Most Important Resources
This list of the "best" article databases is presented in alphabetical order. We've listed Medline rather than PubMed here because Medline is included in the large list of EBSCOHost resources. Within the many EBSCOHost databases, you can choose to search one or more than one database at a time. Thus you could search the two primary databases for clinical psychology, PsycInfo and Medline, in one search. Hint: when you search more than one EBSCOhost database at a time, don't use the subject limiters. If a term is used as a subject in one PsycInfo, say, but not in Medline, you results will be inaccurate.
Useful reference books available online are listed under the Reference Information tab.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from scholarly publications in psychology and the behavioral sciences. - MEDLINE (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Indexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
- DSM library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to psychiatric reference sources such as DSM-5, handbook of differential diagnosis, and clinical cases
Other Resources
These are other resources/databases that you might find helpful with your research.
- MedlinePlusPresents up-to-date consumer health care information selected by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Browse health topics, drugs and supplements, and videos and cool tools. Consult a medical dictionary or encyclopedia or link to directories or organizations. Simple search feature with facets. Geared towards consumers.
- National Institute of Neurological Disorders and StrokeThe mission of NINDS is to reduce the burden of neurological disease - a burden borne by every age group, by every segment of society, by people all over the world.
- National Library of MedicineThe National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, has been a center of information innovation since its founding in 1836. The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology. In addition, the Library coordinates a 6,000-member National Network of Libraries of Medicine that promotes and provides access to health information in communities across the United States.
- APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowFull text of articles from the American Psychological Association
- Psychology & behavioral sciences collection This link opens in a new windowAn additional index of articles from scholarly publications in psychology and the behavioral sciences.
