Requesting Articles
Finding Full Text
Many databases provide direct access to full text. Look for links to "Full Text," "Text," or "PDF." If you choose to print an article, be sure to use the printer icon within the database or within Acrobat if offered, rather than the browser print feature.
When you see this BU InfoLinks icon, you can click on it to connect directly to full text in other databases or to see if we have a print copy of the journal.
You can also search for the journal title (often labeled "Source") in OneSearch. Journals may be available:
- as a print periodical (check the "Holdings" to determine whether the library owns the correct issue),
- as microfilm or microfiche (check the "Holdings" to determine whether the library owns the correct issue), or
- online
Databases
Discipline-Specific Databases
The following databases are helpful for finding information (articles, reports, and other documents) specific to the field of education.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and abstracts of documents and journal articles in all areas of education. Both journal articles (designated as EJ) and educational documents (ED) are indexed.
- Education - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Educaton. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Education research complete This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic information for articles and books for topics on all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties.
- Educational administration abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for articles in journals related to the administration of primary, secondary and post-secondary educational facilities and programs.
Specialized Databases, Other Related Disciplines
The following databases are specialized databases from other related fields. Oftentimes researchers from within the field of education will conduct research that might fall under the category of Psychology or Business, for example. The databases listed here are the resources that are most often used in conjunction with educational research.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Provides business information from scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology, behavioral science, and mental health.
- APA PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Provides access to psychology tests and measures. Includes tests originally developed for research but not commercially available and some commercially available tests with links to the publisher.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text business journals and scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
- Emerald insight This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text articles and reviews from the world's leading management journals.
- Mental measurements yearbook with Tests in print This link opens in a new window
Contains information essential for tests/measurements/evaluation instruments within areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Multi-Disciplinary Databases
When you are doing research within the field of education, you may need to consult a multi-disciplinary database. Multi-disciplinary databases contain content from a variety of different fields. That means that your results will include content indexed from education-related resources as well as from other fields. These databases can be useful if your topic crosses over into other fields (i.e. school psychology).
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides abstracts for articles in popular and scholarly journals in a broad range of disciplines.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
Offers indexing and abstracts for journals in all academic subjects.
- Directory of open access journals : DOAJ This link opens in a new window
Indexes the scholarly and scientific literature in open access journals (journals which do not charge the individual or the institution a subscription fee but make their content freely available). Journals indexed must be peer-reviewed or have editorial quality control and report results of research to a scholarly community to be included in the indexing. Access to full text varies by journal. All languages and subjects are covered. Search for articles by keyword (with Boolean "and/or/not" connectors), search journals by title, or browse journals by broad subject categories. DOAJ, Lund University Library (Sweden).
- OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is a discovery tool that provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including:
- traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.);
- the Baylor Digital Collections;
- BEARdocs, (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.);
- research guides;
- and -- most importantly, much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.
Citation Databases
Citation databases compile the citations in the reference lists of scholarly publications. These kinds of databases allow you to ind newer resources that reference a resource or author that you already know. You may want to do this in order to find more articles on a particular topic, see how an idea has grown over time, see where other researchers are citing your work or the work of other authors that you follow, or to see citation numbers or metrics to report on a job or grant application, etc.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
***Scopus AI add-on will be available starting January 2025*** Provides citations and abstracts of scholarly works in 240 disciplines from over 7000 publishers. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
- Google scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.--About Google scholar.
- Data citation index This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic references and links to research data in the areas of science, social science, & humanities.
Dissertations and Theses Databases
Use the databases below to find dissertations and theses from Baylor University students and around the world.
- Dissertations & theses @ Baylor University Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Baylor dissertations and theses sent to University Microfilms, Inc. since about 1960 with full text of dissertations and theses (PDF files) since 1996 available at no charge to Baylor-affiliated persons.
- WorldCat dissertations and theses This link opens in a new window
Indexes Ph.D. dissertations and Master's theses in the collection of OCLC member libraries around the world.
- ProQuest dissertations & theses global This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1637.
e-Journals
- Disability and Special Needs EducationA list of e-journals focusing on topics related to disability and special needs education.
- Educational Administration and SupervisionList of e-journals focusing on topics related to educational administration and supervision.
- Higher EducationList of e-journals focusing on topics related to the subject of higher education.
- Human Resources ManagementA list of e-journals focusing on topics related to human resources management.
- K-12 EducationA list of e-journals focusing on topics related to K-12 Education.
- Multicultural EducationA list of e-journals focusing on topics related to multicultural education and diversity.
- Organizational Change and TheoryA list of e-journals focusing on topics related to organizational change and theory.
- Teacher Education and Professional DevelopmentA list of e-journals focusing on topics related to teacher education and professional development.
- Counseling PsychologyA list of e-journals focusing on topics related to counseling psychology.
- List of Education Journals (online access)View all education journals available electronically.
Websites
- Brown Center on Education Policy"The mission of the Brown Center on Education Policy, housed in the Governance Studies program at Brookings, is to produce quality, independent research that impacts the efficiency of schools and the lives of all students. Brown Center experts use the best tools available from the quantitative social sciences to bring data-based evidence to bear on education policy discussions in a timely manner. Thus, the Brown Center occupies a unique niche by bringing scientific sensibilities and methods to the issues of the day in education policy."
- Education Policy Analysis Archives"Education Policy Analysis Archives/Archivos Analíticos de Políticas Educativas/Arquivos Analíticos de Políticas Educativas (EPAA/AAPE) is a peer-reviewed, open-access, international, multilingual, and multidisciplinary journal designed for researchers, practitioners, policy makers, and development analysts concerned with education policies. "
- The Institute for Higher Education Policy"The Institute for Higher Education Policy (IHEP) is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization committed to promoting access to and success in higher education for all students. Based in Washington, D.C., IHEP develops innovative policy- and practice-oriented research to guide policymakers and education leaders who develop high-impact policies that will address our nation’s most pressing education challenges."
- The Purdue OWLThe Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects.
Biographical Information
- Biographical dictionary of modern American educatorsCall Number: Jones Ref LA2311 .O55 1997
- Biographical dictionary of modern American educators [electronic resource]Call Number: Online
- Historical dictionary of American educationCall Number: Jones Ref LB15 .H57 1999
- Historical dictionary of American education [electronic resource]Call Number: Online
- Who's who in American educationCall Number: Jones Ref (Latest Issue) LA2311 .W47 2007-08
Professional Associations
- American Association for Higher Education"AAHEA is the individual membership organization that promotes research, collaboration, scholarship, best practices, evidence based research to move together into the era of increasingly digitized education. A leader in the transition from old norms to new standards for a new age. The association equips individuals and institutions committed to such changes with the knowledge they need to bring those changes about."
- American Association of Community Colleges"The American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) is the primary advocacy organization for the nation’s community colleges. The association represents nearly 1,200 2-year, associate degree-granting institutions and more than 12 million students."
- American College Personnel Association"American College Personnel Association (ACPA) - headquartered in Washington, D.C. at the National Center for Higher Education, is the leading comprehensive student affairs association that advances student affairs and engages students for a lifetime of learning and discovery."
- American Council on Education"ACE, the major coordinating body for the nation’s colleges and universities, is a membership organization that mobilizes the higher education community to shape effective public policy and foster innovative, high-quality practice. Our strength lies in our diverse base of member institutions. We represent over 1,700 college and university presidents and the executives at related associations, and are the only major higher education association to represent all types of U.S. accredited, degree-granting institutions: two-year and four-year, public and private. Our members represent two out of every three students in all accredited, degree-granting institutions."
- American Educational Research Association"The American Educational Research Association (AERA), a national research society, strives to advance knowledge about education, to encourage scholarly inquiry related to education, and to promote the use of research to improve education and serve the public good."
- ASCD"ASCD empowers educators to achieve excellence in learning, teaching, and leading so that every child is healthy, safe, engaged, supported, and challenged."
- Association for the Study of Higher Education"ASHE is a scholarly society with 2,000 members dedicated to higher education as a field of study. It is committed to diversity in its programs and membership, and has enjoyed extraordinary success in involving graduate students in Association activities."
- Association of Teacher Educators"The Association of Teacher Educators was founded in 1920 and is the only national, individual membership organization devoted solely to the improvement of teacher education for both school and campus-based teacher educators. Today ATE members represent nearly 1300 teacher educators in colleges, universities, school districts, and state education agencies within 41 regional and state affiliated units and US Territories."
- CCSSO"The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, the Bureau of Indian Education and the five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions."
- International Society for Technology in Education"Welcome to the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE), home to a passionate community of global educators who believe in the power of technology to transform teaching and learning, accelerate innovation and solve tough problems in education.
ISTE inspires the creation of solutions and connections that improve opportunities for all learners by delivering: practical guidance, evidence-based professional learning, virtual networks, thought-provoking events and the ISTE Standards." - National Association of Elementary School Principles"The National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP), founded in 1921, is a professional organization serving elementary and middle school principals and other education leaders throughout the United States, Canada, and overseas."
- National Association of Secondary School Principles"The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) is the leading organization of and voice for principals and other school leaders across the United States. NASSP seeks to transform education through school leadership, recognizing that the fulfillment of each student’s potential relies on great leaders in every school committed to the success of each student. Reflecting its long-standing commitment to student leadership development, NASSP administers the National Honor Society, National Junior Honor Society, National Elementary Honor Society, and National Student Council."
