Science, Medicine, Technology Ebook Collections
Listed below are the major general-purpose ebook resources found at the Baylor University Libraries. To find additional collections of e-books, look at this list; for individual ebooks, search OneSearch..
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowProvides the complete text of many significant McGraw-Hill medical textbooks in areas such as cardiology, family medicine, gynecology, internal medicine, microbiology, obstetrics, pharmacology, physiology, surgery, diagnosis and treatment and much more. Useful for residents, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, physicians and healthcare students. Searchable and easily browsed. Entire chapters can be printed. McGraw-Hill
- American Heart Association eBooks This link opens in a new windowContains 8 American Heart Association manuals, handbooks, workbooks or guidelines including basic life support (BLS), advanced cardiovascular life support (ACLS), pediatric advanced life support (PALS), first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and more. Useful for health care providers, first responders, or health professions students.
- Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry III This link opens in a new windowAimed at the specialist and non-specialist alike, this resource covers the major developments in the field with extensive cross-references. COMC-III provides a clear and comprehensive overview of developments since 1993 and attempts to predict trends in the field over the next ten years.
- DSM library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to psychiatric reference sources such as DSM-5, DSM-IV-TR, textbooks, journals, APA guidelines, self-assessment tools, clinical & research news and medication information handouts.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed encyclopedia articles covering life science including biochemistry, bioethics and philosophy, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution and diversity of life, genetics and disease, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, plant science, science and society, structural biology, and virology.
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science, 4 Volume Set by ISBN: 9780470016190Publication Date: 2005-09-23An exciting reference work which captures current thinking about the workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that are as old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980's. The Encyclopedia contains 696 articles covering in depth the entire spectrum of the cognitive sciences. Reviewing the common themes of information and information processing, representation and computation, it also covers in depth the core areas of psychology, philosophy, linguistics, computer science, and neuroscience. Ancillary topics such as education, economics, evolutionary biology and anthropology are also covered. The articles have been written to provide multiple levels of information so that readers from various levels can benefit from this set - from undergraduate and postgraduate students to university lecturers. With extensive cross-referencing, a glossary and subject index to further aid the reader through the book, the Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science is an essential addition to any library or office shelf. The Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science (ECS) includes: 4 Volumes 4000 pages 696 articles Contributions from the world's leading experts 1,500 illustrations Detailed indexes and appendices Extensive cross-referencing
- Encyclopedia of ecology This link opens in a new windowContains over 500 contributions from international experts to form a comprehensive picture of the science of ecology and its major subdisciplines. It provides current and comprehensive information on many themes, including behavioral ecology, chemical ecology, ecological engineering, ecological indicators, ecological informatics, ecological modeling, ecological processes, ecological stoichiometry, ecosystems, ecotoxicology, evolutionary ecology, general ecology, global ecology, human ecology, philosophy of ecology, population dynamics, and systems ecology. Includes links to cross-references and suggested further readings of key references. Originally published as 5 volumes in 2008. ScienceDirect.
- Encyclopedia of inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry This link opens in a new windowProvides short articles about key topics in inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry. Can browse by topic (Bioinorganic Chemistry, Catalysis, Computational Methods, Energy Chemistry, Environmental Chemistry, General Principles, Green Chemistry and Sustainability, Inorganic and Coordinate Chemistry, Lanthanides and Actinides, Main Group Elements, Medicinal Inorganic Chemistry, Metalloproteins, Nuclear Chemistry and Radionuclides, Organometallic Chemistry, Physical Methods, Solid State, Materials and Nanomaterials, Toxicology, and Transition Metals) or search by title. Updated quarterly.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by ISBN: 9780123739445Publication Date: 2009-01-14Available as an exclusive product with a limited print run, Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 3e, is a comprehensive survey of microbiology, edited by world-class researchers. Each article is written by an expert in that specific domain and includes a glossary, list of abbreviations, defining statement, introduction, further reading and cross-references to other related encyclopedia articles. Written at a level suitable for university undergraduates, the breadth and depth of coverage will appeal beyond undergraduates to professionals and academics in related fields. 16 separate areas of microbiology covered for breadth and depth of content Extensive use of figures, tables, and color illustrations and photographs Language is accessible for undergraduates, depth appropriate for scientists Links to original journal articles via Crossref 30% NEW articles and 4-color throughout - NEW!
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience by ISBN: 9780080450469Publication Date: 2008-11-14Explores various areas of the neuroscience on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of the discipline. This title features various articles that contain a glossary, introduction, a reference section, and cross-references to other related encyclopedia articles.
- Knovel This link opens in a new window
Provides a searchable database of handbooks, data sets and reference sources in science, technology and engineering that can find materials that meet specific physical, mechanical and thermal properties. Includes interactive charts, graphs, spreadsheets, and equation plotters.
- Salem Psychology and Mental Health This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text encyclopedia articles on psychology and mental health.
- Salem science This link opens in a new windowProvides access to Salem Press' science reference works, including: Applied Science, Earth Science: Earth's Surface and History, Earth Science: Physics and Chemistry of the Earth, Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues, Encyclopedia of Globar Resources, Encyclopedia of Global Warming, Forensic Science, and The Solar System
- SPIE. digital library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to journal, conference, and e-book publications by SPIE--The International Society of Optical Engineering. Advance search by keyword, author, article or proceeding title, citation, volume number. Figure search also available. Can limit by journal, proceeding, ebook, and date range. Personal accounts allow for alerts, saving figures and tables, and remote access. Related content also given.
- STAT!Ref This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to information in latest editions of medical, chemical and pharmacological texts, dictionaries, and indexes. Searchable by headings, documents, tables, references, images, and videos. Suggests related concepts. Save notes or consult online healthcare dictionary. Browsable by title.
