Subject Guide
Journal Indexes
- Philosopher's index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews published worldwide since 1940. For access to the scholarly journal literature of Philosophy, this index is the most important available.
- Religion & philosophy collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to an electronic index with incredibly broad, multi-disciplinary journal subject coverage that is primarily (though not exclusively) religion and philosophy focused.
- Philosophy documentation center collection This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to the contents of journals, book series, conference proceedings, and other publications in applied ethics, philosophy, religious studies, and related disciplines. Essentially this product brings together and makes accessible in one place, the contents of all titles distributed by the Philosophy Documentation Center. Titles subscribed by BU Libraries are full text accessible (retrospective to full text accessible or retrospective only full text accessible) unsubscribed titles are citation accessible only. The opening link defaults to a display page listing all titles available from the service. However, the resource is keyword searchable. And in "Advanced Search" mode (displayed only after a simple search has been run), title, text, author and abstract search options are available as well as a date range limiter. Dwarfed in coverage scope by the Philosopher's Index, this resource does have some unique content (though PI overlaps the majority of coverage and provides a more substantial amount). Though not a first consult resource, still worth consulting for the researcher requiring comprehensive results. Philosophy Documentation Center.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures.
- Index to Jewish periodicals This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive indexing to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in journals devoted to Jewish affairs.
- ATLA religion database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Indexes comprehensively scholarly and non-scholarly journals in religion and theology.
- Essay and general literature retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes essays and chapters in single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. It includes publications from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain, covering 1900 through 1984.
- SAGE journals online This link opens in a new window
Provides online, full-text access to journals published by SAGE Publishers to which Baylor University Libraries subscribe.
- Humanities & social sciences index retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from English-language periodicals from 1907 to 1984. Includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous, lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
***Baylor is trialing Scopus AI add-on for the month of October *** Provides citations and abstracts of scholarly works in 240 disciplines from over 7000 publishers. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
Archival and Open Access Journal Indexes
- JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to important scholarly journals and books in many different disciplines.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides searching and full-text access to scholarly journals from a wide variety of not-for-profit organizations (university presses, scholarly societies, historical associations, and religious communities).
- Directory of open access journals : DOAJ This link opens in a new window
Indexes the scholarly and scientific literature in open access journals (journals which do not charge the individual or the institution a subscription fee but make their content freely available). Journals indexed must be peer-reviewed or have editorial quality control and report results of research to a scholarly community to be included in the indexing. Access to full text varies by journal. All languages and subjects are covered. Search for articles by keyword (with Boolean "and/or/not" connectors), search journals by title, or browse journals by broad subject categories. DOAJ, Lund University Library (Sweden).
