Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero

Zotero is a fantastic tool that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's free and easy to use.

Viewing your Collection

You can view your collection of items in many ways.  At the top of the middle panel, different fields are listed: Title, Creator, Date, etc. You can click on any of these fields to view them in a different order: Title A-Z, Title Z-A, Date Newest to Oldest, Date Oldest to Newest, etc.  With the icon on the top right, you can select other fields with which to view your items.  For example, below, "Date Added" was selected.

screenshot of Zotero main collection with different fields underlined with which to view your collection

Creating Collections (i.e. Folders)

At the top left of your Zotero program is a folder button with a green plus sign. Click this to create a new "collection."

Create collections to organize your references. Collections are like file folders on your computer, but a reference can be in more than one collection at a time. In other words, a book on the Civil War could be filed in your "Civil War" collection, your "Georgia History" collection and your "19th Century America" collection without having to make three copies of the reference.

University Libraries

One Bear Place #97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148

(254) 710-6702