Psychology Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
I've provided links only to online materials. To search for printed books use BearCat's main search page and search for the following: d:psychology d:encyclopedias (the d: tag limits results to works where the word that follows it is only in the subject field).
- Psychology BasicsA 2 volume work covering topics from "abnormality" to "women's psychology"
- The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral SciencesMore scholarly subject encyclopedia. Click on the link "Click here to access this electronic resource" which will take you to a table of contents listing.
- APA HandbookComplete online collection of APA handbooks
- Encyclopedia of Applied PsychologyEncompasses topics including aging (geropsychology), assessment, clinical, cognitive, community, counseling, educational, environmental, family, industrial/organizational, health, school, sports, and transportation psychology. Each entry provides a clear definition, a brief review of the theoretical basis, and emphasizes major areas of application.
- Encyclopedia of Women and GenderCovers the psychology of women, the psychology of men, and gender differences while discussing psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior.
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social PsychologyClick on the link in the "Connect To" box, then on the "View this E-Book" link to view the contents.
- Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological TheoriesContains approximately 2,000 terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts.
Click on the link in the "Connect To" box to access the contents - Penguin Dictionary of Psychology, 4th ed. (2009)Completely revised and updated, this new 2001 edition explores the latest developments in psychology, psychiatry and related fields, including new material on neuroscience and social psychology.
- Dictionary of Theories, Laws, and Concepts in Psychology"One of the purposes of writing this dictionary of psychological concepts is to provide a useful referent or baseline set of key concepts for examining the difficult topics of laws, theories, principles, effects, doctrines, and hypotheses in psychology." [Preface].
- The SAGE encyclopedia of theory in counseling and psychotherapyThe SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Counseling and Psychotherapy is a two-volume source that traces theory and examines the beginnings of counseling and psychotherapy all the way to current trends and movements.
General Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Some of these titles will require you to log on with your Baylor ID and password to access them, others are publically available.
- American Heritage Dictionary of IdiomsIdioms are "a phrase of two or more words that means something different from the literal meaning of the individual words." [Preface].
An e-book, click on the "View this e-Book" link to get to contents. - Britannica OnlineAuthoritative, general encyclopedia.
- Oxford English DictionaryMost authoritative dictionary of the English language. Provides history of word use from current through past ages, examples of use from various time periods, and audio pronunciations.
- WikipediaNot always authoritative or reliable but good for a starting point. For other alternatives see the guide What Else Besides Wikipedia at http://researchguides.baylor.edu/notwikipedia
Reference sources
- DSM-IV-TR Full TextContained within the Stat!Ref Database
Videos
- ManicManic is a dramatized case study about the devastating illness known as manic depression and the chaos it can visit upon the lives of all those touched by it. Co-written by psychiatrist Dr. David Dawson, and superbly acted, the trauma of manic depression comes movingly to life. Alan, a university professor, devoted husband and father of two teenagers, has started behaving strangely. As the story opens, he has disappeared for two days and appears to be in a suicidal state of mind. After consulting a psychiatrist he is given anti-depressants and seems to be responding to therapy, until at a university faculty party, he becomes aggressive, bombastic and crude. Further hyperactive behavior alienates his family and colleagues and when he loses control in a classroom the campus police intervene. Even when his behavior stabilizes, he has lost credibility and spirals downward into depression with tragic results.This vivid portrayal of the effects of manic depression on a once stable and productive person will help students understand the significant issues of bipolar mood disorder.
- Kanopy--Psychology VideosApproximately 700 psychology videos including collections on psychotherapy, counseling, and training
- Alexander Street Press--Psychology and Counseling VideosPsychology & Counseling presents an extensive array of content -- both video and text-based -- that includes therapy sessions, documentaries, interviews, keynote presentations, transcripts, client narratives and psychological experiments. The content covers a vast range of client issues such as addiction, autism, depression, grief, obsessive compulsive disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, and suicide. It also highlights the psychology behind human behavior with studies on conformity, power, obedience, responsibility, aggression, and conditioning.
