Background Information
- Credo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.
Reference Resources
- Statesman's yearbook This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative, reliable, concise information on international affairs topics and key world developments.
General Reference
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to a significant number of books and reference works published by Gale.
Biographical Information
- American national biography online This link opens in a new window
Discover biographies of more than 19,000 men and women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped American history and culture.
- Australian dictionary of biography This link opens in a new window
Presents concise biographical articles on significant and representative persons in Australian history.
- Biography.com This link opens in a new window
Presents biographies of living and deceased persons from all walks of life.
- Current biography illustrated This link opens in a new window
Provides short biographies of persons currently in the news and about whom no full-length biography exists as of the date of publication in Current Biography.
- Dictionary of Irish biography This link opens in a new window
Covers Irish men and women from the earliest times until 2001, providing biographies and a sense of their influence on Irish history, culture, and life.
- Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides full-text access to a variety of news and reference sources containing the biographies of individuals from all time periods.
- Oxford dictionary of national biography This link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative biographies of deceased individuals who influenced British history, including colonial British-Americans. Biographies include a listing of major works written by the individual (if any) and a reference list of full-length biographies and critical articles. Each biography also includes a "Reputation" section which describes the individual's standing in his or her time period and how that has changed since then. Very helpfully will indicate where the individual's archives are, if they exist. Also provides links to major themed articles (on the American Founding Fathers, for instance), entries to related individuals, and to other online resources produced by Oxford University Press (which we may or may not have access to). Oxford University Press.
- Salem history This link opens in a new windowIncludes the complete content of the following printed reference sets: The Fifties in America, The Sixties in America, The Seventies in America, Great Events from History Series, Great Lives from History: The Ancient World, Prehistory-476 c.e. Great Lives from History: The Middle Ages, and Great Lives from History: The Nineteenth Century. Search by keyword or name for events, places, people, or groups/movements. Limits by one of five topical areas (historical or geographic areas). Results are subdivided by "Biography " "History/Event " "Primary Source " and "Resources."
- TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
Allows researchers to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.
- World biographical information system This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to biographical entries in major reference works published from the 16th to the 21st centuries.
Book Catalogs
- OneSearchUse this resource for searching the library catalog, the Baylor Digital Collections, BEARdocs (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.), research guides, and much of the full-text subscription content.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Contains an online catalog to the book, media, archival, journal, map, music, and special collections holdings of libraries across the United States and internationally.
- HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new window
A large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via Google Books and the Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries.
- Oxford scholarship online This link opens in a new window
Offers access to over 10 000 academic works, in 20 subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
- International law - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on international law. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- International relations - Oxford bibliographies online This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the study of international relations, foreign affairs and political interaction between states. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Political science - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on political science and related fields. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
