Reference Ebook Collections
Listed below are the major general-purpose ebook resources found at the Baylor University Libraries. To find additional collections of e-books, look at this list; for individual ebooks, search OneSearch..
- Cambridge companions This link opens in a new window
Provides globalized electronic access to all Cambridge online collections.
- Credo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.
- E-EROS encyclopedia of reagents for organic synthesis This link opens in a new window
Gives details on reagents and catalysts for organic synthesis
- Encyclopedia of ancient history This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of ancient history is the definitive reference work for the study of the ancient world.
- Encyclopedia of Christianity online This link opens in a new window
Describes modern-day Christian beliefs and communities in the context of 2000 years of apostolic tradition and Christian history.
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science, 4 Volume Set by ISBN: 9780470016190Publication Date: 2005-09-23An exciting reference work which captures current thinking about the workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that are as old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980's. The Encyclopedia contains 696 articles covering in depth the entire spectrum of the cognitive sciences. Reviewing the common themes of information and information processing, representation and computation, it also covers in depth the core areas of psychology, philosophy, linguistics, computer science, and neuroscience. Ancillary topics such as education, economics, evolutionary biology and anthropology are also covered. The articles have been written to provide multiple levels of information so that readers from various levels can benefit from this set - from undergraduate and postgraduate students to university lecturers. With extensive cross-referencing, a glossary and subject index to further aid the reader through the book, the Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science is an essential addition to any library or office shelf. The Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science (ECS) includes: 4 Volumes 4000 pages 696 articles Contributions from the world's leading experts 1,500 illustrations Detailed indexes and appendices Extensive cross-referencing
- Encyclopedia of communities of practice in information and knowledge management This link opens in a new window
Offers in-depth coverage of practical issues as well as insight into topics regarding learning, leadership, ethics, social, intellectual, rewards, and language challenges.
- Encyclopedia of e-commerce e-government and mobile commerce This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of the e-technologies field and topics of interest relevant to the field.
- Encyclopedia of early modern history online This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history of the early modern period, roughly 1450 – 1850. Takes a global approach to history, both in terms of countries and subjects covered.Written from a European perspective, the bibliographies include international scholarship in all European languages.
Encyclopedia of Ecology by ISBN: 9780080454054Publication Date: 2008-01-01The groundbreaking Encyclopedia of Ecology provides an authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the complete field of ecology, from general to applied. It includes over 500 detailed entries, structured to provide the user with complete coverage of the core knowledge, accessed as intuitively as possible, and heavily cross-referenced. Written by an international team of leading experts, this revolutionary encyclopedia will serve as a one-stop-shop to concise, stand-alone articles to be used as a point of entry for undergraduate students, or as a tool for active researchers looking for the latest information in the field. Entries cover a range of topics, including: Behavioral Ecology Ecological Processes Ecological Modeling Ecological Engineering Ecological Indicators Ecological Informatics Ecosystems Ecotoxicology Evolutionary Ecology General Ecology Global Ecology Human Ecology System Ecology * The first reference work to cover all aspects of ecology, from basic to applied * Over 500 concise, stand-alone articles are written by prominent leaders in the field * Article text is supported by full-color photos, drawings, tables, and other visual material * Fully indexed and cross referenced with detailed references for further study * Writing level is suited to both the expert and non-expert * Available electronically on ScienceDirect shortly upon publication
- Encyclopedia of Hebrew language and linguistics This link opens in a new window
Offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day.
- Encyclopedia of inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry This link opens in a new window
Provides short scholarly articles about key topics in inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry.
- Encyclopedia of Medieval literature in Britain This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of all the literatures present in the British Isles regardless of language from 449 – 1541. Old and Middle English, Anglo-Norman, Latin, French, and Celtic literature are included.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by ISBN: 9780123739445Publication Date: 2009-01-14Available as an exclusive product with a limited print run, Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 3e, is a comprehensive survey of microbiology, edited by world-class researchers. Each article is written by an expert in that specific domain and includes a glossary, list of abbreviations, defining statement, introduction, further reading and cross-references to other related encyclopedia articles. Written at a level suitable for university undergraduates, the breadth and depth of coverage will appeal beyond undergraduates to professionals and academics in related fields. 16 separate areas of microbiology covered for breadth and depth of content Extensive use of figures, tables, and color illustrations and photographs Language is accessible for undergraduates, depth appropriate for scientists Links to original journal articles via Crossref 30% NEW articles and 4-color throughout - NEW!
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience by ISBN: 9780080450469Publication Date: 2008-11-14Explores various areas of the neuroscience on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of the discipline. This title features various articles that contain a glossary, introduction, a reference section, and cross-references to other related encyclopedia articles.
- Encyclopedia of popular music This link opens in a new window
Covers all genres and periods of popular music from 1900. Includes the full contents of the 10-volume fourth edition, plus online-only entries published since.
- Encyclopedia of social work This link opens in a new window
Provides over overview articles on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, offer students, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly.
- Encyclopedia of statistical sciences This link opens in a new window
Covers the essentials of statistics. Includes coverage of statistics, probability theory, biostatistics, quality control, and economics with emphasis in applications of statistical methods in sociology, engineering, computer science, biomedicine, psychology, survey methodology, and other client disciplines.
- Encyclopedia of the Bible and its reception : EBR This link opens in a new window
Comprises an encyclopedia of both the reception history of the Bible in its "different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity" and of the "current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible."
- Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the entire range of philosophic and social changes engendered by the Enlightenment.
- Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American relations This link opens in a new window
Explores years of political, military, economic, and cultural connections between the United States of America and its neighbors to the south.
Encyclopedia of Virology by ISBN: 9780123744104Publication Date: 2008-07-24Encyclopedia of Virology, Third Edition continues its success as the largest single reference source of current research in virology. Unique in its use of concise "mini-review" articles, this praised work covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects. Now in five volumes, this new edition has been extensively revised and updated to reflect the 50% increase in identified and accepted viruses since the year 2000. With over 25% new chapters and over 1000 illustrations, this edition takes into account the new developments in virology research by including information on new emerging diseases such as avian flu, SARS and West Nile and the ability of some viruses to be used as agents of bioterrorism. Edited by leading Virologists Mahy and van Regenmortel, this third edition remains the number one all-inclusive source of information for virology researchers, students, and reference departments of academic, medical, and corporate libraries. Extensive coverage on AIDS and HIV, viral immunology and vaccines, the economic importance and control of virus diseases, and the origin, history, evolution and phylogeny of viruses -NEW! Four color throughout -NEW! Sections on future perspectives that show the direction of current research 25% NEW articles Glossary of key terms for easy referencing Information on viruses of human clinical interest, including the virus causing SARS -NEW! More than 20% NEW virus classifications The most recent information from the 8th International Committee on Taxonomy and Classification of Viruses -NEW! Recommendations for further reading and a list of other relevant entries
- Encyclopedia of virtual communities and technologies This link opens in a new window
Presents an in-depth analysis of the conceptual and technical impacts of virtual environments in the global community.
- Encyclopedia of women & Islamic cultures This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a specialist encyclopedia focused on women's studies and Islamic cultures.
International Encyclopedia of Education by ISBN: 9780080448947Publication Date: 2009-04-17Provides signed articles by experts accompanied by a selective bibliography. The main screen presents a list of subject classifications and a link to the search interface.
- Internet encyclopedia of philosophy This link opens in a new windowProvides detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. Written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article. Search alphabetically by keyword, free of charge to all Internet users. It is continuously revised and updated.
- Music online. The Garland encyclopedia of world music This link opens in a new windowProvides integrated online access to the ten-volume Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (audio and print editions available in the Fine Arts Library). Covers cultural music from all areas of the planet including genres, instruments, places, people, ensembles, and cultural groups. Includes audio examples. Alexander Street Press.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History This link opens in a new windowover 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies
- Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the electronic version of the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Articles can be browsed alphabetically or by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Full-text entries can be searched by keyword, contributor, or bibliography. Self-touted as "the definitive (philosophical reference) resource in the field " this is an important, reasonably current subject specialist philosophical encyclopedia. Of obvious relevance to students of philosophy, this work is also valuable for researchers in systematic theology or philosophical theology.
- Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a web-based subject specialist encyclopedia of philosophy. This resource is a "dynamic reference work" that is under ongoing revision, updating and expansion. A scholarly reference work, this resource is worth consulting by a range of researchers including philosophy students, students of the history of ideas, religious and theological researchers. Covers all areas of philosophy.
