Getting started
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Historical Dictionary of the Baptists by Call Number: BX6211 .B73 2009ISBN: 0810856220Publication Date: 2009-04-13[Publisher description:] "The second edition of the Historical Dictionary of the Baptists expands upon the first edition with an updated chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on important events, doctrines, and the church founders, leaders, and other prominent figures who have made notable contributions. This volume commemorates the 400th anniversary of the founding of the Baptist movement in 1609."
Encyclopedia of Southern Baptists by Call Number: BX6211 .E5ISBN: 0805465111Publication Date: 1971-05-01Dated reference work (ca. 1959-71) but still valuable for its historical, theological and biographical coverage of Southern Baptist topics. Contains two important articles on Baptist confessions: v. 1 - Confessions of faith, Baptist (pp. 305-309); and v. 3 - Baptist Faith and Message, The (pp. 1589-1594).
Dictionary of Baptists in America by Call Number: BX6211 .D53 1994 (also available in Jones Ref, BX6211 .D53 1994, LIB USE ONLY)ISBN: 0830814477Publication Date: 1994-11-01
A dictionary of European Baptist life and thought by Call Number: Jones Ref BX6211 .D54 2009ISBN: 1842275356Publication Date: 2009
Who's who among Free Will Baptists, and encyclopedia of denominational information by Call Number: BX6493 .H34ISBN: 0892650524Publication Date: 1978-07-01
Who's Who among the Colored Baptists of the United States by Call Number: BX6453 .B3 1980ISBN: 0405124554Publication Date: 1980-05-01
A Dictionary of Doctrinal Terms by Call Number: BR95 .H85 1983 (also available in Jones Ref, BR95 .H85 1983)ISBN: 0805411410Publication Date: 1983-01-01
Subject Guide
Electronic Reference Content
- Baptists, United StatesAn entry from the Encyclopedia of Protestantism (1st ed. Routledge, 2004). Links at the bottom of the entry navigate to entries on the origins of Baptist life and thought as well as current controversies.
- Baptists, African AmericanAnd entry from the Encyclopedia of African American Religions (1st ed. Garland Publishing, 1993). Links at the bottom of the page navigate to entries on the further history of African American Baptists.
