It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject. Offers topic pages that provide background information on a topic and mind maps that show relationships between topics. Search results may include images, video clips, and maps. Also displays links to related and specialized library databases allowing users to select other library databases for further topic exploration.
Presents biographies of living and deceased persons from all walks of life. Articles range in length from a few paragraphs to three web pages. Written by various sources/authors from the A&E Television Network staff to noted dance critics, the information is factual but may be dated. No bibliographies are included, although if the subject of the biography has written books or had a book written about him, the title of the book will be mentioned. Primarily useful for confirming birth/death dates, major activities of the subject, and identifying who might have been contemporaries. A&E Television Networks.
Provides short biographies of persons currently in the news and about whom no full-length biography exists as of the date of publication in Current Biography. Includes references to current (or then-current) news sources on the individual. Entries date back to 1940 but this is often the only reliable source for biography for current, living individuals. Broad coverage of people in media, politics, and all professions and arts are included.
Indexes and provides full-text access to a variety of news and reference sources containing the biographies of individuals from all time periods. Front page provides basic search box, a listing of selected biographies arranged by occupation, and links to current biographical news (obituaries, etc.). Searching by occupation, individual name, place of birth/death, nationality, and other advanced search features is available. Individual entries include a general overview of a person's life and links to reference and news sources (divided into "scholarly" and "magazines"), as well as audio or image resources (audio from NPR). Advanced search includes a "lexile index" search which allows teachers to choose materials at an appropriate reading level for their students. Also useful is the "Listen" button which will read the entry aloud (including word or sentence highlighting if desired). Gale Cengage.
Provides authoritative biographies of deceased individuals who influenced British history, including colonial British-Americans. Biographies include a listing of major works written by the individual (if any) and a reference list of full-length biographies and critical articles. Each biography also includes a "Reputation" section which describes the individual's standing in his or her time period and how that has changed since then. Very helpfully will indicate where the individual's archives are, if they exist. Also provides links to major themed articles (on the American Founding Fathers, for instance), entries to related individuals, and to other online resources produced by Oxford University Press (which we may or may not have access to). Oxford University Press.
Allows researchers to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints. Indexes newspapers, journals, biographies, public opinion polls (including Gallup Poll Briefings), book reviews, pamphlets, and government information. At the beginning of a search, one of a dozen chosen current events or a number of frequent political hot topics can be chosen. Results can be limited by subject, the type of information source, or publication name.
Provides indexing to biographical entries in major reference works published from the 16th to the 21st centuries. Coverage is international in scope and in languages (Chinese, Turkish, British, Spanish, etc.). Library owns the microfiche collection of all the "Biographical Archive" titles indexed (microfiche #s 206 - 445). Other individual titles (various "Who's Who" and biographical yearbooks) may be searched in OneSearch to see if the Libraries own them. De Gruyter/Saur.
Use this resource for searching the library catalog, the Baylor Digital Collections, BEARdocs (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.), research guides, and much of the full-text subscription content.
Contains an online catalog to the book, media, archival, journal, map, music, and special collections holdings of libraries across the United States and internationally. Can limit by year, type of material, and other factors. OCLC FirstSearch.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Offers access to over 10 000 academic works, in 20 subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law. Full text is available for subscribed sections, abstracts and tables of contents are available for all titles. New titles are added quarterly. The e-books can be searched by title, author, keywords, fields of study, publication year, and ISBN.
Serves as a digital repository for major research institutions and libraries to archive their immense digital collections and to ensure that the cultural record that these digital collections represent is preserved and accessible today and in the future. HathiTrust was founded in 2008 and includes content from the Google Books project and Internet Archive.
Provides full-text access to all reports from 1916 to the present prepared by the Congressional Research Service of the Library of Congress for members, committees, and staff of the U.S. Congress. Areas of research currently include American Law, Domestic Social Policy, Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade, Government and Finance, Knowledge Services, and Resources, Science and Industry. An important note to researchers: reports are subject to ongoing updates which are noted in issuance dates as distinguished from publication dates. The reports are searchable by index terms, keywords, title, authors, congressional source, witness, congress, and date.
Includes links to news, statistics, organizations, and reports on sectoral information such as agriculture, environment, education, gender, health, trade and governance. Covers developing countries in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Middle East.
Do a title search in OneSearch for "Country Review [Name of Country]" for online access to the reports. The full-text of these titles (from 2000 until the present) can be found in the Business Souce Complete database.
Provides background and historical context of current economic and political events for each country. Each profile analyzes the infrastructure and major industrial sectors of each economy and includes maps and tables of key economic data for the past 5 years.
Provides access to information published by the European Union and its institutions: European Parliament, Council of the EU, European Commission, Court of Justice, Court of Auditors, Economic and Social Committee, Committee of the Regions, European Central Bank, European Investment Bank, Agencies and other Bodies.
Provides international travelers with information on: international telephone instructions, cellular (mobile) phones, electricity, and satelline connectivity while traveling abroad. Includes country profiles, cultural information, demographics, money, points of interest, transportation, maps, and photos of most of the world's countries.
"A collection of comprehensive country profiles chronicling each nation's political history, government, leadership, elections, and political parties that includes profiles of intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations."
Searches the World Bank's full-text collection of books, reports/working papers, journals, and other documents on social and economic development.This resource brings together, in PDF format, a fully indexed and cross-searchable database of over 5 500 titles, as well as every new title as it becomes available in print. The e-library consists of over 1 600 World Bank publications and over 2 400 Policy Research Working Papers in addition to new books and papers as they are published. E-Library is fully searchable by subject, region, keyword, title, author, abstract, or year of publication.
Access World Development Indicators (WDI), world development statistics and Global Development Finance (GDF) financial statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).