Guides: Army/Baylor MHA/MBA: Industry Information

Industries

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text business journals and scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.

eStatement Studies (RMA)
Contains composite financial data from anonymous financial statements of manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting businesses operating in industries. Designed to be particularly useful to lending and credit risk professionals who want to compare one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business.

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Provides market research reports and forecasts in 25 distinct verticals and provides more information through partnerships with other market research providers.
Bizminer This link opens in a new window
Offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for business and industry market trends.
IBISWorld where knowledge is power This link opens in a new window
Provides access to industry research and company benchmarking reports.
Key business ratios This link opens in a new window
Provides access to competitive benchmarking data featuring key business ratios for companies and industries.
Standard & Poor's netadvantage This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to major publications and company information from Standard and Poor's.

If you are not a business major, industry codes can be kind of confusing -- what are they and what are they used for? Here is what you need to know:

Industry codes are used to classify like businesses together. This is helpful so that businesses that grow oranges can be compared to other businesses that also grow oranges and coffee shops can be compared to other coffee shops. They also help us gather some really helpful industry numbers such as industry revenue.
Businesses in the United States have used two (2) industry codes.
- SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) code was developed in the 1930's
- NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) code was developed in the late 1990's

Here is what the system of industry codes looks like:

The following shows the arrangement of the SIC code:

Major Group	48	Communications
Industry Group Number	483	Radio & Television Broadcasting Stations
Industry Number	4832	Radio Broadcasting Stations

The following shows the arrangement of the NAICS code:

Sector	51	Information
Subsector	515	Broadcasting (except Internet)
Industry Group	5151	Radio Broadcasting Broadcasting
NAICS Industry	51511	Radio Broadcasting
Individual U.S. Industries	51512	Radio Stations

Industry codes can be used to research industries, Several of the databases listed on this page use industry codes as means of organizing or searching for information.
You can search for an industry code by going to the U.S. Census page and using the NAICS Lookup option (https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/).