. This field was added to PsycINFO in 2003 and also used for selected tests back to 1994. If the full test is provided, [Appended] will appear in the TM field. There is also a separate search box for Test & measure searches.
PsycINFO uses legacy classification codes from back when it was a print index. Classification codes related to tests are 2200 Psychometrics & Statistics & Methodology and the narrower 2220 Test & Testing, which has nine narrower subdivisions (see below). The search Classification CL=222* will capture all the records from 2220 to 2229.
Classification Codes:
2200 Psychometrics & Statistics & Methodology
2220 Tests & Testing
2221 Sensory & Motor Testing
2222 Developmental Scales & Schedules
2223 Personality Scales & Inventories
2224 Clinical Psychological Testing
2225 Neuropsychological Assessment
2226 Health Psychology Testing
2227 Educational Measurement
2228 Occupational & Employment Testing
2229 Consumer Opinion & Attitude Testing
2240 Statistics & Mathematics
2260 Research Methods & Experimental Design
- Health and psychosocial instruments This link opens in a new window
Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowYou can use ERIC to search for tests/questionnaires by going into the advanced search interface and under the "publication type" section, choose "tests/questionnaires." Once you select that filter, you can add your search terms at the top of the screen.
- TMdb Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation VolumesOnline: TMdb lists works that contain actual tests. With each reference, is a link to the tests contained in that volume, including instrument title, author, date, & pages numbers in the larger compilation.
- APA PsycTESTS This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycTESTS contains more than 150,000 psychology tests and measures that are often used in the field of education. The database includes tests originally developed for research but not commercially available and some commercially available tests with links to the publisher.
- Mental measurements yearbook with Tests in print This link opens in a new window
Contains information essential for tests/measurements/evaluation instruments within areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
- Applied measurement in education"Applied measurement in education," is a journal that aims to improve communication between academicians and practitioners. Its articles describe original research studies, strategies for solving educational measurement problems, and integrative reviews of current approaches.
- Educational and Psychological MeasurementSince 1941, this important journal has offered the most current data-based studies and theoretical papers in the measurement field. Published six times a year, Educational and Psychological Measurement will continue to provide the latest research in this dynamic field.
- Educational AssessmentPublishes research and scholarship on the assessment of individuals, groups and programs in educational settings. Reports on studies of conventional testing practices, alternative approaches, scholarship on classroom practice, and national assessment.
- Educational Measurement: Issues and PracticeArticles illuminating issues in educational measurement and to inform the practice of educational measurement for practitioners and users of tests, news of interest to the educational measurement community and international news of note.
- Journal of Educational MeasurementOriginal measurement research and reports of applications of measurement in an educational context and solicited reviews aimed at the professional educator.
- Journal of Psychoeducational AssessmentJournal of Psychoeducational Assessment provides psychologists current information regarding psychological and educational assessment practices and instrumentation. JPA is known internationally for the quality of its assessment-related research, theory and position papers, practice applications, and book and test reviews. The journal emphasizes methodologically sound, empirically based studies, and publishes articles of interest to all assessment specialists, including school and clinical psychologists, educational diagnosticians, special educators, university instructors, and allied professionals.
- Studies in Educational EvaluationStudies in Educational Evaluation publishes original reports of evaluation studies.
Four types of articles are published by the journal:
(a) Empirical evaluation studies representing assessment and evaluation practice in educational systems around the world;
(b) Theoretical reflections and empirical studies related to issues involved in the evaluation of educational programs, educational institutions, educational personnel and student assessment;
(c) Articles summarizing the state-of-the-art concerning specific topics in evaluation in general or in a particular country or group of countries;
(d) Book reviews and brief abstracts of evaluation studies.
Finding articles on a test, measure, or instrument?
*under construction
PsycInfo (use the name, or part of the name in the search box, and limit to "tests and measures")
ERIC EBSCO
Search words from the name of the measure with the term "test validity" and choose "Descriptor" from the drop-down menu.
Why can't I access a specific test or measure?
*under construction
Some of the information used in the creation of this guide came from the Tests and Measurements guide at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries.
